We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“They think of everything!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Emiliano Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Emiliano Hotel
Ranked #1 of 323 Hotels in Sao Paulo
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“They think of everything!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2011

As a fellow hotelier, I was very excited to stay at Emiliano Hotel, on a business trip to São Paulo. And my stay was beyond expectations! Being a hotelier makes you an annoying person during trips, because you notice and criticize everything on other hotels. I have to say that Emiliano Hotel nears perfection when it comes to customer service. I stayed at a deluxe twin room, and absolutely loved it. The room is large, beds are super comfy, bathroom full of light (very rare). Bathroom amenities are very nice, natural and made of Brazilian products (flowers, fruits, and nuts). Minibar also offers the best products. We were greeted with a wine bottle in the room, fresh peaches, and during turndown service, housekeeping left the most delicate pastries for us (so much better than those chocolates over the bed!), and personalized Havaianas (flip flops)close to the bed. The room was very quiet and the rooms have curtains that make it totally dark, providing perfect sleep quality.
If you stay at Emiliano, be sure to have dinner at their restaurant. Food was absolutely amazing, and the wine list is great.
All said, the hotel provides an amazing, classy and elegant hospitality experience, and they spoil you so much, that it is worth every cent. Very important to say: unlike some other hotels in São Paulo, Emiliano Hotel is not a snob place. They truly make you feel at home.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmandaAbreu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Emiliano, Proprietário at Emiliano Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2011
Dear Amanda,

As hoteliers we do have strong opinions and criticisms however yours couldn’t please us more. From the “Brazilianess” of our service and amenities to our minimal details, you hit them all.

Thank you very much for your feedback and comments!

Sincerely,

Gustavo Filgueiras
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    363
    64
    10
    5
    1
See reviews for
45
172
41
141
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Island of Malta, Malta
Level Contributor
161 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2011

1/3 of their rooms are suites and 2/3 are standard rooms.My colleagues stay in the standard rooms and they are excellent.
I stay in the the suites,they are beautiful,very large,excelent interior design,feels like being in a wonderful home not a hotel room.Fantastic entertaining and dining spaces.
Great bathroom.Beautiful toiletries.

Service.Unbeatable......So friendly,helpful and professional.
2 free items a day for pressing.

Location Great for restaurants and shopping and just walking around.

The Lobby is understated so dont expect to be blown away and the restaurant though light and pretty is not special in design.

Negatives
The lifts are appalling...slow slow slow..only 2 for this tall building...the hotels biggest weakness.
It is very expensive.....but so is everywhere in this city.But hey it is all that is good about San Paolo,so i dont want to quibble.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank markwlugano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
189 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2011

nice stay,but not the Fasano,excellent service,carpet in lift very dirty,eggs benedict awful,
Warm toilet seat nice,very well located.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank princessofvisconde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
114 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 307 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2011

I spend over 100 nights per year in hotels - 4 and 5 star properties. The Emiliano Hotel is one of the best Latin American properties I've ever experienced.

The good and the great:

1.) Rooms are supremely comfortable with high quality furnishings and decor. We had a suite and a standard room for a friend travelling with us. Go for the suites! The standard rooms were very nice but unexceptional. If you're going to splurge and stay in a very expensive property like the Emiliano go all the way and enjoy a suite.

The suites are decorated with blond woods, zen-like decor moderated with plush comfortable furnishings. They are spacious and very well decorated. Bathroom amenities are high quality and suite bathrooms feature a claw-foot bathtub.

If you enjoy a luxurious hotel room and plan on spending a lot of time relaxing and enjoying your suite the Emiliano is perfect for you!

2.) Location is excellent. Jardins area is the only area of Sao Paulo that I find pleasing. The city is enormous and drab. Jardins area is a pleasant pedestrian friendly area and the Emiliano is located in the heart of Jardins.

3.) Service - amazing. The employees of the Emiliano are exceptionally well trained service professionals. The front desk and bellmen / doormen speak English fluently. Believe me this is a genuine luxury in Sao Paulo! F&B staff spoke English farily well but not as fluent as I expected. Some service difficulties were apparent in the dining room due to language barriers.

Service here is genuine. No fake pleasantries. The employees of the Emiliano know they work at the best hotel in Sao Paulo and are proud dedicated professionals.

Breakfast is ample, delicious and served in a gorgeous dining room with a garden wall and lots of natural light with beautiful jazz & blues playing in the background. Perfect start to the day.

The gym / spa are a bit disappointing. As the Emiliano is a very small hotel it doesn't offer the luxury of space so the gym and spa facilities while aesthetically pleasing are a bit small and underwhelming.

Value for money? As with everything in Brazil at the moment the Emiliano is not a great value.. Expect a credit card melting experience.

Upon request a Nespresso machine will be provided in room. Coffee capsules are billed for which I find irritating for a hotel of this price point.

We experienced a few internet, airconditioning and hot water in the shower problems. These issues were handled immediately by the highly efficient staff.

Overall an exceptional small hotel with an amazing staff. Does it compare to the best hotels of Asia? No. Is it one of the best in Latin America. Yes, beyond a shadow of a doubt. Is it outrageously expensive. Yes. This is a hotel for aesthetically oriented people who delight in excellent service and have an ample budget to indulge themselves. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Darrell S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2011

Great hotel, perfect location! Cafés, shops and restaurants in walking distance. Staff is very friendly, breakfast is exceptional.
Rooms are comfortable, clean. Here and there they should change carpets esp. in hallways.
Spa on the other hand is a bit disappointing. Perfectly located on the top floor but only hot tubs?
Nevertheless, since one can't compare Brazilian 5* with e.g. Asian 5* hotels, this is the place to stay in Sao Paulo!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kathfrei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Emiliano, Proprietário at Emiliano Hotel, responded to this review, 2 February 2011
All feedbacks are very important to our hotel, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us, as well as our location and facilities. Regarding our Spa, we have two distinctive areas being the Ofuros and Jacuzzis along with the quick massages chairs one of them and the Massage Rooms and Dry Sauna the other. We will renovate the Emiliano Spa this year and we hope we can host you again in order to undo your initial impression.

Thank you again for all your compliments.

Best wishes,

Gustavo Filgueiras
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
64 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2011

First of all: Brazilian 5-star hotel are never as good as American or Asian 5-star hotels. So you really can't compare them on an international level but within Brazil.
The Emiliano is the best in Sao Paulo. Fantastic staff, the best location, nice design. The carpets throughout the hotel needs to be exchanged and there are little hidden faults if you really look hard - but in general the hotel is the best to pick.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tjacobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
143 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2011

The Emiliano is reason enough to visit Sao Paulo. Everything about the hotel exceeded my expectations: service, food, architecture and interior design. Every detail was thoughtfully considered. This hotel reminds me of the best Aman resorts. Although it's not inexpensive, the Emiliano felt like very good value to me. I can't wait to return.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gandaratravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sao Paulo hotels
Jardins
Hotel Fasano Sao Paulo
Hotel Fasano Sao Paulo
#3 of 323 in Sao Paulo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
Jardins
Hotel Unique
Hotel Unique
#2 of 323 in Sao Paulo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,255 reviews
Jardins
Renaissance Sao Paulo Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jardins
InterContinental Sao Paulo
InterContinental Sao Paulo
#4 of 323 in Sao Paulo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,500 reviews
Bela Vista
L'Hotel PortoBay Sao Paulo
L'Hotel PortoBay Sao Paulo
#8 of 323 in Sao Paulo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 966 reviews
Hilton Sao Paulo Morumbi
#11 of 323 in Sao Paulo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emiliano Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emiliano Hotel

Property: Emiliano Hotel
Address: Rua Oscar Freire 384 | Jardins, Sao Paulo, State of Sao Paulo 01426-000, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Sao Paulo > Sao Paulo > Jardins
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Sao Paulo
#1 Spa Hotel in Sao Paulo
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sao Paulo
#5 Business Hotel in Sao Paulo
#14 Family Hotel in Sao Paulo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Emiliano Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Emiliano is Brazil’s finest example of world class luxury hospitality. The hotel introduced a unique and exclusive luxury experience to São Paulo, the world’s fifth-largest city, which has confirmed its place as the artistic and cultural capital of South America. Emiliano is located in the charming Jardins neighborhood, on Brazil’s most fashionable shopping Street: Oscar Freire. Oscar Freire represents to São Paulo what Rodeo Drive is to Los Angeles or Rue due Faubourg Saint-Honoré is to Paris, and is surrounded by upscale boutiques, art galleries, fine restaurants, cafés and headquarters of major corporations.Emiliano has set the pace in redefining luxury accommodation in São Paulo and has become a luxury icon since our opening in June 2001. Our guests experience authentic and modern Brazilian sophistication through our contemporary ambience, refined cuisine and singularly warm service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Emiliano Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emiliano Hotel Sao Paulo, Brazil
Emiliano Sao Paulo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing