We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as bad as reviews say but not awesome”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Golden Tulip Paulista Plaza
Ranked #28 of 328 Hotels in Sao Paulo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 May 2014

I read reviews for this hotel, after it was recommended by local co-workers, and tried to find a better option in the area but I couldn't find a better review on Trip Advisor.

Area was noisy in the wee hours - but I think that is just the location, much like Manhattan.

Water system was odd - I had 2 water faucets but only one worked, in the shower and at the sink. I had one water temperature for each. Fortunately the shower was super hot and not super cold.

The service I thought was not as bad as implied. I didn't have the quality or extra service charge issues that others recently reported. Nor was the food as bad as some reported - not as good as Asia or Europe business hotels, but not certainly adequate for a business trip. After staying in 4 Brazil hotels on this trip, I would say it was on par with Brazil hotel food options.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fritch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc B, Gerente geral at Golden Tulip Paulista Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2016

Dear Guest,
First of all , I would like to thank you for your review of our hotel and say it was a pleasure to welcome you . Even with the time passed since been with us for the first time for us is extremely important to know the experiences that our guests and clients have with us, I hope you have returned to our hotel after your first hosting but anyway , I would like to say on behalf of our staff That It will be our pleasure to welcome you again in our hotel When there is an opportunity for you to attest some the improvements .
It will always be a pleasure to welcome you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,304)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

107 - 113 of 1,306 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2014

I booked via Booking.com and the hotel decided to take a pre-authorization for the first night of my booking without warning me. As I had no clue they would do that, upon receiving a sms notifaction from the bank that my card had been used in Brazil, I ended up blocking my credit card... go figure what a nightmare! When I called the hotel, no one seemed to take ownership for my concern and although I was promised to be replied by the General Manager, that never happened.
The breakfast was rather poor too...!
Yes, the rate was good... bit I would have paid more for a better service with proper service recovery.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LaysL_20142014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc B, Gerente geral at Golden Tulip Paulista Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2016

Dear Guest,
First of all , I would like to thank you for your review of our hotel and say it was a pleasure to welcome you . Even with the time passed since been with us for the first time for us is extremely important to know the experiences that our guests and clients have with us. We apologize your stay was not so pleasant , as we are used to providing to our guests. Be sure that all the points raised were treated in order to correct and adjust our operation. I would like to say That It will be our pleasure to welcome you again in our hotel When there is an opportunity for you to attest some the improvements .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

we attending financial conf. in the hotel. only two towels one with dirty spots. no beds changed for 5 days. no central air only individual dirty unites with loud noise. charges 180 reais per room twice for taxi. when asked to provide signed receipt no signature. present. currently will dispute charge with american express. lasha nickolaishvili Qualified Financial Institution Rico Express

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LashaNickolaishvili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc B, Gerente geral at Golden Tulip Paulista Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2016

Dear Guest,
First of all , I would like to thank you for your review of our hotel and say it was a pleasure to welcome you . Even with the time passed since been with us for the first time for us is extremely important to know the experiences that our guests and clients have with us. We apologize your stay was not so pleasant , as we are used to providing to our guests. Be sure that all the points raised were treated in order to correct and adjust our operation. I would like to say That It will be our pleasure to welcome you again in our hotel When there is an opportunity for you to attest some the improvements .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

We have stayed in Golden tulip paulista plaza hotel for three nights, it was excellent...very helpful staff, breakfast,safety. Even we have forget a huge amount of money in the hotel, we got it back with the help of the hotel staff, excellent job,very professional. Thank you for your support. Definitely recommended hotel and I will be back for the next stay.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Schelebi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MARCOS C, Gerente geral at Golden Tulip Paulista Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Dear Schelebi

Thank you for your evaluation during your last stay with us. We appreciated your comments regarding our service, specially from our staff.

Hope see you again in a very near future.

Brgds,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

This is a hotel that is doomed to be mediocre. This is my 5th or 6th time here and it has the same old issues.

- Breakfast is good, but not tremendous. If you go after 8:00 every table is dirty, cups are dirty, spoons look used
- Internet between 07h00 and 09h00 and 21h00 and 00h00 is a waste of time. I do recommend paying for a prepaid internet card, and do not plan for any Internet meeting at that time, unless you go to the lobby and buy internet from TIM, Vivo, or any other provider

- Room service is bad. Asked for a chicken sandwich with fries and it was terrible. They took almost 40 minutes to serve it and it was lousy

- TVs are tiny. Don't even try.


Good things:

- Location
- Clean rooms
- Clean bathrooms
- Good sleep quality
- Coffee is good at the lobby

Room Tip: Floors 6 to 10
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guz V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MARCOS C, Gerente geral at Golden Tulip Paulista Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Dear Guz

We're very sorry for the inconvenient faced during your last stay with us. All the issues have been treated by us immediately, in order to reverse such problems at once. Once again thank you for your remarks, and hope see again in a very near future.

Brgds!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Not the best place I ever stayed in and probably not the worst - certainly average - the restaurant in particular wasn't great.
In a very convenient part of town however and safe too.
I would consider another place if I travel again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FreezingIrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MARCOS C, Gerente geral at Golden Tulip Paulista Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2014

Dear Guest

I noticed that your evaluation about our hotel and service, did not work as good as we wish. We are working hard to delivering good product with high level of service, in order to keep good levels of guests' satisfaction. However, some times we failed, but despite of that, we will never leaving the guests' issues without any correction. Once again, we thank you for your time.
Brgds,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

The location of the hotel is perfect but the hotel need maintenance en renew. The beds at very bad and old. We have a twinbed and roll to the middle all the time. They have to renewed. By complaining at the front desk only 1 guy takes it serious the rest only laugh. The breakfast is good! The pool is nice but need some renovation also.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MARCOS C, Gerente geral at Golden Tulip Paulista Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2014

Dear Mr. frank

Thank you for your evaluation and remarks about our service and product. We have been working hard to renovate our hotel since last year, and today we still have few things in progress. About your comment regarding our Front Office Personnel, we took the necessary steps to correct and maintain the best standards of courtesy and professionalism. Your issues were immediately treated by us in order to correct any other possible failure on the future. Again, thank you for your remarks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sao Paulo hotels
Jardins
Golden Tulip Sao Paulo Jardins
Golden Tulip Sao Paulo Jardins
#119 of 328 in Sao Paulo
682 reviews
Consolacao
Hotel Belas Artes Sao Paulo Managed by AccorHotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Consolacao
Tryp Sao Paulo Paulista Hotel
Jardins
Royal Jardins Hotel
Royal Jardins Hotel
#19 of 328 in Sao Paulo
1,929 reviews
Jardins
Melia Paulista
Melia Paulista
#47 of 328 in Sao Paulo
1,991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Tulip Paulista Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Tulip Paulista Plaza

Address: Alameda Santos 85 | Paraiso, Sao Paulo, State of Sao Paulo 01419-000, Brazil
Phone Number:
Region: Brazil > State of Sao Paulo > Sao Paulo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Sao Paulo
#42 Romantic Hotel in Sao Paulo
#48 Business Hotel in Sao Paulo
Price Range: £57 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Tulip Paulista Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 378
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Golden Tulip Paulista Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Paulista Plaza Hotel Sao Paulo
Paulista Plaza Golden Tulip
Golden Tulip Sao Paulo
Sao Paulo Golden Tulip
Golden Tulip Paulista Plaza Sao Paulo, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing