We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern trendy hotel in SP... actually the best hotel in SP”
Review of Hotel Unique

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Unique
Ranked #3 of 326 Hotels in Sao Paulo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 March 2012

This hotel exceeded all my expectations. I stayed there expecting it to be good and with nice service,but everything went better than I expected. On arrival they offer you a glass of champagne, actually french champagne, the real deal. This isjust not common in Brazil. Once you get to your room, everything is really chic, clean , and trendy. The room has a great size, and there is bose sound system, so you can have a great time there. The rooptop pool is really beautiful, and offers one of the best views in the city, form a hotel at least. There is a restaurant in the roof top that also is a nighlife spot for SP. But you don't listen anything from your room, and guest go in from private separated elevators, so you really get VIP treatment. Deffinitely would stay there again,and recomend.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ALEKLABU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fabiola C, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Unique, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2012

Thank you for your time to write about us.
It is an honor to know that we overcame your expectations.
Staying at Unique is experiencing new sensations. It mixes comfort and design with personalized service and instigating ambiance.
Hope to have you back soon.
Yours sincerely,
Fabiola Akissue Carezzato

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,335)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

283 - 289 of 1,335 reviews

Reviewed 22 March 2012

This hotel is a work of art... inside and out. It is really 'unique'. It's actually listed as the #13 top activity for SP on Trip Advisor. The service was amazing. United Airlines lost our luggage and one hotel unique staff member made it a personal mission to track it down even though United did everything in their power not to help him. He spent hours over two days and got it taken care of. The rest of the staff were outstanding too. This place is all about service, exceeding anything I've experienced in high end Euro hotels.
The roof top pool, lounge and restaurant were amazing, great views of the city. We didn't want to leave the hotel. The health club too was impressive... you won't think to go there but do... even to swim in their super heated pool and see the space itself.
There is a cost for all this luxury, not just the room rates but the food and drinks too. We booked the lowest rate room so the room DID seem to us small for the price.. but with such great common spaces, you won't want to be in the room much anyway.
Also realize the hotel is not near restaurants or shopping. It's a $15usd taxi ride away.
Again... there really is little need to leave the hotel.
Sao Paulo is one mega town with very little to do as a tourist except shop, eat, and visit museums if you like that kind of thing. The shopping was very high end with prices to match, and we were cautioned against going to the places that would have bargains!!

Room Tip: Higher rooms are better... rooms facing the front street are better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank winequaffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fabiola C, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Unique, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2012

Thank you very much for your comments.
I am really glad you appreciated the hotel as a whole.
It is great to know that we provided you with a Unique experience and that we exceeded your expectations.
We are proud of being a state of the art hotel and we are always seeking to offer a personalized and attentive service.
Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.
Yours sincerely,
Fabiola Akissue Carezzato

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

A great hotel, admittedly slightly flamboyant and over styled for some people's tastes but the rooms, pool area, bar and restaurant were fabulous. The service was 1st class and the staff couldn't have been more attentive or willing to help.

The only downside is that it is a little way out of the Jardins district in Sao Paulo central. During the day the walk is a brisk 20 minutes but at night you are advised it isn't safe to walk so you are stuck with taking a taxi. I couldn't find many bars or even convenience stores in the neighbourhood but that isn't the hotel's fault.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank timothymarkwebb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fabiola C, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Unique, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2012

Dear Timothy,
Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback.
We are flattered that you consider us “ 1st class" service, as we strive to make every guest’s experience a great one.
Hope to welcome you back soon.
Yours sincerely,
Fabiola Akissue Carezzato

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2012

Very special hotel that has the rigth name. The service is not 5star but the special venue makes this up. Great bar at the roof top and very good restaurant. Most of the people speak no or little english and this is a min for a hotel for this price.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter_DC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meloliveira, General Manager at Hotel Unique, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2012

Dear Peter,

Thank you for experiencing hotel Unique and for extending your comments to us.
I am really glad you liked the hotel style. We are always looking for the improvement of our services and the clients´ feedback is very important to us.
Looking forward to welcoming you back with us.

Yours sincerely,

Melissa Oliveira

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2012

I stayed 24 hours at unique with my wife to celebrate my birthday. We had the red special package, wich included a special romantic decoration, a veuve cliquot bottle, delicious sweeties and late check-out.
The hotel is really beautiful and its architecture is awsome. It is really a different experience staying there, with its dark corridors, curved walls and a very smart ilumination.
The room is nice, cozy and elegant. It featured a confy queen bed, a very nice bathroom (jacuzzi and shower) and a large round window, like a porthole window in a ship. The rooftop swimming pool offers a beautiful view of the city and the spa is really nice.
Unfortunately the service is not 5-star like its architecture and mood.  We witnessed several flaws to reach this conclusion.
At night, we ordered cocktails while waiting for a table to dine. I don't know why, but the cocktails never showed up.
Next day, we had an OK breakfast, wich lacked nice pastries, top cold cuts and juicy fruits. I really missed real 5-star hotel breakfast.
When we came back to our room, it was the same mess we left one hour earlier. I had to call front desk and ask them to clean it.
Then we went to the rooftop swimming pool. We stayed there for almost an hour and nobody cared to ask us if we needed anything. We had to go inside the restaurant and complain about this failure to get served. 
Instead of simple apologies, the person in charge pointed out a simples waitress for being careless or too busy. I was shocked. To me, the failure has no name nor face. It is the hotel's responsibility to recruit, to train, to manage its employees and, most of all, to provide its guests with a 5-star experience. By the way, the waitress was very nice and apologized for her "failure", although she didn't have to.
I still recommend Unique as a great design hotel, but they must improve their services to live up to its reputation.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pero_brown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meloliveira, General Manager at Hotel Unique, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2012

Thank you for your time to write some constructive comments regarding our property and our services.
You are completely right about the hotel´s responsibility in offering an excellent service in order to keep up with its image and reputation.
We seek constantly to improve our services and invest very much in trainings.
Looking into all the situations you have described, we are already taking some measures, such as hiring extra staff to better attend the pool area.
I hope to have the opportunity to meet you on the next time you visit Unique.
Thank you again.
I remain at your disposal.

Yours Sincerely,
Melissa Oliveira

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2012

This hotel is for who want live the best of Sao Paulo.

You could be sure that you will feel at the top when you stay in this hotel.

If you like charm, the hotel makes excellents arrangements to suprise you.

If you like sports, incredible swimming-pools (one at the top, the second one on the first floor) complete gym, spa and urban bike program

If you like fun, you will have VIP access for one of the most famous places of the Paulista night (It has one of the most famous restaurant & bar with one of the best sightseeing of the city)

Conclusion: Charm + Hospitality + Quality + Design = Unique

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Willie031972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meloliveira, General Manager at Hotel Unique, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2012

We are thrilled to read your comments and see how deeply you understood Unique´s soul.
We thank you so much and look forward to welcome you back very soon!
Yours sincerely,
Melissa Oliveira

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2012

Emiliano, Fasano and Unique make up the triumverate in Sao Paulo. Unique lives up to its reputation as the most architecturally impressive of the bunch -- when you get in to a taxi, all you need to say is hotel barco (boat hotel) for them to get you to the destination, even if they don't know the name. The exterior is definitely strange, and the interior does little for creatures of comfort. Rooms all have large spaceship-like windows. There's a way to lift your bathroom wall (actually a window), so you can peer out onto your neighbors from the bath. Rooms are extremely clean. As mentioned in other reviews, the pillow treats are different each day, and very hard to resist. I very much enjoyed my stay here. The few issues I had relate more to a bigger problem for Brazil in general - extremely high prices and spotty service. The price factor has been well vetted in other reviews, but the service knocked the experience down a notch for me. Take for example the Unique sky restaurant and bar. The food quality was high, but the service was inconsistent at best. From taking away a full wine glass at dinner, to mixing up food plates, the training of the staff begs for more attention. I also tried the spa. They do not provide you with towels unless asked, take you through the emergency stairs to access facilities, and other less ideal set ups. All in all, the Unique lives up to its name, certainly on the surface, but needs to finesse its services before it can be a world class hotel.

Room Tip: Get something on a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank llinster06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meloliveira, General Manager at Hotel Unique, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2012

I am glad you enjoyed your stay at Unique and thank you for your time to write us constructive comments about your stay. They are very valuable to us in order to constant improve quality of service.
Looking forward to welcome you back.
Yours sincerely,
Melissa Oliveira

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sao Paulo hotels
Jardins
Emiliano Hotel
Emiliano Hotel
#1 of 326 in Sao Paulo
490 reviews
Grand Hyatt Sao Paulo
#5 of 326 in Sao Paulo
3,508 reviews
Jardins
Hotel Fasano Sao Paulo
Hotel Fasano Sao Paulo
#2 of 326 in Sao Paulo
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jardins
Renaissance Sao Paulo Hotel
Jardins
Tivoli Mofarrej - Sao Paulo
Jardins
InterContinental Sao Paulo
InterContinental Sao Paulo
#4 of 326 in Sao Paulo
1,618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Unique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Unique

Address: Avenida Brigadeiro Luis Antonio 4700 | Jardim Paulista, Sao Paulo, State of Sao Paulo 01402-002, Brazil
Phone Number:
Region: Brazil > State of Sao Paulo > Sao Paulo > Jardins
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sao Paulo
#2 Business Hotel in Sao Paulo
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sao Paulo
#3 Family Hotel in Sao Paulo
Price Range: £251 - £516 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Unique 5*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Splitty, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Unique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Unique Hotel Sao Paulo
Unique Sao Paulo
Hotel Unique Sao Paulo, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing