We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Brazilian Hospitality!”
Review of Hotel Unique

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Unique
Ranked #3 of 328 Hotels in Sao Paulo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 March 2014

After flying for more than 24h to reach Sao Paulo we were tired and exhausted. We arrived very early in the morning at Hotel Unique and the whole ambiance in the hotel is immediately soothing. Check in is done whilst being seated and drinks were immediately offered. Maria from the front desk was checking us in and she made the whole stay truly memorable. She offered us an early check in and immediately gave us tips on what to see and where to eat in Sao Paulo. Also throughout our stay she was checking on us if everything went well and also gave us some more tips for great places around the hotel.
The hotel design is indeed unique and is quite stunning. The pool on the roof is breathtaking and we went swimming every morning. The water is also heated so that the morning swim was not unbearable. The rooms whilst not terribly big were well appointed and had all the amenities one would expect of a five star hotel. The room was clean but you can tell that the hotel is older than 5 years as you can see some furniture etc is no longer state of the art. This did not disturb me though and I very much enjoyed the room. However there was some road noise if you have a room facing the park. However I was not terribly bothered by it. We had a meal in the hotel restaurant and the food was interesting and good. However I would not rate it as being excellent and during our South America trip we had much better food at cheaper places.
The hotel in general is not cheap but if you get a good deal or can use corporate rates it is worth it.
Safety is very important to the hotel and you need the key card to even enter the lift and the door man always made sure we got a good taxi and they recorded all taxis entering the hotel. The door man was very friendly and always looked after us well.
One minor thing I would like to give feedback on is that the complimentary water bottles are very very tiny (less than 300ml) and this is something where the hotel can afford to be more generous.
I would definitely stay at Hotel Unique again if I go to Sao Paulo.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jetsetlife888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa O, Gerente geral at Hotel Unique, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Hi jetsetlife888,

First of all, we´re very glad to know that you had a good experience with us.

As mentioned, our property was carefully planned to enchant in many ways: from its design, location and view to our service and the unparalleled gastronomic experience provided by Skye, our rooftop restaurant & bar. All these features were crucial to put us in the TOP 10 São Paulo Best Attractions 2013 and in the TOP 25 Best Brazilian Luxury Hotels 2014 – both rewards from TripAdvisor.

Commanded by chef Emmanuel Bassoleil, the first French chef to be awarded by the Académie Culinaire de France (French Cuisine Academy) in Brazil, Skye has granted some of the most important national cuisine awards and is also internationally known as of the 10 best hotel restaurants in the world, according to a survey organized by Hotel´s Magazine in 2006.
Regarding the accommodations, we have every year 3 rooms per month under constant renovation, and 10 rooms on our low season, such as January. This job is done by a team of 20 employees from our maintenance department, which works 24hrs to keep the hotel always new and fresh.

As part of the preventive maintenance we´re executing at the moment, all the windows´ isolations are being renewed through this year. Would you be able to inform us by servicos@hotelunique.com the number of the room you stayed so our team can give a special priority to it?

We hope to welcome you back at Unique to show you how important your comments are to us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,345)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

219 - 225 of 1,345 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2014

The best feature of this boat-shaped hotel is its staff, which was very professional and helpful. The room was clean and comfortable, if a bit small, and the bathroom had a big tub and a fantastic shower. Probably my favorite amenity was the rooftop pool, which was tiled in red and had underwater speakers. We ate poolside on a couple of occasions, and the food was delicious. There is a full spa and an indoor pool, as well.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

The rooms are very nice, modern and practical, I love the layout of the bathrooms. The 2 pools are great, the one inside and the one on the roof. The breakfast is soooooo good. The restaurant is TOP and the ambiance at the bar on the roof is always great. The team at the reception is very helpful and give a luxurious service, the doorman is also one on the best!!! The only point is that you need a taxi to go any where in SP but I would not go any where else when I am in SP.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

What a great experience from walking in to the reception area to the view at breakfast this place is the best there is in Sao Paulo. Everything is impressive, the reception area is huge and well decorated the rooms while not large are exceptionally comfortable, the bar on the roof is great and has a real buzz to it. The service thought our stay was perfect and the only drawback to staying here is the price otherwise I would stay here all the time.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chesterdoggerel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

THis is one of the best hotels in Sao Paulo, the location is good, but the Hotel itself is just something else, it is cool, trendy, the restaurant on top of the hotel is just amazing!!!! The rooms are not too big. In general the hotel is a bit expensive.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ric G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

I went there to just check out the hotel on my first trip to Brazil. They let me up on the rooftop with no problem and we took pictures, etc... This really made me decide to stay there on my next trip to SP. I only stayed for 1 night but it was wonderful. The staff was friendly, the room was awesome and the whole hotel was something to see. Lots of unique places to check out from the bar, to the workout room, workout area pool (in the basement), and of course the rooftop pool. And the Bulgari toiletries were a nice touch too. I will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank be893
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Just stayed three days at the Unique and loved every minute of it, starting with the glass of champagne that was offered as a welcome. The architecture is mesmerizing to say the least. And there are a bunch of books in the lobby bar if you want to know more about the architect (a Japanese-Brazilian sensation). The view on the roof is unbeatable and the breakfast is heavenly. Loved the salmon benedict! Best one I ever had. Staff was very helpful about getting around in SP. There is a new bike service available too. Would have loved to take advantage of that. If you're looking for a unique experience and can afford this place, go for it!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spoutnika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa O, General Manager at Hotel Unique, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2014

Dear Sir,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Unique.
I am glad you understood our soul and enjoyed our product and service.
I hope to welcome you back soon so we can provide you with a great bike tour around São Paulo.
Thank you again and wish you a great 2014!
sincerely,
Melissa Fernandes Oliveira

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sao Paulo hotels
Jardins
Emiliano Hotel
Emiliano Hotel
#1 of 328 in Sao Paulo
501 reviews
Grand Hyatt Sao Paulo
#5 of 328 in Sao Paulo
3,556 reviews
Jardins
Renaissance Sao Paulo Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jardins
Hotel Fasano Sao Paulo
Hotel Fasano Sao Paulo
#2 of 328 in Sao Paulo
591 reviews
Jardins
Tivoli Mofarrej - Sao Paulo
Palacio Tangara
#32 of 328 in Sao Paulo
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Unique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Unique

Address: Avenida Brigadeiro Luis Antonio 4700 | Jardim Paulista, Sao Paulo, State of Sao Paulo 01402-002, Brazil
Phone Number:
Region: Brazil > State of Sao Paulo > Sao Paulo > Jardins
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sao Paulo
#2 Business Hotel in Sao Paulo
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sao Paulo
Price Range: £247 - £391 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Unique 5*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, MrandMrsSmith, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Unique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Unique Hotel Sao Paulo
Unique Sao Paulo
Hotel Unique Sao Paulo, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing