We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, but only if you need this location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Transamerica Sao Paulo
Ranked #17 of 328 Hotels in Sao Paulo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 January 2012

This was my first trip to Brasil so I don't have much of a reference point for this review. I was on a business trip, with a week's worth of conferences at the hotel itself.

The room was large, comfortable and kept very clean. Same with the bathroom. It's not the most modern, but everything works well. The TV is new, however. If you have time to kill here's a tip: It's a new Sony bravia TV and can play movies from a USB memory stick. Google the relevant formats and come prepared. I will, next time!

You need to use the "do not disturb" sign on the door otherwise they come in many times to clean the room and check towels etc. They also keep closing the black-out curtains which became irritating (but it's to keep the heat out - so full marks for being environmentallty aware).

I'm a light sleeper but, maybe because I was so tired after each day's conference and an evening spent on Caipirinhas, I slept well. So traffic noise isn't a big problem provided you keep the window shut.

Breakfast was OK. Maybe they read reviews below and changed, because every day there were loads of local fruits and fruit jiuces. Brazilian fruit is wonderful.

The restaurant for the lunch buffet was great. When it's shut and/or you need to order from the menu it's not so special, and expensive. However, it's still not bad; just that there are better options if you have time to leave the hotel.

The conference facilities and service was very good. Everything worked well; the snacks were always delivered on time; the microphones/projectors etc all worked.

Staff are very friendly and the hotel feels spacious as there are a few places to chill with a coffee/beer/cocktail and chat, or work. The wireless network always connects but internet speeds can be very slow.

Hotel was expensive, but maybe every hotel in Sao Paulo is; I don't know. In summary, because the location is in the middle of nowhere, I'd only recommend you stay here if you specifically need to be in this location. However, if you do need to be here, then it's a great choice.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AdrianLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hoteistransamerica, Quality at Hotel Transamerica Sao Paulo, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2012

Thank you for your review and sharing your impression of your stay with us. It was a pleasure to know that you approved of our rooms, conference and services. Our Hotel is designed for business then we seek to facilitate your travel and provide pleasant moments. Thank you again for your comments. We hope you return soon to Sao Paulo and grant us the honor of visiting the Hotel Transamerica São Paulo again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,151)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

118 - 124 of 1,151 reviews

Reviewed 12 January 2012

Might not be the newest hotel (most of the hotel in Sao Paulo anyway are not that new anyway) but it is comfortable and the staff is friendly; so if you need to stay in that part of the city is a good choice. I had some problem with the room key which had to be reset few times but apart from that everything went smoothly. The bar and the restaurant overlook the garden which is quite nice. Breakfast and lunch are reasonably varied and I tried they local specialty "feijoada" and I thought it was quite tasty as it is also the "caipirinha" at the bar.

Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
Thank F1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hoteistransamerica, Quality at Hotel Transamerica Sao Paulo, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2012

Thank you for your comment. We are very grateful to know that our rooms and our employees were able to provide you a pleasant experience. Our Food & Beverage area does the best to attend all the needs of our guests.We are sorry for the problems with our room key, but it is aproblem, because it demagnetized if its in contact with electronics.Thank you again for using a little of your time to talk about the Hotel Transamerica São Paulo. We hope to welcome you again soon.
Graciously.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2012

This is a lovely hotel with really lovely big rooms with lots of facilities. Unfortunately it is let down by a very monotonous and poor quality breakfast and a lot of trainee staff who are bordering on incompetence at times. I'd recommend that if you stay here you book room only. The location means there are plenty of local places that have good breakfast. Sao Paulo has a fantastic availability of exotic and varied fruits and it is such a shame that the hotel does not promote the local produce. The rooftop pool is very small

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Von1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hoteistransamerica, Quality at Hotel Transamerica Sao Paulo, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2012

First of all, thank you for your comment and for your stay in our Hotel. We regret the fact that our services have not fully met your expectations. Our employees have been reoriented.
However, allow us to say that our breakfast is composed by a great variety of sweet breads, snacks, cakes, muffins, croissants, waffles, omelettes made ​​on time, Beiju, pastry omelet, sausages, bacon, french toast, scrambled eggs, fruit variety and cold juices etc. Please, accept our sincere apologizes for the nuisance. We hope see you again in the Hotel Transamérica São Paulo.
Cordially.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2011

Very comfortable. Bed was spacious. Bathroom was large and clean. Conference rooms and catering was excellent. Security perimeter made me feel safe.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SR-1007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hoteistransamerica, Quality at Hotel Transamerica Sao Paulo, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2012

We were very flattered to receive your kind comments ,as it shows us that our efforts are resulting in the offering of a complete quality experience.Thank you for your review. We hope to welcome you again soon to Hotel Transamérica .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2011

Great people, lost my luggage and the folks bent over backwards to help me out,a little over priced for what you get, but if you want safety and security this is a spot i would recommend!

Room Tip: Go the the restaurants around the corner at Morambi square, much better food for the value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vanleppard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hoteistransamerica, Quality at Hotel Transamerica Sao Paulo, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2012

Thank you for expressing your opinion regarding your recent stay. We are sorry that this unexpected fact happened. We hope you have had a good time in our hotel. Thank you so much for your recommendation. Your feedback was really appreciated by our team. It will be a pleasure to have you back .
Cordially.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2011

As many years before I booked a room in Transamerica when visiting an annual conference. It is a great business hotel. But since last year something was different. There is a lot more traffic in Sao Paulo and on Marginal the traffic continues all night long. The single-glass windows of Transamerica do not hold the noise. Even sleeping with ear plugs was difficult. The traffic noise was overwhelming. The hotel needs to get soundproof windows.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank papermaker1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thiago D, Quality at Hotel Transamerica Sao Paulo, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2011

Dear guest,
First of all we would like to thank you for the comment, the fidelity and for your return after years. Unfortunately the traffic in São Paulo tends to grow up more, and is lamentable that we can not do anything to improve it. About the noise , the windows are reducer of sound, however there are some moments in the day that the noise is inevitable, due to the peak time. But we are looking for improvements to better serve our clients. We hope to welcome you back to Hotel Transamerica.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

This hotel is where you want to stay if you are there on business. It is close to one of the city's business districts and not a bad area overall. The hotel is clean and nice, the lobby presentable and the staff friendly. The rooms are a clean and decent sized and everything is clean. My personal stay here was pleasant and for a week, this place served as my business travel needs sufficiently. The WiFi connection was not strong, so I had to tether in, but that is not uncommon in hotels in this part of the world.

I would recommend this hotel for a business stay, but not an ideal place for vacation. Make sure you have transportation, as getting around from this location is difficult and costly. Overall, a pleasant experience.

Room Tip: High floors facing south offer spectacular views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank apocalypse10k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thiago D, Quality at Hotel Transamerica Sao Paulo, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2011

Dear Guest, thank you for taking part of your time to write about us.
It is a really pleasure to know about our guests thoughts. It is very satisfying to answer all the necessities of our customers . We would like to have the grace of your presence one more time soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sao Paulo hotels
Grand Hyatt Sao Paulo
#5 of 328 in Sao Paulo
3,624 reviews
Hilton Sao Paulo Morumbi
#11 of 328 in Sao Paulo
2,961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mercure Sao Paulo Nacoes Unidas
#133 of 328 in Sao Paulo
552 reviews
Vila Mariana
Pullman Sao Paulo Ibirapuera
Bela Vista
Maksoud Plaza
Maksoud Plaza
#30 of 328 in Sao Paulo
2,823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Transamerica Sao Paulo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Transamerica Sao Paulo

Address: Avenida das Nacoes Unidas 18591, Sao Paulo, State of Sao Paulo 04795-901, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Sao Paulo > Sao Paulo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Sao Paulo
#15 Luxury Hotel in Sao Paulo
#39 Romantic Hotel in Sao Paulo
Price Range: £82 - £177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Transamerica Sao Paulo 4.5*
Number of rooms: 396
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Considered the only urban resort of the city, the Hotel Transamerica São Paulo is the perfect combination of comfort, sophistication and tranquility for those who travel for business or leisure. Renown for its incomparable hospitality, the Transamérica São Paulo offers comfortable lodgings and excellence in service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Transamerica Sao Paulo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Transamerica Sao Paulo Hotel Sao Paulo
Transamerica Hotel Sao Paulo
Hotel Transamerica Sao Paulo Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing