We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful experience at a truly unique hotel”
Review of Hotel Unique

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Unique
Ranked #3 of 321 Hotels in Sao Paulo
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience at a truly unique hotel”
Reviewed 30 April 2011

The food at the restaurants is exquisite and Friday nights at the poolside is quite a party.
The rooms though slightly small are really beautiful and clean and everything about the hotel is designed. Maybe a little too designed, but a great stay nevertheless.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Onaliquiddiwt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meloliveira, General Manager at Hotel Unique, responded to this review, 17 May 2011
Unique is really a piece of art.
I am so glad you enjoyed the design, the rooms and Skye.
Looking forward to welcome you back again!
Melissa Oliveira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,268 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    963
    247
    34
    14
    10
See reviews for
86
448
102
361
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2011

After a week at the Fasano in Rio, we stayed here quite by accident, only due to the Fasano in SP being full and the Unique being the only Tablet hotel with last-minute availability. What a pleasant surprise.

From the champagne greeting (real Veuve, none of that cava [---]) at check-in to the exceptional service at our sushi dinner--some of the most attentive we've experienced anywhere on the planet--this hotel stands apart. The rooftop view is spectacular and the cocktails delicious.

Finally, it's the little things that make this place: the free wi-fi, the ipod dock, the speakers in the bathroom, the separate jacuzzi tub from shower, the window you can open, etc.

We were delighted with our stay overall and at about half the cost of the Fasano there is no question where we're staying next time we're in Sao Paulo!

Room Tip: Better views the higher you go, as always
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeFlaneur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meloliveira, General Manager at Hotel Unique, responded to this review, 17 May 2011
I am delighted to hear all your comments about us.
You truly understood Unique´s soul.
Thank you again and we look forward to welcome you back in your next visit to São Paulo.
Melissa Oliveira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2011

The Unique stands out for its design - the hotel looks a bit like an ark and stands out from the quiet road it is placed on in its own "space" due to the lack of nearby high rise buildings. Rooms are fun and very modern, the rooftop bar a real destination in itself with queues to get a lift up to it on Thursday, Friday and Saturday nights (guests have their own separate card controlled lifts). The location is close to the Ibirapuera park but there are no shops nearby though there is a running shop and a supermarket about 10 minutes walk away. This means a taxi to shopping centres or the business district. There are some nearby restaurants off the main road and within 10 minutes walk of which the Varanda Grill would be highly recommended wherever it was located.

The rooftop pool is small but lovely and the staff excellent, the glass of champagne as you check in is a lovely touch. The restaurant is chic and enjoys great views and great service. A fantastic place for a weekend or a holiday with someone special.

Room Tip: Ask for a high up room with a view of Paulista
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank banqueiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meloliveira, General Manager at Hotel Unique, responded to this review, 2 May 2011
I am very glad you enjoyed it all! Unique is really special and Skye bar done to surprise everyone. Sao Paulo looks preatier from upstair.
Thank you for all your positive comments.
Hope to see you around soon in your next business or vacation trip.
Sincerely,
Melissa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2011

After a solid but boring stay early in the week at the Marriott Executive Suites I spent two nights in the Unique over the weekend. I loved the architectural character of the hotel and especially the health facility with pool and the roodtop bar and restaurant. Friday night at the Sky Bar gave you a good taste of the local energy and enthusiasm.

The rooms also had character and borrow from some of the better modern ideas of moving walls and in room sound. All-in-all a fun way to stay and see the city over the weekend.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vols84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
228 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 282 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2010

Everything was perfect there. Since the Cleanliness of the rooms to the restaurant, where I had a fantastic dinner with my wife. Recommended for a romantic weekend.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RVMENG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meloliveira, General Manager at Hotel Unique, responded to this review, 5 January 2011
Thank you so much for your comments about Unique.
I am glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you soon, maybe on your next celebration!
Wish you an unique 2011!!
Sincerely,
Melissa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2010

If I have any friends of colleagues visiting Sao Paulo, I always say they must see this hotel (and believe me its really really rare that I include a hotel on my 'must-see' list for a city). Its just that Unique is such an ambitious project, really a strong architectural statement from people who really took a chance on creating something different

Most tripadvisor reviews go on-and-on about hotel services experienced on a single visit, but all my services were excellent at Unique and of a great standard, so I want to write just about the form of this place; it really does deserve to be written about from a design point-of-view, and this is what's so compelling here and makes it standout from the other excellent luxury hotels in this city (actually in SP there are 2 or 3 top-end hotels I really like)

While the exterior shape of the hotel is incredibly impactfull (described as a giant slice of watermelon sitting on its rhine), the architect managed to include also inside dramatic details which are very memorable (beautiful vertical bar on the 1st floor at one end of the lobby, rooftop restaurant with beautiful pool and stunning views, reflective glass-bottomed pool casting eery reflections floating high above the lobby, interesting spa/gym hidden in a seeming labyrinth under the hotel, etc...) Be sure, the taste is decidedly modern, and despite having slightly smallish rooms, its not about cozy; instead its about clean and a bit minimal, with lots of interesting shapes and lines to catch your eye. Lighting is used to interesting effect, with dimly lit corridors but bright rooms, pools that seem to glow.

The hotel is very close to an enormous park, which is convenient for running and also access to a few museums, but actually this is not the neighborhood for walking to many of Sao Paulo's excellent shops or restaurants. But this is a great experience for a couple nights just to stay in a place which really will leave an impact on the memory, because few city hotels go to such great length to be 'unique' and achieve the result

ps - final note on the Unique and my last stay; I left in a locker in the gym a wallet packed full of cash in many currencies, my blackberry, and a nice watch (stupid i know to have left these things.. but after 30-minutes in the sauna/steamroom my brain was not working...). The next morning an envelope came to my room with all the belongings and a note that the staff hoped I returned to the gym again some time. Well of course one should expect not to have theft in a great hotel, but the truth is I've had things go missing from even my room (!) in some great hotels (from NY to Geneva to Paris), so to have this immaculate service in Brazil really pleased me

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alwaysapleasure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meloliveira, General Manager at Hotel Unique, responded to this review, 15 December 2010
These words really comes out from a client who truly understands our concept, our spirit and our soul.
Thank you for your amazing comments!
Hope to see you soon.
Melissa Oliveira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City
Level Contributor
414 reviews
192 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 551 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2010

Often these hip hotels are not functional for business. I came to Unique from Fasano in Rio which was great but I could not work in the room. Here at Unique I get free Wi Fi that allows me to work efficiently and well and a desk light and a bright room (albeit a dark elevator.) Free Veuve Clicquot on check in and smoothies at breakfast plus free Wi Fi in Sao Paulo's hippest hotel with great rooms and a unique style. How could you go wrong - it is perfection.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Happy_on_the_road
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meloliveira, General Manager at Hotel Unique, responded to this review, 15 December 2010
We are very pleased to read your comments about Unique.
Besides creating an ambience, we look constantly to please our large variety of clients and those who are here for business.
We look forward to see you here in the near future!
Melissa Oliveira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sao Paulo hotels
Jardins
Emiliano Hotel
Emiliano Hotel
#1 of 321 in Sao Paulo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
Jardins
Hotel Fasano Sao Paulo
Hotel Fasano Sao Paulo
#2 of 321 in Sao Paulo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
Jardins
Renaissance Sao Paulo Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Hyatt Sao Paulo
#5 of 321 in Sao Paulo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,094 reviews
Hilton Sao Paulo Morumbi
#11 of 321 in Sao Paulo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,582 reviews
Jardins
InterContinental Sao Paulo
InterContinental Sao Paulo
#4 of 321 in Sao Paulo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Unique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Unique

Property: Hotel Unique
Address: Avenida Brigadeiro Luis Antonio 4700 | Jardim Paulista, Sao Paulo, State of Sao Paulo 01402-002, Brazil
Phone Number:
Region: Brazil > State of Sao Paulo > Sao Paulo > Jardins
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sao Paulo
#2 Business Hotel in Sao Paulo
#3 Family Hotel in Sao Paulo
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sao Paulo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Unique 5*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Unique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Unique Hotel Sao Paulo
Unique Sao Paulo
Hotel Unique Sao Paulo, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing