We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good and bad. Old and new.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Novotel Sao Paulo Jaragua Convention
Ranked #33 of 328 Hotels in Sao Paulo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 24 July 2014

This is a place I struggled to understand since the first day.
Good (not much of it) and bad:
Despite some efforts, it struggles to keep customers satisfied and wanting to come back. I am a platinum member with Accor. Even so, out of 5 requests (nothing extra-ordinary), 4 had NO as the default answer. Explaining common practices/standards in other 4star hotels (even of Novotel chain), opens the possibility of getting what is needed. This is probably due to how young the staff/management is and its relative inexperience. They don't talk to each other, so make sure you always talk to the same person about the same problem not to waste lots of time. Call the laundry to have your clothes delivered, check them and make sure they are not damaged (as happened to 2 colleagues). Keep receipts of everything, as what is (or is not) in the system is not necessarily what happened. Hotel restaurant: factor in at least 40minutes to be served when it's empty (not talking about room service). Internet: painfully slow. Aircond has a life of its own.
Old and new:
Room style belongs to the 80s. Pipes for hot water might be older, as it takes average 10minutes to get it. Only reception is new, but that's not where you will be sleeping.
All in all, a 4 star hotel which deserves maximum 3; a Novotel venue which feels Novotel only for the branded gadgets for sale at the lobby.
Go if you interest is in downtown and if rate is very convenient.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 24floor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jarves R, Gerente geral at Hotel Novotel Sao Paulo Jaragua Convention, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear Mr. 24 Floor

I would like to thank you for your interest in writting about your experience, helping us to improve our services at Novotel Jaraguá.

I’ll share your review with our team to encourage them to better serve our guests always and guarantee the success of this hotel.

About your negative points mentioned, I am truly sorry. You are completely correct in being disappointed with the informed points, but I can ensure to you that we are already doing our best work to deal with these kind of questions. I really glad to have the opportunity to receive your review and I would like to thank you for being sincere with us. Your review fortify the importance of this points in our workplan and I will lead our team to make the this changes as soon as posible.

If you need have further information please do not hesitate in contacting me.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,039)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

115 - 121 of 2,039 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights over the World Cup and, in most aspects, had a very good stay.

As I am a Le Club Platinum we were upgraded to an executive suite (a large single room with a sofa area in addition to the bed/s, with a swivelling TV sitting on a partition between the two areas), which was very well appointed and comfortable and had all we needed, and we were thus very happy with the room.

Staff are not quite as professional as one would expect, not very attentive or quick to respond to calls/requests, but we encountered this all over Brazil in many high-Star hotels and they were not as bad as other places!

Location of the hotel is also excellent, with the city centre and great restaurants all in walking distance.

I was also surprised how reasonable the room rates were.

Would return again on a future trip.

Room Tip: High floor if noise is an issue for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank HMSLondon101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jarves R, Gerente geral at Hotel Novotel Sao Paulo Jaragua Convention, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear Mr.

I would like to thank you for your interest in writting about your experience, helping us to improve our services at Novotel Jaraguá.

I’ll share your review with our team to encourage them to better serve our guests always and guarantee the success of this hotel.

If you need any further information please do not hesitate in contacting me.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

this is a solid hotel. its in middle of SP and it has a all the things you need for a comfortable stay .
the restaurant is pretty good but a bit expensive. you are next to plenty of shopping and entertainment. the area gets a bit sketchy at nights but overall its nice.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Barzin20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jarves R, Gerente geral at Hotel Novotel Sao Paulo Jaragua Convention, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear Mr. Chico.

I would like to thank you for your interest in writting about your experience, helping us to improve our services at Novotel Jaraguá.

I’ll share your review with our team to encourage them to better serve our guests always and guarantee the success of this hotel.

About the negative points, I already share it with the respective responsables to study some options to reduce this kind of impact in our guests.

If you need further information please do not hesitate in contacting me.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We stayed for 2 nights and found the hotel to be good . The front desk was very efficient and quick. The rooms were neat and clean however the property needs some renovation as the towels and other stuff appeared to be pretty old and worn out. Location is excellent and good. The room air conditioner did not work and they had no repair guy despite my complaining at the front desk

Room Tip: The executive suite was not worth the money, a regular room was ok
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ajaybgarg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jarves R, Gerente geral at Hotel Novotel Sao Paulo Jaragua Convention, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear Mr. Ajaybgarg

I would like to thank you for your interest in writting about your experience, helping us to improve our services at Novotel Jaraguá.

I’ll share your review with our team to encourage them to better serve our guests always and guarantee the success of this hotel.

About your negative points mentioned, I already sent you a personal message to check some informations and understand better what you dislike in our structure. We will need to understand you better and get more information about your room to ensure the maintenance of air conditioner and any other improve to be done, please, answer us as soon as possible.

If you need any further information please do not hesitate in contacting me.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

The Novotel Jaragua is a good business / convention hotel. Rooms at Novotel standards. Good location with several nice restaurants nearby (e.g. the Famiglia Mancini) as well as breakfast and lunch options. The hotel restaurant itself is unappealing and a decent bar or lounge are lacking. The hotel breakfast is fine, but rather standard (it does have an Asian section). We had two junior suites on the top (26th) floor which were spacious. Room 2609 had a small couch and was larger than room 2617, which had a small working table. In both rooms the shower was erratic: warm water was unpredictable. A reasonable gym, no swimming pool o spa. The staff are very helpful. But they have to cope with Brazilian check-in administration, which is nightmarish, particularly if large groups arrive. It took us more than half an hour to check in with 8 people. Check-out, however, can be done in an 'express' mode. Stay here if you want a decent business hotel at a good location. If you expect a nice atmosphere with a good lounge / bar / restaurant, look for other options.

Room Tip: Top floors have problem with warm water for the shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Schreuder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jarves R, Gerente at Hotel Novotel Sao Paulo Jaragua Convention, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear Mr. Schreuder.

I would like to thank you for your interest in writting about your experience, helping us to improve our services at Novotel Jaraguá.

I’ll share your review with our team to encourage them to better serve our guests always and guarantee the success of this hotel.

About your negative points, we already sent you a personal message to understand exactly what you didn't like in the services mentioned. Please, could you send us more information about what displeased you?

If you need any further information please do not hesitate in contacting me.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank 130Jan497
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jarves R, Gerente geral at Hotel Novotel Sao Paulo Jaragua Convention, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 24 June 2014

As all viewers know about my posts, I try to stay positive and highlight this in my posts on a particular quality of a hotel. This hotel needs to improve tremendously. At any money its not worth your stay at the moment.

In this review I have even factored the soccer world cup and its impact on staff and resources. So I have not commented on that because I found the cleaning staff, check-in staff, porters etc. adequately capable of handling large movements of people on special events. Congratulations to them. However, their "tools" they have to work with let this place down. So its not the staff, its the management and the facilities that need to be improved!

Several issues are of concern. For one, the internet is poor. Forget about using it, its sooo slow, drops out, and of course i'm just a guest so calling every day to try to get it resolved ended up by them saying "all is fine here, it must be your computer". Yeah right.

Secondly, I wanted early check in as I was going to check out very very early. The reception used the excuse that the hotel was full so a room wasn't available unless I paid for another half day. So was the hotel full?? I think not. This was organized and noted in my reservation. However it was not the trigger to my poor assessment of this property.

Location wise, adequate, but not the greatest part of town as everything is a moderate distance to walk to. A nice 24 hour eatery is outside the property and is popular and the food is great!

Hot water takes 10 minutes to get warm in the room. A real waste of precious water! Towels are those really small motel-style ones and hopefully this hotel understands that there is a lot of room for improvement at this property - and it should start with management as the staff here are dutiful, work well and effectively, but its the tools they have to work with that let this property down so much. Otherwise, the room and décor is quite nice! So, hopefully one day I'd like to return to this property if other reviewers can see the above improvements happen!

Room Tip: room for improvement in whole hotel, period!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2greendollars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jarves R, Gerente geral at Hotel Novotel Sao Paulo Jaragua Convention, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear Mr. 2greendollar

First, I would like to thank you for your interest in writting about your experience, helping us to improve our services at Novotel Jaraguá.

I am very glad to have the opportunity to receive your review about us, but very sad in reading about your disappoint, and also very concerned. I’m really sorry for can’t provide you the stay that you expected on this opportunity.

We have new management team and those pleope are working hard to improve the experiencie of lodging. We have a lot of work to do, but everyone is applied in make part of a big change that I, personally, developed to the sucess of Novotel Jaraguá.

As an example, we installed a Eletronic Concierge on the lobby, which help our guests to have options and information of leisure, gastronomy, airline tickets and tourism in São Paulo. With this new, our Front Desk team have the perfect support to indicate the alternatives of leisure for all the guests.

I’ll share your review with my coworkers to encourage them to do the best work than ever, give the tools that you talked about and ensure the development of our service.

I will be very happy to have the chance to receive you again and show you improvements.

If you need further information please do not hesitate in contacting me.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sao Paulo hotels
Republica
Nobile Hotel Downtown
Nobile Hotel Downtown
#59 of 328 in Sao Paulo
1,652 reviews
Bela Vista
H3 Hotel Paulista
H3 Hotel Paulista
#46 of 328 in Sao Paulo
604 reviews
Republica
Bourbon Business Hotel Sao Paulo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bom Retiro
Luz Plaza Sao Paulo
Luz Plaza Sao Paulo
#14 of 328 in Sao Paulo
558 reviews
Consolacao
Pergamon Hotel Frei Caneca Managed by AccorHotels
Bela Vista
Mercure Sao Paulo Paulista
Mercure Sao Paulo Paulista
#44 of 328 in Sao Paulo
720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Novotel Sao Paulo Jaragua Convention? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Novotel Sao Paulo Jaragua Convention

Address: Rua Martins Fontes 71, Sao Paulo, State of Sao Paulo 01050-000, Brazil (Formerly Holiday Inn Select)
Region: Brazil > State of Sao Paulo > Sao Paulo > Consolacao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Green Hotel in Sao Paulo
#15 Romantic Hotel in Sao Paulo
#20 Best Value Hotel in Sao Paulo
#22 Business Hotel in Sao Paulo
#23 Luxury Hotel in Sao Paulo
Price Range: £38 - £63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Novotel Sao Paulo Jaragua Convention 4*
Number of rooms: 415
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star Novotel Sao Paulo Jaragua is ideal for a business trip to Sao Paulo. It is located in the city centre, which is both the business centre and the historic, financial and cultural heart of the city. Surrounded by gourmet restaurants, the hotel features 415 rooms (332 non smoking rooms and 106 suites), 25 meeting rooms for seminars and conferences, 24 hour guest services, 2 restaurants, a bar, parking, a gym and the Jaragua Theatre, host of a number of popular shows performed in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Accorhotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Novotel Sao Paulo Jaragua Convention reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Novotel Sao Paulo Jaragua Sao Paulo
Novotel Sao Paulo
Sao Paulo Novotel
Hotel Novotel Sao Paulo Jaragua Convention Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing