We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A flawless stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of L'Hotel PortoBay Sao Paulo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
L'Hotel PortoBay Sao Paulo
Ranked #8 of 322 Hotels in Sao Paulo
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
“A flawless stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

Being welcomed to a check-in desk with champagne and an upgrade to a suite is extremely nice. Then receiving a passport holder in a nice leather with an embossed L because the woman checking us in noticed my super beat up passport, is a gesture that sets this hotel apart. A small thing and an excellent one. The hotel is in a brilliant location, close to metro and in the centre of everything. It is elegant and charming for a big city and primarily high end business hotel. The room was huge, comfortable, spotless, very well appointed and with elegant yet understated decor. Breakfast was delicious and varied. Service was friendly and top notch. We took advantage of the onsen spa (the Japanese bath tub), which was free, and perfect for relaxing after a day of wandering around Sampa.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank emiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

952 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    671
    202
    56
    15
    8
See reviews for
109
371
64
308
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich
Level Contributor
55 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

We spent only one night but would happily have stayed for a week. The attention to detail from the part of the staff is wonderful, always helpful and ready to make your stay very comfortable. The room was well appointed, spacious and nicely decorated. The breakfast is smoking to look for in the morning, really nice! The pool is small but enough to relax after a long flight. It is located just around the corner from the main street and you can find shops, restaurants and bars nearby. We arrived at 8 in the morning and it was great to have the option of an early check-in, for half the price of the room, otherwise we will have to hang around until 3pm, to get the room. It was pricy but worthy. I will recommend it anyone going to Sao Paulo and will for sure come back!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AnaZurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

This is the third Porto Bay hotel we've stayed at (also stayed at Cliff Bay in Maderia and Rio International on Rio) and the staff came with the same high level of service we have experienced in the other two. I get the feeling they are well trained and loyal to the brand.
On check-in were were offered sparkling wine, not one but two glasses! and the receptionist immediately re-allocated out room to one on a higher floor.
Admittedly the leisure facilities were not as good as, say The Cliff Bay, but then the footprint and location do not lend themselves to an amazing pool etc. But you are on the main shopping street and therefore close to all the night life, while the hotel is very quiet once inside.
Also, I did have a massage the the masseur was very attentive, eager and gave a very professional one hour massage for 180 Real (about 50 GBP), so I would definitely recommend that. Spa treatments are also available from 6 in the morning to 11 at night, and I don't know many other hotels that would offer that.

Room Tip: The higher you go the quieter the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Feebeau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, England
Level Contributor
75 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

This is a tricky review to write. Because there was nothing ''wrong'' with the L'Hotel Porto Bay in Sao Paulo. Good location just off Avenida Paulista, very good staff, a nice small gym, sauna, and pool on the top floor which did the job in limited space. The L'Hotel Porto Bay has some charm and elegance and certainly was not your standard ''branded'' big box hotel. But, Number One in Sao Paulo. Hmmmmm. Sorry. The L'Hotel is good, as usual I believe it is too expensive not least when a traveller in our group mentioned she was paying less than half the tariff in the Merkure nearby which may not be the same category but certainly worth considering at half the price. I had one of the worst caipirinhas I have ever had in Brazil, the barman appeared not to have a clue how to make Brazil's trademark cocktail and our drinks took an age to arrive as if he was picking the limes himself. This may seem cruel to mention, but a bad caipirniha in Brazil.................... The L'Hotel is good and it would be churlish to mark it down, but I regret this is not my idea of the best hotel in Sao Paulo nor is it good value for money. I rate it very good because it is, which is not the same thing as being the best hotel in Sao Paulo whatever the price

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro
Level Contributor
47 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

I have to tell you about one truth in the hotel´s business: The rooms are all almost the same, the showers, the TVs, etc... around the world, but what differs one of the others is the quality of service, and the quality of service at L´Hotel is fantastic.
They are all, all of them, worried in helping you all the time.
Fantastic.
But at this time, I saw something that worried me a little bit.
Well...The breakfast hour was from 7 ( or something like this ) to 10 A.M.
When the time of closure is coming, about 9:55 A.M., one of the attendants come to our table, and to all of the others tables, and asked if we could want something from the table ( the breakfast table with a lot of options ).
OK, don´t worry, we are happy, I said.
But at 10:00 A.M sharp, they started to get all the food dishes from the breakfast table.
One couple at our side that came at 9:45 A.M., went hungry and furious.
Well... they have their reason, of course... If the breakfast time is from X to 10:00 A.M, if you come at 9:55 A.M., you are in time to eat all you want, you are included in the time of the breakfast, OK ?
So, I suggest that this question above. ( Do you want something... ) could be asked ONLY after 10:15 A.M., or later and NEVER around 10:00 A.M., OK ?

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cierco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
84 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

I had very high expectations after the #1 Tripadvisor ranking. My room was just ok. Very small bathroom and it could have used a comfortable chair for relaxing. The internet was a bit slow. The location is good with easy and safe access to the Paulista Ave and a close subway stop.

However, the one thing this hotel excels at is customer service. Dessert was delivered to my room free of charge as a thank you, bottles of water were given for free and champagne was offered at check in. The staff at the front desk was really helpful with recommendations and directions. The concierge was also extremely helpful with fun dinner and bar suggestions.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

I was traveling on business for two weeks and stayed in the beautiful Hotel Unique for the first week. I had to switch hotels for the second week, and found the L'Hotel Porto Bay on TripAdvisor as ranked #1.

I had quite high expectations, but left the L'Hotel Porto Bay knowing that I probably would not stay there again. Customer service was good. I had several problems with my room - the water was not hot, the room was freezing, and the "free high-speed wifi" was extremely slow. The L'Hotel Porto Bay tried to address these issues. They brought a space heater up to my room, which ended up not working, and they had someone install a wireless router into my room, which barely increased the internet speed. I still was unable to successfully Skype with my family in the United States.

For true business customers, I would not pick this hotel. I did not find it comfortable and it did not have the technology requirements for my stay.

I do not know why this hotel is rated as #1 on TripAdvisor. Perhaps because I booked through Expedia as opposed to the hotel, but I was very, very disappointed.

The Unique was much much better.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank EmilyL8487
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sao Paulo hotels
Jardins
Renaissance Sao Paulo Hotel
Jardins
Emiliano Hotel
Emiliano Hotel
#1 of 322 in Sao Paulo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
Jardins
InterContinental Sao Paulo
InterContinental Sao Paulo
#4 of 322 in Sao Paulo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jardins
Tivoli Sao Paulo - Mofarrej
Tivoli Sao Paulo - Mofarrej
#11 of 322 in Sao Paulo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,501 reviews
Grand Hyatt Sao Paulo
#5 of 322 in Sao Paulo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,910 reviews
Jardins
Hotel Fasano Sao Paulo
Hotel Fasano Sao Paulo
#2 of 322 in Sao Paulo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Hotel PortoBay Sao Paulo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Hotel PortoBay Sao Paulo

Property: L'Hotel PortoBay Sao Paulo
Address: Alameda Campinas 266 | Jardim Paulista, Sao Paulo, State of Sao Paulo 01404-000, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Sao Paulo > Sao Paulo > Bela Vista
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Sao Paulo
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sao Paulo
#8 Luxury Hotel in Sao Paulo
#8 Business Hotel in Sao Paulo
#10 Family Hotel in Sao Paulo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — L'Hotel PortoBay Sao Paulo 5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The cosmopolitan city of São Paulo, the financial capital of Latin America, is the setting for the five star L' Hotel Porto Bay São Paulo. Situated on Alameda Campinas, 50 metres away from the corner of Avenida Paulista, and close to the best restaurants, bars, museums and stores selling the most emblematic brands in the world, L' Hotel Porto Bay São Paulo offers a central location without the bustle of the main avenue. Designed in a European style, the sophistication of this boutique hotel is perfectly complemented by high standards of service and comfort. Particular care has been taken with the quality of products and materials used in the hotel. Single pieces of Art can also be found, for example the presence of a Flemish tapestry woven in Brussels in the second half of the XVIth century bought at a Christie's auction in London. This 84 room boutique hotel has a restaurant, SPA, indoor pool, gym and offers a very personalised standard of service. Special occasions, weddings, shopping, art and culture... Special, personalised events designed to meets its guests' requirements. L'Hotel Porto Bay São Paulo offers free Wi-Fi throughout the whole hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your L'Hotel PortoBay Sao Paulo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
L'Hotel PortoBay Sao Paulo Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing