We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location and great staff... but...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tryp Sao Paulo Itaim Hotel
Ranked #116 of 326 Hotels in Sao Paulo
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Location couldn't be better! Cute neighborhood with everything at an arm's length... A variety of restaurants and many tea and coffee shops in walking distance. The staff was very friendly, and the breakfast was delicious! However, the room could have been better. No coffee machine in my room - only for "superior" guests. Also, my phone rang at 10pm every night during my stay - only a dial tone when I picked up. Very irritating when you're on a business trip and need your sleep! There was mold growing on the walls in my room - in both the bathroom and by my air conditioner. The gym was minimal, but the outside pool was very beautiful and well kept. This hotel has an excellent price for the location. However, I may try another hotel somewhere in the same neighborhood next time.

Room Tip: It'll be worth the little bit extra in price - go with a superior room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camila_TrypI, General Manager at Tryp Sao Paulo Itaim Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2013

Dear Mrs. Ashley thank you for choosing the TRYP Itaim as your stay in Sao Paulo. And we take this opportunity to thank your comments, which contribute to improve our services. We apologize for the problem with the phone and the room. All your observations will be taken into consideration and forwarded to the Head of Maintenance and the Head of Front Desk. We would like to inform you that besides the "TRYP" rooms which will be renovated, we have the "Premium" rooms equipped with exclusive bed, Trussardi bed linen, bathrobes, slippers, outstanding amenities, ironing kit, kit coffee / tea with electric kettle, oversized shower, air conditioning and heating. And we still have the “Duplex Suites” which offer all the items of the "Premium" rooms, plus a living room, toilet and balcony with or without external jacuzzi. We hope to have the opportunity to receive you again in the TRYP Itaim! Regards, Camila Butti – Tryp Itaim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (550)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

30 - 36 of 550 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2013

The hotel is quite good, the bedroom is comfortable and clean, king size bed, assorted breakfast (breads, fruits, cake, eggs, cheeses etc), well located.
But there is one huge problem: the bedroom door's lock is very noise. It is impossible to close the door without make a loud noise. And, on top of that, the corridor floor has a kind of material that make lots of noise if you are not wearing either a tennis shoe or a soft sole shoe. So, after 7:00 am, when people start to wake up and walk around, it's impossible to sleep. For me, this is hell.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claudia O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camila_TrypI, General Manager at Tryp Sao Paulo Itaim Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013

Dear Mrs. Claudia thank you for choosing the Tryp Itaim as your stay in Sao Paulo. We are glad to know you liked our rooms, breakfast and location. And we take this opportunity to thank your comments, which contribute to improve our services. We apologize for the problem with the noise. All your observations will be taken into consideration and forwarded to the Head of Maintenance. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again at TRYP Itaim! Regards, Camila Butti – Tryp Itaim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Can I say 'Great' anymore times!!?? But that truly was my experience at this Hotel.
Sao Paolo is not for the 'faint-hearted'. It is a massive city and the traffic is legendary. But in the area, called Itaim and being in this Hotel, it was a retreat of calmness against the backdrop of sheer chaos, in the rest of the City.
The Hotel is in a great, safe area. Reminded me of the Upper West Side of Manhattan. Lots of small shops, great restaurants, shopping in walking distance. Very upscale residents and the young, hip and beautiful at the clubs and bars. There is a fabulous Park ( Ibirapuera Park) about a three kilometer walk from the Hotel. Just beautiful, safe to walk too and packed on the weekends. Lots of fun!!
I stayed on the 16th floor, great view, room was spacious, big bed, comfortable with all the amenities. Nice touch with the robes and slippers. Nice LCD, work table, coffee maker and very fast WiFi. Nice pool and gym on the roof.
The Hotel is beautifully kept, staff extremely helpful. The breakfast buffet was fantastic, what a spread, even having an omelette station.
And the price, was very reasonable for all that's included and considering the area.
All in all, GREAT time!! Would diffidently stay here again and recommend it highly to all.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EliF57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camila_TrypI, General Manager at Tryp Sao Paulo Itaim Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2013

MR. EliF57, We would like to thank for your review on Trip Advisor, we were extremely pleased with your comments about the hotel and our service. We were glad to know that you liked our room, breakfast and fitness center. We hope to see you soon in our hotel. Best regards, Camila Butti - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2013

Well, there`s nothing special abour the hotel, it`s comfortable and good located with nice staff but no different from any other. Besides, I experienced some problems during the stay.
The light in my room didn´t work just the next day after arrival! So I had to change the room!!! (that means, pack all my belongings again!)
The cleaning service: touched and changed the position of my clothes too much, came several times very early (9 in the morning) while I was still in bed.
The guarantee method upon arrival doesn`t work! The recepcionists told me that the money was just frozen at my account but in reality it was a payment, so i still haven`t got my money back (250 reals)!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank prekrasnayaTonya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camila_TrypI, General Manager at Tryp Sao Paulo Itaim Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2013

Mrs. prekrasnayaTonya, we would like to thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. Our guest’s opinions are very important for us because we can know in what we have to work and provide the service better. We are glad to know you think our hotel comfortable. We apologize for the problem in the room and maid service. All your observations will be taken into consideration and forwarded to the respective heads of the departments involved Housekeeping and Maintenance. As we speak to you in person and by e-mail we did a pre-authorization on your card to guarantee possible extras as the standard of our company. Upon check out the pre authorization has been canceled. We are waiting for your e-mail with credit card information to check with the card provider what happened. We hope to have the opportunity to receive you again in the Tryp Itaim soon! Regards, Camila Butti – Tryp Itaim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2013

I stayed here for several nights in March on a study abroad trip with my MBA program. Rooms were decent, and they have an ok fitness center on the top floor. Breakfast was included every day and offered a wide variety of healthy food which was nice.

My only gripe is that the front desk staff need more training. They were very confused when I asked them questions about my reservation and inquired about my bill. Overall, not the best, but a decent stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank morocjaim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camila_TrypI, General Manager at Tryp Sao Paulo Itaim Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2013

Dear Mr. morocjaim, thank you for your review about our hotel on Tripadvisor. We are glad to know you liked our rooms, breakfast and fitness center. We would like to inform you that we checked the type of payment for your reservation and it was done exactly as requested by the head of your group. Sorry for our front desk service does not have surpassed your expectations. We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you soon at TRYP Itaim on your next visit to Sao Paulo! Sincerely, Camilla Butti - General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2013

Stayed 3 nights here and had a deluxe twin room. The room is adequately spaced, large cupboard, comfy beds, but quite small bathroom and shower. Most importantly though the room is nicely maintained clean.
Receptionists and other staff are nice, attentive and friendly, speaks English well. There's always a taxi standing by outside whenever you need one most of the time. Reserved for a taxi to go to the airport at the reception for 1am morning, ... came down at 12.30 to check out and realized the taxi was not even there. The late night shift at reception had no idea about the booking made by the afternoon staff. Thankfully there is the meter taxi standing by outside. Breakfast spread and taste is rather poor, I must say. There's a few places for better breakfast nearby just a few steps away. Great location, walking distance to a lot of nice restaurants, supermarket, pharmacy, bars, anything!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarahpangkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camila_TrypI, General Manager at Tryp Sao Paulo Itaim Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2013

Dear Mrs. SaraPangkey thank you for choosing the Tryp Itaim as your stay in Sao Paulo. And we take this opportunity to thank your comments, which contribute to improve our services. We apologize for not fully meet your expectations. We are taking the necessary measures to improve this aspect in your hosting next. So that we can improve our services, if you wish, please send us your suggestions for e-mail: chefservicos.itaim@tryphotels.com.br we would be pleased to hear it. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again at Tryp Itaim soon! Sincerely, Camila Butti – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2012

Almost every time I am in Sao Paulo I stay here. Neighborhood is quite fine, with lot of choices for dinning. This hotel is not impressive but it is very well located, price is reasonable, service is excellent, and staff is very helpful.

Stayed: November 2012
Thank RafaR273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camila_TrypI, General Manager at Tryp Sao Paulo Itaim Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2012

Dear Mr. Rafa R we would like to thank your comments about your stay with us. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again at Tryp Itaim soon! Sincerely, Camila Butti – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sao Paulo hotels
Itaim Bibi
TRYP Sao Paulo Jesuino Arruda
TRYP Sao Paulo Jesuino Arruda
#54 of 326 in Sao Paulo
573 reviews
Itaim Bibi
Tryp Sao Paulo Iguatemi Hotel
Tryp Sao Paulo Iguatemi Hotel
#28 of 326 in Sao Paulo
686 reviews
Itaim Bibi
Ramada Suites Sao Paulo Itaim Bibi Newciti
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Itaim Bibi
Adagio Sao Paulo Itaim Bibi
Adagio Sao Paulo Itaim Bibi
#107 of 326 in Sao Paulo
310 reviews
Itaim Bibi
The Capital Sao Paulo Itaim
The Capital Sao Paulo Itaim
#64 of 326 in Sao Paulo
906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tryp Sao Paulo Itaim Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tryp Sao Paulo Itaim Hotel

Address: Rua Manuel Guedes 320, Sao Paulo, State of Sao Paulo 04904-240, Brazil
Phone Number:
Region: Brazil > State of Sao Paulo > Sao Paulo > Itaim Bibi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Green Hotel in Sao Paulo
#92 Business Hotel in Sao Paulo
Price Range: £54 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tryp Sao Paulo Itaim Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 142
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Melia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tryp Sao Paulo Itaim Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tryp Itaim Hotel Sao Paulo
Tryp Sao Paulo Itaim Hotel Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing