We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Boutique hotel with great service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of L'Hotel PortoBay Sao Paulo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
L'Hotel PortoBay Sao Paulo
Ranked #8 of 322 Hotels in Sao Paulo
Certificate of Excellence
London, UK
Level Contributor
99 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Boutique hotel with great service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a couple of nights during the World Cup and thought that it was a good choice. I would return if in São Paulo for business. Despite all the pressures of full occupancy for the football, the staff were tremendously helpful and cheerful. The hotel has a great location just off Avenue Paulista with plenty of good restaurants a short walk away. The rooms are small and the sound proofing could be improved, but they were clean and comfortable. Breakfast was excellent. Stefano Parziale from the sales / marketing team was particularly helpful and went to great pains to rectify a mistake by Expedia, who had overcharged on the booking.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlie1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

948 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    670
    199
    56
    15
    8
See reviews for
109
369
64
306
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
148 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

Almost a 5 star modern hotel just off the bustling Paulista Avenue. Rooms are luxurious and understated, if slightly bland, with lovely showers, miniature baths and gorgeous towels. There is an excellent concierge and front desk which really makes a difference. Food at breakfast is of a very high quality with a slightly wider range than most in Brazil. However there are a few flaws. You could be staying anywhere from Moscow to Singapore and there's nothing to remind you or interest you in Brazil or Sao Paulo anywhere here. Really strangely, if you time breakfast badly you can wait 10 minutes+ for a table. If it's cold (it was when we were there in July) the patio is closed and the dining room is way too small to cope. There also weren't really enough staff on duty to cope with the programme, including table service of coffee and cooked to order omelettes etc. However it's way better than most Brazil hotel experiences though.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spinoccio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

The suites in this hotel are pretty generous, the beds huge and the amenities excellent. Service is generally pretty good and the concierge is outstanding - nothing was too much trouble.
Having visited during the FIFA World Cup the prices were high for rooms, as you would expect - I'm sure they're normally a lot lower. However, I'd guess that food and bar prices are probably constant which would make them relatively expensive. However it is a good hotel and the prices are comparable with this type of place in major cities in other countries.
If I went back to Sao Paulo I'd be quite happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Glyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

I invited a buddy who was also in town and traveling to the airport with me later that day to visit for an hour or so before I checked out. After 30 minutes of talking, we received a phone call demanding that my friend leave the room immediately and that security was waiting outside the door. When I went to the door, an extremely rude employee pushed the door open and came into the room, stating that no visitors were allowed to any room and that security would have to escort him out (despite me being about to check out in an hour).

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Greg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

Came to São Paulo for the first time and checked into the hotel for the World Cup period. Since we came directly from the Amazon Rainforest, this hotel was like heaven :) despite the fact that the hotel was full, the service was still great. The hotel staff were professional, knowledgable and extremely helpful. Spoke excellent English and made some great recommendations. Special mention to Alex who went out of his way to assist me way beyond expectations!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank DoraTheExplorerGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
İstanbul
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

I have stayed in hotel for PV Brasil for 4 days. The location of the hotel is very central, very close to intersection of Pau Avenue. The service was pretty good, the hotel was pretty clean and the staff was very helpful. I needed to iron my shirts for the morning and I called room service at 4 a.m. in the morning. The sent me the iron and the ironing board in 5 minutes. Breakfast selection was very wide and it was so delicious.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Baris U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

I spent a couple of nights at Porto Bay when in Business in Sao Paulo. Not your obvious choice compared to the big chains but very pleasant stay.
Traditional but quality decor and facitiies.
The hotel is very well located in central Sao Paulo.
The breakfast was gorgeous and the staff very attentive.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Frenchvoice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sao Paulo hotels
Jardins
Renaissance Sao Paulo Hotel
Jardins
Emiliano Hotel
Emiliano Hotel
#1 of 322 in Sao Paulo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
Jardins
InterContinental Sao Paulo
InterContinental Sao Paulo
#4 of 322 in Sao Paulo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jardins
Tivoli Sao Paulo - Mofarrej
Tivoli Sao Paulo - Mofarrej
#11 of 322 in Sao Paulo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,491 reviews
Grand Hyatt Sao Paulo
#5 of 322 in Sao Paulo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,894 reviews
Jardins
Hotel Fasano Sao Paulo
Hotel Fasano Sao Paulo
#2 of 322 in Sao Paulo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Hotel PortoBay Sao Paulo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Hotel PortoBay Sao Paulo

Property: L'Hotel PortoBay Sao Paulo
Address: Alameda Campinas 266 | Jardim Paulista, Sao Paulo, State of Sao Paulo 01404-000, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Sao Paulo > Sao Paulo > Bela Vista
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Sao Paulo
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sao Paulo
#8 Luxury Hotel in Sao Paulo
#8 Business Hotel in Sao Paulo
#10 Family Hotel in Sao Paulo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — L'Hotel PortoBay Sao Paulo 5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The cosmopolitan city of São Paulo, the financial capital of Latin America, is the setting for the five star L' Hotel Porto Bay São Paulo. Situated on Alameda Campinas, 50 metres away from the corner of Avenida Paulista, and close to the best restaurants, bars, museums and stores selling the most emblematic brands in the world, L' Hotel Porto Bay São Paulo offers a central location without the bustle of the main avenue. Designed in a European style, the sophistication of this boutique hotel is perfectly complemented by high standards of service and comfort. Particular care has been taken with the quality of products and materials used in the hotel. Single pieces of Art can also be found, for example the presence of a Flemish tapestry woven in Brussels in the second half of the XVIth century bought at a Christie's auction in London. This 84 room boutique hotel has a restaurant, SPA, indoor pool, gym and offers a very personalised standard of service. Special occasions, weddings, shopping, art and culture... Special, personalised events designed to meets its guests' requirements. L'Hotel Porto Bay São Paulo offers free Wi-Fi throughout the whole hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Southall Travel and Hotels.com so you can book your L'Hotel PortoBay Sao Paulo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
L'Hotel PortoBay Sao Paulo Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing