We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tryp Sao Paulo Higienopolis Hotel
Ranked #76 of 321 Hotels in Sao Paulo
GreenLeadersGold level
Miami, Florida
1 review
“excellent”
Reviewed 19 May 2013

i had a excellent weekat the hotel. the localization is perfect close thehigienopolis shopping mall.
the breakfast is outstanding - a lot of different breads and fruits ilove it
the room was great simple, clean and nice - you don t need extra for sao paulo
the personall friendly helping with cabs andother issues
i lveit

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lboruba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Golda_TrypH, Gerente geral at Tryp Sao Paulo Higienopolis Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2013
Dear Mr. Lboruba,
Thank´s for your Nice review for the TRYP Higienópolis Hotel. We are really happy that you and your family enjoyed the hotel and it´s facilities. We invite you to stay with us and enjoy once again our fresh breakfast and all the best São Paulo, in your next visit allow our team to suggest you our favorite spots on the town, so you can “Own” São Paulo and enjoy as we all do.
Thank you & Best Regards,
Golda Boruchowski – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

900 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    320
    376
    129
    51
    24
See reviews for
214
131
59
405
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Alpharetta, Georgia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2013

This was my first trip to Brazil. I was attending a business meeting with a couple of days of free time on each end of the meeting. I had no idea or preconceived notion of what Sao Paulo or the hotel would be like. I was pleasantly surprised by the TRYP Higienopolis Hotel. It is located in an upscale, tree lined, pleasant neighborhood with lots of shops, restaurants and public parks. Higienopolis is convenient to downtown and many interesting sights.

The rooms in the hotel are very large and well appointed but not, by any means, lavish. Our room had everything we would need for a pleasant stay and then some: robes, minibar, safe, internet, a desk, comfortable chair. The bed was very comfortable, with plenty of extra pillows of various types. The bathroom was small but well appointed. The shower was a deluge of water. The major negative was the toilet. It tended to slow and clog up with little provocation. A call to the front desk resulted in very quick service.

I found the front desk staff to be very helpful. Most or all of them spoke some English. The consierge, Alex, was very helpful and resourceful. He arranged a great tour to Santos and surrounding areas, and scored free tickets to a Sunday morning concert for my wife and I.

We got to meet the General Manager of the Hotel, Golda, on a couple of occasions. She was very friendly and helpful to us and very enthusiastic about her hotel and her job.

The restaurant in the hotel was very nice. We had all of our breakfasts there (included with our stay) and one dinner and one lunch. The food was very good and the staff, very attentive and friendly.

The TRYP Higienopolis is a gem of a hotel in a nice neighborhood in Sao Paulo. It contributed greatly to our enjoyment of Sao Paulo.

Room Tip: Get a high floor if you can. The views of Sao Paulo are impressive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JayINDY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Golda_TrypH, Gerente geral at Tryp Sao Paulo Higienopolis Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2013
Dear Mr. JayINDY,
First of all, many thanks for your kind review to TRYP Higienópolis Hotel. It was a pleasure to have you and your wife staying with us. We are happy that we could help to enhance your experience in São Paulo through our “Own the City” program designed by Melia Hotels International to make our guests feel at home in our city. We´ll be more than happy to have you here any time you come to São Paulo, there are many other places that you can enjoy.
Thank you & Best Regards, Golda Boruchowski – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
95 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2013

This is a nice place to stay in a very good neighborhood near downtown and Paulista Avenue. The accomodations are fine and well maintained. The breakfast gives you a lot of options but the restaurant is small and its cause some lines with the guests in charge of coordination. The front desk is totaly chaotic, huge lines at the check-in and check out.... missing rooms, missing reservations, incorrect billing and so on. Needs some process review and actual management.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FELIPE V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Golda_TrypH, Gerente geral at Tryp Sao Paulo Higienopolis Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2013
Dear Mr. Felipe V,
We would like to thank you for the time spent to evaluate our hotel and the opportunity to improve our front desk services with the information provided by you. I hope I can see you on TRYP Higienópolis in your next stay in São Paulo, and if you have any issue, please feel free to contact me directly: gergeral.higienopolis@tryphotels.com.br .
Thank you & Best Regards, Golda Boruchowski – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wädenswil
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2013

The hotel is OK and clean. The rooms are rather 3-star quality, certainly no more. The personnel in the breakfast room is excellent and friendly. Language skills of reception staff is largely limited to Portuguese.

All in all it is OK if you plan no more than 3 nights.

The photographs promise more that what the reality looks like. Pricing is OK.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 060660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2013

As fellow travellers has written, then the hotel is well located. But that is pretty much it.

The service is in general quite poor. Me and my colleagues had to ask to get our rooms cleaned several times because they apparently forgot it. They do not have a real concierge function, so the info regarding the city, maps, tours etc. was very limited as the receptionists apparently are not experts in ”things to do” and there is the language barrier if you do not speak Portuguese. Check in/check out was extremely slow and cumbersome. When ordering a taxi through the hotel it could take 15 minutes to get, even though the streets were full of them. If you have 2-3 devices which need internet access, then it is a major problem as they can normally only manage one device per room – not suitable if it is a business hotel..

The fitness room would need a big refurbishment; really out-dated weights and machines and some of the fitness machines did not work and looked like it has been in that state for months. No music in the fitness room. The worst is though, that the swimming pool was not suited for swimming at all! I addressed the issue twice at the reception but nothing happened. Then I took the manager out to see the ”green” pool – full of algae and fungus (see pool pictures…). In the end of the pool under the building, the pool got all green when I was swimming because I stirred the green stuff up. He said he was ashamed and that they could not offer a standard like this to the guests, but… nothing ever happened..

So if you enjoy a clean healthy pool and good service, avoid using this hotel.

Room Tip: Bwtween 7-13th floor you will have a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vinking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Golda_TrypH, Gerente geral at Tryp Sao Paulo Higienopolis Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2013
Dear Mr. Vinking,
First of all, we would like to thank you for your time and attention spent to offer your review. We are deeply sad that you couldn´t enjoy your stay with us as usually our guests do. In regards to your concerns, I would like to collect more information about your whole experience so I´ll be able to provide you with a better feedback, please feel free to contact me at gergeral.higienopolis@tryphotels.com.br. You can rest assure that all those issues will be taken care immediately and, should you consider us for your next stay in São Paulo, I´ll be more than happy to speak with you personally.
Thank you & Best Regards, Golda Boruchowski – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2012

Very nice hotel in a safe, residential, tranquil neighborhood (Higienopolis), while close to Paulista neighborhood and beyond (nightlife). High End shopping Mall around the corner (by foot), and more charming residential walks nearby.(As a North European, I was impresse by the extensive "cemiterio". Definite plus here the charming neighborhood.
Very good (local-standards) service and efficiency (this is not a Grand Hyatt, whose "New Brooklyn" location and neighborhood does not allow for 3 steps outside on foot). Ok breakfast, ok Gym,

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrequentTraveller77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Golda_TrypH, Gerente geral at Tryp Sao Paulo Higienopolis Hotel, responded to this review, 4 January 2013
Dear FrequentTraveller77,
Thanks for dedicate some of your time to review the TRYP Higienópolis Hotel, our entire team is more than happy to know that we could deliver good times for your stay in São Paulo. We hope to have you here soon, in this opportunity we would like to show you more about the city we are passionate about and make your stay even more enjoyable.
Best Regards,
Golda Boruchowski, Gerente Geral
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
69 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2012

Surprisingly similar to Novotel (even the room furniture), this Tryp hotel had a nice location in a quiet residential area, still close to downtown São Paulo and Paulista. Breakfast was nice and service was friendly. Shopping mall just a few blocks away.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Swiss_business
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sao Paulo hotels
Jardins
Melia Paulista
Melia Paulista
#29 of 321 in Sao Paulo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,694 reviews
Consolacao
Tryp Sao Paulo Paulista Hotel
Bela Vista
Maksoud Plaza
Maksoud Plaza
#41 of 321 in Sao Paulo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Higienopolis
Ville Hotel
Ville Hotel
#208 of 321 in Sao Paulo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Melia Jardim Europa
#36 of 321 in Sao Paulo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 902 reviews
Higienopolis
Transamerica Classic Higienopolis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tryp Sao Paulo Higienopolis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tryp Sao Paulo Higienopolis Hotel

Property: Tryp Sao Paulo Higienopolis Hotel
Address: Rua Maranhao 371, Sao Paulo, State of Sao Paulo 02326-020, Brazil (Formerly Melia Confort Higienopolis)
Phone Number:
Region: Brazil > State of Sao Paulo > Sao Paulo > Higienopolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Sao Paulo
#29 Family Hotel in Sao Paulo
#35 Luxury Hotel in Sao Paulo
#40 Business Hotel in Sao Paulo
#54 Romantic Hotel in Sao Paulo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Tryp Sao Paulo Higienopolis Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Melia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Tryp Sao Paulo Higienopolis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tryp Higienopolis Hotel Sao Paulo
Tryp Sao Paulo Higienopolis Hotel Brazil
Tryp Hotel Higienopolis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing