We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Plaza Inn American Loft
Ranked #40 of 328 Hotels in Sao Paulo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We spent couple of months in this hotel, for business and it was a really bad experience.
The attention is regular and the rooms are extremly noisy. Every night we hear the soccer players in the stadium located in front of the hotel, until 11 pm. The room service is not very good, they didnt clean the room very well and sometimes they placed in the bath old and broken towels.
The location is extremly bad, you only have a small shopping center in the corner of the same street.
Not recomendable at all.

Room Tip: All the rooms are in front of the Palmeiras Stadium
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Elvira R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlazaInnAmerican, General Manager at Plaza Inn American Loft, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2013

Dear Elvira

Sorry for the bad impression we spent with our service.
Rest assured that we will strive to improve it every day.
When you return to São paulo, please give us the opportunity to show the real quality of our service.

Graciously

Renata Lima

General Manager Plaza Inn American Loft

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (455)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

15 - 21 of 455 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2013

This was a Customer Assigned Hotel for a 2 week Business Stay. The Front Desk Staff is friendly and helpful, and they speak English. The housekeeping staff was top notch.

Rooms are fairly large with all tile floors. Small Kitchen with Fridge, Microwave, Sink, Stove, Dishwasher, and an expensive mini bar.

Small table, and a very tiny work desk. The table was better for working. Large, wall mounted flat screen TV with about 60 channels. 4 are occasionally in English. The free internet is very slow and Secure E-Mails are rejected by the outgoing server. I had to use my Web based e-mail accounts during the stay. Also, you can only use 1 device at a time. If I logged in on my lap top, and then logged in on my Android phone, my lap top would log out. It was a real pain in the butt.

The bed was comfortable, but sleep was nearly impossible because of the noise. There is a sports stadium across the street with something going on almost every night. Traffic noise is terrible. Car horns, people screaming, and occasional fireworks. It lasts well into the night. Noise usually doesn’t bother me, but this was the worst I’ve ever experienced.

The Bathroom is very small. Not much larger than one in an aircraft. If you’re a larger person, you won’t fit through the shower stall door. Hot water is warm. Cold water only in the sink. Shaving with cold water was a real downer.

They have an on site Restaurant, but I didn't eat there for dinner.

Breakfast was included in the room price, and was pretty good. South American Style, of course, and quite complete. I enjoyed it.

It wasn’t great, but you can have a decent stay, if you wear earplugs at night, can tolerate cold water, and use a bathroom the size of a Porta John.

Room Tip: There are no Quiet rooms. All rooms face the street with the sports arena across the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JimDavisHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

My overall stay was fine. The staff were very professional and helpful. My inability to speak Portuguese wasn't an issue as they had staff who could speak English. The room and the hotel in general looked like it could use some maintenance. The lights in the hallways turn off when no motion is detected but two of the lights leading up to my room at the end of the hall were burned out or not working so I was walking in the dark to get to my room door. Inside the room the bed was comfortable and the place was clean but the couch and chairs were old and stained so I didn't use them. The hotel is across the street from a sports complex and the windows didn't keep any of the noise out. I really couldn't notice much of a drop in the noise level with them closed as opposed to open. The floors throughout the room are tile. There is a large shopping mall with plenty of food choices across the street as well.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013

Hotel is best for business travelers. Basic and simple. Decent restaurant (carb fest!) Gym is ok. Tiny pool.
Hated that the hotel is right in front of a huge brazilian football stadium. If you are a football fan, you might be OK, but if there is a game and even if there is no game, but that club is playing elsewhere, thousands will gather near this stadium and on certain night you will not sleep until 3am. Gets very loud as they chant and sing making a big ruckus! I hated all that noise when I was trying to sleep. Front desk staff is quite helpful and friendly and can speak English. busy street due to large shopping mall across the street. There is a good grocery store inside the Mall.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DeckerJRT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2012

The hotel is very average and absolutely nothing special - a hotel without soul.

The rooms to the street are very noisy all day and night.

Breakfast is descent and served until 10:30.

I happy to announce that the air-condition in room 304 is working, but not so pleased to say that it is one of the rooms facing the street (and unequal numbers the other way).

Few of the staff speaks English.

The hotel has 2 lifts, so be prepared to wait.

And would I stay here again ... let me say that I will try my outmost not to, it is simply too boring.



BTW - I checked in at 9:00 am and they charged me about 140 for 1 day extra.

Room Tip: If you want to sleep quietly, then chosse a room facing away from the street. Or higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VonLindegaard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2012

I've stayed at Plaza Inn a couple of times, mostly because it's conveniently located near some of my friends, so it gives me the ability to be near my them but also gives me some privacy.

Plaza Inn is not a hotel, it's a flat. People own the rooms, and Plaza Inn rents them out.
Some people live there full time.

The room had wifi and the bed was comfortable. It's in a pretty quiet area at night.

The good:
It has a little kitchen with a microwave oven, a stove and a refrigerator.
It's nearly across the street from a huge supermarket/shopping mall, so you can fill your fridge with fruit.
It's across the street from Palmeiras (a big soccer team in Sao Paulo). If you're staying here, definitely talk to the people at the club about coming in and checking out this place.
It has its own parking garage.

The bad:
The area is not very populated at night, and it's not the kind of place you would want to be walking around after hours.
It's not really near anything else besides a couple of sports club and the shopping mall. The subway is a 15 minutes walk, but at night you should take a cab.
No good restaurants within a couple of miles.

I feel this flat is too expensive for what you get out of it, but if you have to be in the Pompeia area it's good enough.

Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
Thank Keith A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Unbelievable poor property; the Air condition doesn't work... (In any room) they'll finally tell you that what they have is just an air blower... but in a couple of months they'll have AC.
The surroundings are not the best, and having the Bourbon shopping nearby doesn't give a real upside to this Hotel.
Breakfast, weak for the Sao Paulo standard and the cleanliness of the restaurant needs a lot of improvement... (Tables are sticky an dirty)
Be aware don't go there...

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marlecz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sao Paulo hotels
0.6 mi away
ibis Styles Barra Funda
ibis Styles Barra Funda
#106 of 328 in Sao Paulo
243 reviews
0.9 mi away
Be Hotel
Be Hotel
#91 of 328 in Sao Paulo
185 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel Panamby Sao Paulo
Hotel Panamby Sao Paulo
#24 of 328 in Sao Paulo
562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Adagio Sao Paulo Barra Funda
Adagio Sao Paulo Barra Funda
#161 of 328 in Sao Paulo
26 reviews
1.4 mi away
Travel Inn Conde Luciano
Travel Inn Conde Luciano
#160 of 328 in Sao Paulo
283 reviews
1.7 mi away
Higienopolis Hotel & Suites
Higienopolis Hotel & Suites
#220 of 328 in Sao Paulo
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaza Inn American Loft? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Inn American Loft

Address: Rua Palestra Italia 263, Sao Paulo, State of Sao Paulo 05005-030, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Sao Paulo > Sao Paulo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#111 Business Hotel in Sao Paulo
Price Range: £58 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Plaza Inn American Loft 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In an extended stay, whatever the guest wants is to feel at home. To meet the comfort needs of your guests, the Plaza Inn American Loft prepared a fully functional structure that exudes modernity and security in a aconchegante.Localizado in a prime area of ​​Sao Paulo in the neighborhood of Jardins, the environment is close to important leisure venues and the city. Antarctica Park Convention Center Pompeii, White Water Business Center, Expo Center, Memorial da America Latina, SESC Pompeia and Bourbon Mall are some of the points that can be accessed in a few minutos.E to enjoy the best of Sao Paulo, the business or pleasure, the Plaza Inn American Loft offers its customers a full gym, swimming pool with panoramic views, sauna and ample parking included in diaria.Fique comfortable in the Plaza Inn American Loft. After all, you are in your home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Plaza Inn American Loft reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Inn American Loft Sao Paulo, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing