We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Novotel Sao Paulo Jaragua Convention
Ranked #32 of 321 Hotels in Sao Paulo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Izmir, Turkey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Friendly Staff”
Reviewed 28 May 2013

The staff was very friendly from the entrance to the top but the the room wasn't very well accomplished with poor quality of furniture.Don't need to ask for high floors for better view of the city as nothing is seen through the windows because of the metal shields.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank SerOmGor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucila M, Gerente at Hotel Novotel Sao Paulo Jaragua Convention, responded to this review, 29 May 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to write about Novotel Jaraguá.

It is very nice to hear that our employees are friendly. Service is our main purpose.

Our building was constructed many years ago to be an newspaper factory, and after a few years the top of the building became an hotel. As being a historical building we are not able to move the metal shildes that we have at the window.

Cordially,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,932 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    748
    906
    199
    49
    30
See reviews for
423
300
175
794
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
High Wycombe
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2013

The staff are very friendly and professional.If you don't speak Portuguese there is normally someone who speaks reasonable English at the desk, but in the restauarant communication is by pointing only! Food is good but very expensive. DON'T get tempted by the minibar!

The worst thing about this hotel is that the floors are filthy! My first stay was in a room with a carpet and you could even smell the dirt! I couldn't bring myself to take my shoes off. The second stay was in a room with a wooden floor and in the light you can see the dirt - fluff, hair, finger nails and the prints from hundreds of shoes. WARNING - DON'T LOOK UNDER THE BED!! The windows were also greasy and smeared, switches and door handles were dirty. There is no plug for the sink but that is ok because the drain is blocked so it fills up nicely. The only trouble is that you need to wait 5 minutes for hot water. The water pressure is low in the showers and mould grows around the tiles. But the most memorable thing - a wad of someone's chewing gum stuck to the bedside table!

Room Tip: Very noisy location - go up high!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shen2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucila M, Gerente at Hotel Novotel Sao Paulo Jaragua Convention, responded to this review, 22 May 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Novotel Jaraguá. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Novotel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

Please be sure that is not the service we offer at Novotel Jaraguá.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whidbey Island, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
291 reviews
153 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 544 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2013

For nearly two decades from its inauguration in 1954, the Jaraguá was considered São Paulo´s best hotel. The building formerly housed the country´s leading newspaper “O Estado de S. Paulo.”

The hotel became run down & changed hands several times until it was taken over by Accor & labeled Novotel. We spent a weekend in São Paulo visiting museums & attending a concert at Sala São Paulo. The location of the Jaraguá is ideal for this purpose, near the metro & a short cab ride from the concert hall. Rua Avanhadava with several good Mancini restaurants is a five mnute walk from the Jaraguá.

Our room was sizeable with comfortable beds. The bathroom was also big with lots of hot water & hooks to hang things. WiFi was free although parking & breakfast are extra.

The best option in the center of São Paulo, in my opinion.

Room Tip: Ask for a floor as high as ´possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FromBrazil71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucila M, Gerente at Hotel Novotel Sao Paulo Jaragua Convention, responded to this review, 10 May 2013
Dear Guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Jaraguá.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Cordially,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellinzona, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2013 via mobile

Located near República square, the novotel is a pretty old hotel compared to other novotel in the world. (Room could be modernized)
Everybody speaks English
Free wifi in the rooms
Average hotel, nice location within walking distance from avenida paulista and plaza república

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cskswiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucila M, Gerente at Hotel Novotel Sao Paulo Jaragua Convention, responded to this review, 12 April 2013
Dear Guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Jaraguá.
I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2013

the hotel has a central location, near subway (10 min walk from Republica), quit a safe neighboorhood. the room is clean but basic, we paid about 100 eur what's cheap for Sao Paulo.
only check in counter was to busy every time we needed them. staff is friendly and helpfull.
breakfast offers more than enough choise.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Depelim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucila M, Gerente at Hotel Novotel Sao Paulo Jaragua Convention, responded to this review, 1 April 2013
Dear Guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Jaraguá.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Cordially,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brescia, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2013

Hotel is quite nice, too bad the surroundings are not really pleasant and to go anywhere it's necessary to take a taxi (which, given the status of constant traffic jam of Sao Paulo, is a major nuisance). The hotel does contain everything you would expect (except maybe for a pool).

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank mcicogni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucila M, Gerente at Hotel Novotel Sao Paulo Jaragua Convention, responded to this review, 1 April 2013
Dear Guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Jaraguá.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience.

Cordially,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2013

Unfortunately I got off the wrong foot with the hotel. Being a loyal Accor Group member I expected an early check (8.30 am) especially since at the previous Accor hotel I had such a late check in. It took a bit of arguing because the hotel wanted to charge me for half a day. It just reflected poorly on the Accor Group...one the Accor loyalty program is a sham and two it does not have a 24 hour check in policy. So in one stroke, it made me question the entire group. Now getting back to the hotel, I was paying through my nose because I was visiting an exhibition and my partners were also staying in the same Hotel (IBIS Paulista would have cost me half the rate and the comfort level is high from my previous experience). The room was also a little cramped. The front reception staff did to a certain extent retrieve the situation. They were extremely helpful in assisting me plan my schedule. Apart from the helpful staff, the sumptous breakfast and the excellent food at the 365 restaurant (best seafood spaghetti) helped turn an overall terrible experience into an average one. But having paid through my nose and arguing for an early check-in after a red eye flight, I don't think I will go back to this hotel although I will definitely dine at the 365 restaurant.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danny03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucila M, Gerente at Hotel Novotel Sao Paulo Jaragua Convention, responded to this review, 19 March 2013
Dear Danny.

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Jaraguá.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Please, could you send me an email (h6224-gm1@accor.com.br) so I can check what happened at your check in and try to inform Le Club about your infomation. Because i can not check without your full name.

Thank you again for sharing your experience.

Hope to hear from you soon.

Cordially,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sao Paulo hotels
Bela Vista
H3 Hotel Paulista
H3 Hotel Paulista
#44 of 321 in Sao Paulo
557 reviews
Consolacao
Pergamon Sao Paulo Frei Caneca
Republica
Bourbon Sao Paulo Express Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bela Vista
Maksoud Plaza
Maksoud Plaza
#37 of 321 in Sao Paulo
2,084 reviews
Republica
Nobile Hotel Downtown
Nobile Hotel Downtown
#61 of 321 in Sao Paulo
1,589 reviews
Republica
Hotel Boulevard Inn Sao Paulo
Hotel Boulevard Inn Sao Paulo
#92 of 321 in Sao Paulo
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Novotel Sao Paulo Jaragua Convention? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Novotel Sao Paulo Jaragua Convention

Property: Hotel Novotel Sao Paulo Jaragua Convention
Address: Rua Martins Fontes 71, Sao Paulo, State of Sao Paulo 01050-000, Brazil (Formerly Holiday Inn Select)
Region: Brazil > State of Sao Paulo > Sao Paulo > Consolacao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Sao Paulo
#13 Green Hotel in Sao Paulo
#15 Romantic Hotel in Sao Paulo
#20 Best Value Hotel in Sao Paulo
#22 Luxury Hotel in Sao Paulo
#22 Business Hotel in Sao Paulo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Novotel Sao Paulo Jaragua Convention 4*
Number of rooms: 415
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star Novotel Sao Paulo Jaragua is ideal for a business trip to Sao Paulo. It is located in the city centre, which is both the business centre and the historic, financial and cultural heart of the city. Surrounded by gourmet restaurants, the hotel features 415 rooms (332 non smoking rooms and 106 suites), 25 meeting rooms for seminars and conferences, 24 hour guest services, 2 restaurants, a bar, parking, a gym and the Jaragua Theatre, host of a number of popular shows performed in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Novotel Sao Paulo Jaragua Convention reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Novotel Sao Paulo Jaragua Sao Paulo
Novotel Sao Paulo
Sao Paulo Novotel
Hotel Novotel Sao Paulo Jaragua Convention Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing