We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location: Terrible Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tryp Sao Paulo Itaim Hotel
Ranked #116 of 326 Hotels in Sao Paulo
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 31 August 2011

I’ve stayed in a few Tryp hotels in this area of Sao Paulo and most gave a good return for the money. But this hotel cleanly breaks from that theme and is not at all well run. A shame as its location is fantastic, set on a quiet side street dotted with great hotels and bars.

The check in was painfully slow. I reminded the clerk three times I needed a non smoking room which he readily agreed to. Of course when I got to my room it was a smoking room. Trying to get this corrected at the front desk caused complete confusion. I could have asked them to telepathically transport me to Neptune and gotten the same reaction.

The room I was given had just about everything broken that could be. Lights burned out in the bathroom, towel rack falling off the wall, no slippers (Tryps always have these) and the alarm clock was broken and could not be set. The bath towels were so course they could plausibly be used to grind down raw stone. The rooftop gym had no towels (just a paper towel rack).

In the morning I went to the coffee bar and asked for a coffee. Crazy me. More confusion. Lots of hissing and clanking from the espresso machine and after ten minutes I received an ice cold cup of coffee. When I brought this up, the coffee bar person just shrugged and smiled. Either the machine did not work or he was not trained to run it.

At checkout the final insult: I had paid for the upgraded deluxe room which at other Tryps includes internet and breakfast. Not so at this doghouse. It was not included.

Tryp should either sell off this property or remove the manager and bring in someone who pays attention to the details. I stay in hotels around the world and this is one of the most poorly run ever. Too bad as it has potential.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ElvisPWorldwide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (551)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

40 - 46 of 551 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2011

Tryp hotels use to be a perfect option for business people by a decent value.
Tryp Itaim is more expensive than it should be.
A normal hotel, but in a fantastic location.
The best way to stay in Tryp Itaim is to book in advance (cheaper) and forget all the extras: take breakfast outside and buy some water in any other place.
And enjoy the dream quality you will have.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Billybrazil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2011

The Tryp Itaim is located in a very nice spot in the district of Itaim Bibi in São Paulo. In theory its location is near to main exits of the district going to most important parts of the city: South to Av. Brigadeiro Faria Lima (and then Marginal Pinheiros, Tietê e exit from São Paulo); North to Av. 9 de Julho (to downtown) and Av. Santo Amaro (and then to Airport of Congonhas). But in reality the transit is awful at rush hour. The good news is if your commitments are near the district it will make your life much easier. Mainly, if you're for leisure, you'll be at walking distance from some of the best restaurants in the city at for the district of Vila Olimpia, with various bars and dancing clubs.

For the Hotel itself, it is a comfortable hotel, with nice and just renewed facilities (at least, in common areas). The standard rooms have the appearance of being quite old, but this is due to the old carpet still used. It seems that the executive and luxury rooms (which are more expensive) don’t have it anymore. But, even with carpet, the room is well cleaned and the bed is very comfortable and big. Furniture is in really good condition and the amenities of bathroom are good also. You have a nice desk in the room to work and cable TV with international channels. The rooms just lack of two things: (a) a silent air conditioning and (b) iron and iron board for clothes (I tend to compare the Hotels of same standard with the Hotel Quality, which has iron and it is very useful for business travelers).

In general, it has a regular value for money comparable with similar rated Hotels in the city. I just think that the breakfast should be less expensive (though it is a nice continental type with fruits, juice, “carbs” and integral options) and the Hotel charges 10% of service.

Room Tip: Try the SolMeliá website first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DinhoAlves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2011

Great location. Pleasant environment. Courteous staff. Spacious room. Comfortable bed. Good night’s sleep. Nice work desk. Sizable closet. Perfect shower.
The air-conditioner was a bit noisy though but effective. Tv was an outdated one. They should totally move to flat screens or at least the new crt’s.
Didn’t use the gym or the pool which was on the top floor and totally regret it. As a terrace pool it was amazing.
Front desk was courteous and friendly although English can be a bit of a challenge depending on who is on duty.
Cabs available right outside which was super convenient.
Lot of restaurants around this location including some vegetarian options.
Felt totally safe to walk around in this area.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wannabrb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2011

I spend two nights at the Tryp Itaim during a business trip to Sao Paulo. I chose it for its location -close to Faria Lima avenue, a few minutes walk from many of the most important companies in the city.

As I said, the location is very convenient although the hotel is in a dark, narrow street without much to do or see. Not the best option if you're a tourist, but OK for business.

I didn't see much of the hotel other of my room. I booked a Premium room so it was more up to date than the standard ones; however, nothing fancy. It was quite small, the bed was good but nothing extraordinary and the bathroom was well appointed, but also small. A good range of toiletries was added nice touch. Anyway, the only thing I really liked about the room was that it had a balcony with a nice street view, in the 13th floor.

Another thing I liked was complimentary wifi connection in the room. It was OK for e-mail or other basic tasks.

I asked for room service once and it was quite good -reasonable variety, open 24 hours, fast service, average prices for Sao Paulo.

I don't have much to say about general service. It was average, although check out took longer than expected because there was only one employee at 'rush hour' (8.30-9am).

I would probably stay here again but I know there are many better places to stay in the same area.

Room Tip: Basic business hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MartinAdrogué
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2008

Of the three brother hotels next of Av. João Cachoeira (nice spot in the neighborhood of Itaim Bibi, São Paulo), this is the poorer one.

Overall experience was dated.... rooms with cigar smell, fungus, bad and noisy air conditioning. Bathroom cramped. All looked dated and dirty.

Attendance was poor too. I almost always stay at Itaim Bibi when travelling to São Paulo. I do like this region, so I reviewed the 3 hotels of Meliá chain which are very next to each other. For the price you pay for this one, you should choose Itaim Jesuino, one block away. If you wanna spend a little more, walk one more block and go to Melia Jardim Europa.

In fact, Tryp Itaim is my last choice, when nothing else is avalible, due to the hight occupany rate in this region.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Antonio_Borba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2007

Tryp is part of the Sol Melia chain and falls in the middle of their range of hotels. This place is smallish--approx 150 rooms but spacious
with large king sized beds or two double beds in the room.

The hotel is in the Itaim neighborhood of Sao Paulo. This isn't the greatest neighborhood if you're a tourist or its your first time in Sao Paulo. The area is kinda far from the subway and points of interest like Avenida Paulista and the Centro. However, Itaim is a very nice, upscale, safe neighborhood with a lot of great restaurants in the area and very walkable.

The hotel is a gym and pool up on the roof. It's a cool view from up there. The gym equipment could use some maintenance but was workable.

You can book this online. I got a great rate--about 120 reais per night in Nov 2007

Stayed: November 2007
1  Thank thomashobbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sao Paulo hotels
Itaim Bibi
TRYP Sao Paulo Jesuino Arruda
TRYP Sao Paulo Jesuino Arruda
#54 of 326 in Sao Paulo
574 reviews
Itaim Bibi
Tryp Sao Paulo Iguatemi Hotel
Tryp Sao Paulo Iguatemi Hotel
#29 of 326 in Sao Paulo
687 reviews
Itaim Bibi
Ramada Suites Sao Paulo Itaim Bibi Newciti
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Itaim Bibi
Adagio Sao Paulo Itaim Bibi
Adagio Sao Paulo Itaim Bibi
#108 of 326 in Sao Paulo
311 reviews
Itaim Bibi
The Capital Sao Paulo Itaim
The Capital Sao Paulo Itaim
#66 of 326 in Sao Paulo
906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tryp Sao Paulo Itaim Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tryp Sao Paulo Itaim Hotel

Address: Rua Manuel Guedes 320, Sao Paulo, State of Sao Paulo 04904-240, Brazil
Phone Number:
Region: Brazil > State of Sao Paulo > Sao Paulo > Itaim Bibi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Green Hotel in Sao Paulo
#92 Business Hotel in Sao Paulo
Price Range: £55 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tryp Sao Paulo Itaim Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 142
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Melia, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Tryp Sao Paulo Itaim Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tryp Itaim Hotel Sao Paulo
Tryp Sao Paulo Itaim Hotel Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing