We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable business hotel and fair price for the area”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Gran Estanplaza Berrini
Ranked #10 of 326 Hotels in Sao Paulo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 July 2013

I arrived at this hotel on a Sunday evening and it was dead - you could sit in the restaurant alone or order room service but it was a ghost hotel. By Monday the place was buzzing so this is clearly a Mon-Fri business hotel.

Having stayed in other hotels locally I find this to be the best - the rooms are clean, beds comfortable, nice real wooden floors, good quiet aircon, bathrooms are a little dated but are fine, good lighting and free internet which is a reasonable speed.

For a business hotel there is no ironing facilities in the room and you have to send your shirt to be pressed which is overpriced and frustrating.

The breakfast buffet was also very good - many choices and slightly strangely a live musician playing the piano.

The TV is a little small and only a couple of English channels but that for me was not a problem.

There is a gym on the top floor which is good although the swimming pool is tiny and I don't think anyone would both using it.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loungeseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (774)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

117 - 123 of 774 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2013

A good location is important in Sao Paulo, given that it's a huge, sprawling and traffic-congested city. So, make sure your destination is not too far from this neighborhood. The first morning I stayed here I was awaken not by my alarm clock but by a helicopter landing on the roof of an adjacent hotel (here's how the truly privileged commute in this city). Safety is an issue in most of Sao Paulo. I felt perfectly safe walking across the street to the WTC shopping center (which has a couple of OK food choices) but it was a bit disconcerting when my friend picked me up in his armored BMW for a drive to dinner 3 blocks away. That's perhaps overkill, but do keep your wits about you. For my needs, this hotel served me well. I found the service prompt and courteous, and the doorman especially helpful in helping taxis get me to my destination.

My room was clean and comfortable but I found the pool and athletic areas a bit worn and unattractive. There are nicer hotels in the area - the Hilton Morumbi where I stayed during my previous trip has a terrific pool if that's important to you. But on this trip, the Gran Estanplaza was less expensive and an overall good experience.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Equities4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

We spent a week here and I'd recommend it especially to those running informal business meetings
The rooms are a bit small but the location is great, walking distance to main mall and good restaurants
B.fast was very good and we also had couple af lunches here we've enjoyed
One of the few hotels in Brazil that had a decent wifi ...and when you're working this is top notch

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Duridaridu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2013

Most hotels in Sao Paulo are 1960's ugly but the Gran Estan Plaza has an elegant French style on the outside with a nice Art Deco on the inside. The staff is very friendly and speak English. Brazil's customer service is usually as bad as France's so this Hotel was a pleasant surprise and a good experience. I stayed 3 nights and look forward to my return. However, don't be the ugly American who wears jeans and a t-shirt as that makes us all look bad.

Room Tip: A great gym is on the 17th floor so higher floors are better to be closer if you want to work out a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Vince B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

If you are a business traveler, do not stay here. No irons in room, none available in hotel. Shower water heat varies significanty, do avoid being burned you must alternate between cold and very cold. Dirty towels in bathroom upon arrival. The kicker? After alerting the front desk to these issues, no action was taken. I had to ask again for new towels. On check-out - no inquiry as to quality of stay. Why am I not rating this one star? Area is safe and accessible to commercial buildings.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Estanplaza H, Gerente geral at Gran Estanplaza Berrini, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2013
Google Translation

Prezado Sr. Thomas,

A Rede Estanplaza lamenta pelos episódios ocorridos durante sua estadia em nossa unidade Gran Estanplaza.

Gostaríamos de informar que temos disponível ferro e tábua de passar mediante solicitação, na recepção do hotel. Quanto ao problema com a temperatura da água do chuveiro e a questão sobre as toalhas em estado impróprio, iremos verificar para que não ocorra novamente.

No entanto, é nosso desejo e missão superar as expectativas de nossos hóspedes oferecendo excelência de atendimento, proporcionando os melhores serviços aos clientes.

Esperamos recebê-lo novamente em uma outra oportunidade.

A Rede Estanplaza agradece pela preferência e confiança.

Cordialmente,

Gustavo Granatta
Gerente Geral

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2013

So this place is cheaper than many of the local alternates (Sheraton across the street and Hyatt a block away) but that is because you get what you pay for, and in this case it is not much.
The rooms are of a decent size and the beds are comfy. The bathrooms are small and daggy but functional. The hotel is not so Grand as the name suggests despite the elegant facade (the official pictures of the exterior are deliberately photo-shopped which is always a bad sign). The communual breakfast area is much like the food it serves (bleak and cold) and one side of the property currently overlooks a building site where they are working late shifts to try and get things finished for the World Cup.
But worst of all the check in / check out experience is as bad as it gets. Usually when they provide chairs at reception it is to recognize honoured guests. Here it is because they know you will pass out if you have to stand through the whole process - they really should provide beds or a movie.
The wine is overpriced, you can literally buy the whole wine list at the adjoining shop for half the price, and they had the nerve to try and charge me for ice.
So if your company is trying to cut costs you will probably end up here. If you have a choice, go somewhere else.

Room Tip: Ask for one at the Hyatt.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gustypants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Estanplaza H, Gerente geral at Gran Estanplaza Berrini, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2013
Google Translation

A Rede Estanplaza, em resposta a ocorrência feita pelo hóspede, gostaria de reforçar que a cobrança do vinho servido no restaurante possui um acréscimo no valor, se comparado com o preço da loja, em virtude de nosso Restaurante reunir um serviço e atendimento únicos realizado por profissionais e uma estrutura adequada para garantir comodidade, bem-estar e conforto ao cliente.

Att

Abel Feris
Gerente Geral

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2013

Ben here for a few nights in April, and really liked it, but it has its flaws.
First of all the position is perfect for a business trip, it's central and only a few minutes away (depending on traffic) from the Rochaverà Corporate Towers.
The whole environment is very elegant and old style (wrought iron, brass, marble, parquet, etc.), always soft music playing (often with live piano player as during breakfast). Hotel staff is excellent and up to the task, always very kind and helpful.
I was only on the 3rd floor, yet it was a business room, with studio and bedroom in separate areas: all wooden furniture and parquet, two tv sets, nice bathroom (although not as spacious as many Hilton), comfortable bedroom. My room had also a very nice and wide balcony.
In-room dining was OK, nothing special, but prices were OK.

R$700 per night is too much in my opinion, but Brazil is getting more and more expensive these days (upcoming World Cup + Olympics).

Flaw #1: internet connection is to be paid separately (which might be OK), and it's crap. Reception in the room is poor and the speed is appalling.
Flaw #2: Bathroom could be bigger and the shower was not working perfectly.
Flaw #3: in-room dining was not the best experience ever... decent food, nothing more than that.

Room Tip: Try to get a room in a higher floor, the area around the hotel has a lot of traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GiorgioC256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sao Paulo hotels
Grand Hyatt Sao Paulo
#5 of 326 in Sao Paulo
3,429 reviews
Hilton Sao Paulo Morumbi
#11 of 326 in Sao Paulo
2,812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vila Mariana
Pullman Sao Paulo Ibirapuera
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Estanplaza Berrini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Estanplaza Berrini

Address: Rua Arizona 1517, Sao Paulo, State of Sao Paulo 04567-003, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Sao Paulo > Sao Paulo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Sao Paulo
#9 Romantic Hotel in Sao Paulo
#10 Luxury Hotel in Sao Paulo
#39 Family Hotel in Sao Paulo
Price Range: £58 - £367 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gran Estanplaza Berrini 4*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Combining a classic architecture with rich and unique Brazilian decoration in the middle of Berrini and Nacoes Unidas Avenues, the Gran Estanplaza Berrini has become the newest benchmark in service refinement in Sao Paulo. Its touch of opulence and charm fascinate the most sophisticated guests. Ideal for business travelers, the hotel offers a full structure of services and facilities such as workstation with high speed internet in all rooms, DVD, central air- conditioning, 2 balconies in each room, sitting area, cable TV, marble bathroom, business center and 24 hour room service. Featuring the fitnmess centre the guests can enjoy all the facilities of an urban Spa, such as massage, sauna, yoga and relaxing sessions without leaving the hotel. Enjoy the library with fireplace or the happy hour at the European- style cafe after having a nice dinner at the Paillard Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gran Estanplaza Berrini reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Estanplaza Sao Paulo Hotel Sao Paulo
Gran Estanplaza Hotel Sao Paulo
Gran Estanplaza Berrini Sao Paulo, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing