We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful small business hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
L'Hotel PortoBay Sao Paulo
Ranked #8 of 323 Hotels in Sao Paulo
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful small business hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

Location is hard to define in Sao Paulo, so if you have flexibility I highly reccommend this hotel. We hosted a group of 16 people that met here for 4 days. The food was wonderful, the facilities beautiful and modern, the staff were terrific yet respectful. I only wished they would stop changing my towels everytime I used them. I would definitely return.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Businesswoman_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JCastelo, Manager at L'Hotel PortoBay Sao Paulo, responded to this review, 23 April 2012
I am so glad hearing such kind comment about L’Hotel Porto Bay. I apologize for any inconvenience you may had with us. I hope to see you again soon for another pleasant visit. Yours sincerely, Jorge Castelo – General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

965 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    676
    206
    58
    17
    8
See reviews for
112
375
65
311
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

We stayed here with my family for two nights in December 2011 before travelling to other parts of Brazil. It was a great hotel - clean and modern rooms, great breakfast that had a great range of foods, friendly and welcoming desk staff and excellent gym/pool facilities. Great location as its close to Avenida Paulista, close to the Sao Paulo metro station and a short taxi ride away from a great range of restaurants. Overall a little pricey, but so are most hotels in Sao Paulo. Highly recommended if you're staying in Sao Paulo.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank grahamau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JCastelo, Manager at L'Hotel PortoBay Sao Paulo, responded to this review, 23 April 2012
You are so kind in sharing your experience at L’Hotel Porto Bay, thank you very much. Our location is definitely great, Avenida Paulista is in the heart of Sao Paulo. We will wait for your next stay with us. Warm Regards, Jorge Castelo – General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
54 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

Remember to take breakfast in the hotel . Great fresh fruits and good fresh juices.

Room Tip: Take breakfast . It is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OrlandoAsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JCastelo, Manager at L'Hotel PortoBay Sao Paulo, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Thank you for your kind comment regarding your stay with us. It is a pleasure that you liked our breakfast. Hoping to welcome you back soon, with best regards, Jorge Castelo - General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

Friendly staff, centrally located whilst still quiet, lived up to expectation. Breakfast was my highlight English breakfast tea & perfectly poached eggs made to order, plus a great range of hot & cold buffet.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gungadin3333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JCastelo, Manager at L'Hotel PortoBay Sao Paulo, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Many thanks for your kind feedback. Our breakfast is really good, I’m glad that you enjoyed. Looking forward to welcome you back. Yours sincerely, Jorge Castelo - General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

My wife and I spent just two nights here before departing for Paraty and Rio. It was Carnaval, and all the buses to Paraty were booked, but the concierge, Alexandre Esnarriaga, spent the better part of a day exploring every possible solution before suggesting one that saved us a lot of money: he not only booked us seats on a bus to Ubatuba but also lined up a cab driver to pick us up there. He even wrote out instructions for us, not forgetting to include a letter in Portuguese directed to the driver. Clearly, this was above and beyond the call of duty, but it appears to be business as usual at this hotel. The receptionists were all incredibly friendly and helpful, and all spoke perfect English, in a city and country where that is definitely not a given. I highly recommend L'Hotel Porto Bay not just for business travelers but for tourists like ourselves who want to stay in the vicinity of great restaurants and points of interest.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JCastelo, Manager at L'Hotel PortoBay Sao Paulo, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Thank you so much for your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, especially about our staff. I look forward to welcoming you back in a near future to enjoy São Paulo and L’hotel Porto Bay. Yours sincerely, Jorge Castelo - General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2012

The hotel's facilities and location are excellent, but what really made my stay was the staff. From Alexandre the concierge's can-do spirit, to the warmth of the front-desk staff and the doorman's encouragement when I tried to speak Portuguese, I felt like I was staying with friends. My preferences (Tabasco with my eggs, for example) were remembered and requests for recommendations for places to eat and things to see were greeted with enthusiasm. The breakfast buffet, which includes champagne(!), was also very good.

I was skeptical when I read the overwhelmingly positive comments on Tripadvisor.com, but L'Hotel Porto Bay lives up to the reviews. The hotel is a wonderful introduction to Sao Paulo and to Brazilian hospitality. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChristopherDillon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JCastelo, Manager at L'Hotel PortoBay Sao Paulo, responded to this review, 22 February 2012
All the staff is very glad and extremely happy with your kind review of the L´Hotel Porto Bay São Paulo. It is very nice that you have mentioned being skeptical towards other positive reviews yet we lived up the expectations. Thank you very much and we hope to have you back with us soon. Jorge Castelo – General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Level Contributor
86 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

The location is fantastic! Avenida Paulista with all its attractions are around the corner. The hotel is understated luxury. Staff at the check-in very professional.
The room was not overly large, rather on the small side. The bathroom adequate with a window into the sleeping area. A nice touch are the chocolates on a pretty tray.
The best thing of this hotel is the service! I had forgotten to pack a hairbrush and comb and only realized it at 11.00 pm when getting ready for bed.
Asking the front desk for an all-night pharmacy I was informed that the messenger would get me the items. Fifteen minutes later everything was delivered to my room.
Room service is also terrific. Delicious food! The breakfast buffet is certainly one of the best I have encountered on my trips. I had a perfect week end at l"Hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IpanemaBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JCastelo, Manager at L'Hotel PortoBay Sao Paulo, responded to this review, 14 February 2012
Thank you very much for the very nice comment about our Hotel. The staff will be delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay. In relation to our rooms we are about to finish renovating some of them and hope when you come back we can accommodate you in the new ones. With kind regards, Jorge Castelo – General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sao Paulo hotels
Jardins
Renaissance Sao Paulo Hotel
Jardins
Emiliano Hotel
Emiliano Hotel
#1 of 323 in Sao Paulo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
Jardins
InterContinental Sao Paulo
InterContinental Sao Paulo
#4 of 323 in Sao Paulo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jardins
Tivoli Mofarrej - Sao Paulo
Tivoli Mofarrej - Sao Paulo
#11 of 323 in Sao Paulo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,536 reviews
Grand Hyatt Sao Paulo
#5 of 323 in Sao Paulo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,999 reviews
Bela Vista
Maksoud Plaza
Maksoud Plaza
#40 of 323 in Sao Paulo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Hotel PortoBay Sao Paulo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Hotel PortoBay Sao Paulo

Property: L'Hotel PortoBay Sao Paulo
Address: Alameda Campinas 266 | Jardim Paulista, Sao Paulo, State of Sao Paulo 01404-000, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Sao Paulo > Sao Paulo > Bela Vista
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sao Paulo
#6 Spa Hotel in Sao Paulo
#8 Business Hotel in Sao Paulo
#8 Luxury Hotel in Sao Paulo
#10 Family Hotel in Sao Paulo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — L'Hotel PortoBay Sao Paulo 5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The cosmopolitan city of São Paulo, the financial capital of Latin America, is the setting for the five star L' Hotel Porto Bay São Paulo. Situated on Alameda Campinas, 50 metres away from the corner of Avenida Paulista, and close to the best restaurants, bars, museums and stores selling the most emblematic brands in the world, L' Hotel Porto Bay São Paulo offers a central location without the bustle of the main avenue. Designed in a European style, the sophistication of this boutique hotel is perfectly complemented by high standards of service and comfort. Particular care has been taken with the quality of products and materials used in the hotel. Single pieces of Art can also be found, for example the presence of a Flemish tapestry woven in Brussels in the second half of the XVIth century bought at a Christie's auction in London. This 84 room boutique hotel has a restaurant, SPA, indoor pool, gym and offers a very personalised standard of service. Special occasions, weddings, shopping, art and culture... Special, personalised events designed to meets its guests' requirements. L'Hotel Porto Bay São Paulo offers free Wi-Fi throughout the whole hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your L'Hotel PortoBay Sao Paulo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
L'Hotel PortoBay Sao Paulo Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing