We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good option in SP”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
L'Hotel PortoBay Sao Paulo
Ranked #10 of 326 Hotels in Sao Paulo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We just stayed for a weekend get away. After realising that getting a room at Unique, the Emilano, or the Fasano meant selling your first born child or spending over 2000 BRL per night, L'Hotel was recommened to me by a colleague. I am glad he did. The friendliness and personal approach to the service won me over within the first 5 minutes. Our suite was on a high floor and dead quiet. A nice firm bed and quality linens made for a great sleep. The spa area, although small, was a nice getaway in the late afternoon. The japanese tubs were soothing. The sauna was hot. The massage with Jose was perfect. Carol, the concierge, went out of her way to make our dinner plans perfect. There was always a taxi waiting to whisk us away - the bottles of water within were well appreciated. The breakfast was fine. The first day was amazing with staff falling over themselves to help us. The second morning however was horrible. They only had two wait staff working who could barely keep up delivering coffee and seating guests. Ordering eggs and having them delivered to the table was impossible. Same thing went for the evening turndown. The second night, we had chocolates delivered but no towels, or water. It is like saturday night came and incompetence appeared. I suppose it might have been a special case, but the difference between the two days was striking. It was not enough to keep me from coming back however.... L'Hotel during normal times is still better than most hotels I have stayed in - and I travel often. For the pricepoint in SP, I cannot imagine getting a better value for money experience. Many thanks for a great weekend!

Room Tip: Go for the extra room in the suites. Take a japonese bath. Get a massage. Use the concierge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JeffinRio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,036)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

203 - 209 of 1,036 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2013

We stayed here when we changed our flight and had a full day in Sao Paolo. When our first guide didn't show up, the hotel called another immediately and we had a fantastic tour. I would recommend this hotel for the rooms, the service and it was in nice neighborhood that you could walk in.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 23anita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

The hotel is more suited for business people as it is well situated in the main business district. I am sure there are better places for tourists. The pool is no good for exercise or laps. My room and the restaurant was freezing cold and the aircon only cools (no heat) the restaurant was nice although my rare steak was served medium; it is also expensive. The staff were wonderful.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Colin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Great location and price, quiet and elegant atmosphere, great breckfast (included in the rate), very good location nearby Av. Paulista, very good service and nice bar. I would visit it again if I need to travel to Sao Pablo again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pinkfloyd412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Being welcomed to a check-in desk with champagne and an upgrade to a suite is extremely nice. Then receiving a passport holder in a nice leather with an embossed L because the woman checking us in noticed my super beat up passport, is a gesture that sets this hotel apart. A small thing and an excellent one. The hotel is in a brilliant location, close to metro and in the centre of everything. It is elegant and charming for a big city and primarily high end business hotel. The room was huge, comfortable, spotless, very well appointed and with elegant yet understated decor. Breakfast was delicious and varied. Service was friendly and top notch. We took advantage of the onsen spa (the Japanese bath tub), which was free, and perfect for relaxing after a day of wandering around Sampa.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank emiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We spent only one night but would happily have stayed for a week. The attention to detail from the part of the staff is wonderful, always helpful and ready to make your stay very comfortable. The room was well appointed, spacious and nicely decorated. The breakfast is smoking to look for in the morning, really nice! The pool is small but enough to relax after a long flight. It is located just around the corner from the main street and you can find shops, restaurants and bars nearby. We arrived at 8 in the morning and it was great to have the option of an early check-in, for half the price of the room, otherwise we will have to hang around until 3pm, to get the room. It was pricy but worthy. I will recommend it anyone going to Sao Paulo and will for sure come back!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank AnaZurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

This is the third Porto Bay hotel we've stayed at (also stayed at Cliff Bay in Maderia and Rio International on Rio) and the staff came with the same high level of service we have experienced in the other two. I get the feeling they are well trained and loyal to the brand.
On check-in were were offered sparkling wine, not one but two glasses! and the receptionist immediately re-allocated out room to one on a higher floor.
Admittedly the leisure facilities were not as good as, say The Cliff Bay, but then the footprint and location do not lend themselves to an amazing pool etc. But you are on the main shopping street and therefore close to all the night life, while the hotel is very quiet once inside.
Also, I did have a massage the the masseur was very attentive, eager and gave a very professional one hour massage for 180 Real (about 50 GBP), so I would definitely recommend that. Spa treatments are also available from 6 in the morning to 11 at night, and I don't know many other hotels that would offer that.

Room Tip: The higher you go the quieter the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Feebeau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sao Paulo hotels
Jardins
Tivoli Mofarrej - Sao Paulo
Jardins
InterContinental Sao Paulo
InterContinental Sao Paulo
#4 of 326 in Sao Paulo
1,618 reviews
Grand Hyatt Sao Paulo
#5 of 326 in Sao Paulo
3,513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jardins
Renaissance Sao Paulo Hotel
Bela Vista
Maksoud Plaza
Maksoud Plaza
#28 of 326 in Sao Paulo
2,496 reviews
Jardins
Hotel Unique
Hotel Unique
#3 of 326 in Sao Paulo
1,336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Hotel PortoBay Sao Paulo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Hotel PortoBay Sao Paulo

Address: Alameda Campinas 266 | Jardim Paulista, Sao Paulo, State of Sao Paulo 01404-000, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Sao Paulo > Sao Paulo > Bela Vista
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sao Paulo
#7 Spa Hotel in Sao Paulo
#8 Business Hotel in Sao Paulo
#10 Family Hotel in Sao Paulo
#10 Luxury Hotel in Sao Paulo
Price Range: £110 - £382 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — L'Hotel PortoBay Sao Paulo 5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The cosmopolitan city of São Paulo, the financial capital of Latin America, is the setting for the five star L' Hotel Porto Bay São Paulo. Situated on Alameda Campinas, 50 metres away from the corner of Avenida Paulista, and close to the best restaurants, bars, museums and stores selling the most emblematic brands in the world, L' Hotel Porto Bay São Paulo offers a central location without the bustle of the main avenue. Designed in a European style, the sophistication of this boutique hotel is perfectly complemented by high standards of service and comfort. Particular care has been taken with the quality of products and materials used in the hotel. Single pieces of Art can also be found, for example the presence of a Flemish tapestry woven in Brussels in the second half of the XVIth century bought at a Christie's auction in London. This 84 room boutique hotel has a restaurant, SPA, indoor pool, gym and offers a very personalised standard of service. Special occasions, weddings, shopping, art and culture... Special, personalised events designed to meets its guests' requirements. L'Hotel Porto Bay São Paulo offers free Wi-Fi throughout the whole hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Splitty, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your L'Hotel PortoBay Sao Paulo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
L'Hotel PortoBay Sao Paulo Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing