We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Estanplaza Funchal”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Estanplaza Funchal - Faria Lima
Ranked #22 of 321 Hotels in Sao Paulo
Certificate of Excellence
Belgium
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Estanplaza Funchal”
Reviewed 21 December 2012

Mediocre hotel, good for (business) stay for more then 3 nights max.
Rooms are do-able, bathroom is small and not always very clean - particularly the shower area.
Restaurant food is poor to average.
Staff is friendly but not really "guest minded".

Room Tip: Book room - street view with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eddy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Estanplaza H, Gerente geral at Estanplaza Funchal - Faria Lima, responded to this review, 10 January 2013
Good afternoon,

It was an enormous pleasure to have had you at Estanplaza Funchal. It was very unhappy to our team to know that you didn’t enjoy your last stay. This year all of rooms will be renovated for the best comfort to our guests. Sorry for these inconveniences and we hope to see you again.

Thank you in advance and we are at your disposal for any information you might need.

Cordially,

Estanplaza´s Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

728 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    302
    314
    89
    16
    7
See reviews for
95
140
39
383
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ribeirao Preto, SP
Level Contributor
72 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Been here for one night to attend the Lollapalooza Brasil, which was a nice music festival, by the way. The main reason to choose this property was the proximity to the Jockey Club, where the festival was taking place.
The check-in was slow and unprofessional. The front-desk man insisted that he could not find my reservation. I showed him a printed confirmation of my booking, but he still insisted that the hotel was fully booked and my name was nowhere to be found. Only after the manager came up the problem was solved. Not a good start...
The room itself is pleasant, not large, but with a decent size. It has a safe, minifridge, cable TV (around 40 channels), a closet, a working desk and a small sofa. The bed and pillows were very confortable. Clean (but small...) bathroom. The area of the hotel is safe and around the corner there is a Fifties, which is a nice burger joint.
The best surprise was the breakfast, which was excellent: a large number of choices (fruits, breads, jam, cold cuts, pastries, regional delicacies and of course coffee, tea and milk). The ambient of the breakfast room was very cozy, with live music (piano).
All in all, I would recommend this place but definitely they need improvements at the front desk.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrazilBackpack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
127 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

Nearby very nice restaurants, this hotel is a good option for weekend stays. You pay a bit more from a standard hotel and get back much more confort. The breakfast is for those who likes to have a MEAL in the morning. Great!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andre A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto Alegre, RS
Level Contributor
103 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2012

There better options in the neighborhood.
The property is old, smells bad and some of the rooms are quite noisy. The location is good, but if you are staying in Vila Olimpia I recommend the ITC Park Suites or the Caesar Park, or even the Transamerica.
There are a couple restaurants around and the hotel restaurant is not bad.
Check the pictures for more info.

Room Tip: Ask for high floor back room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brazil1703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2011

The location of this hotel is alright, it is in a richer area of Sao Paulo and you can safely walk to the nearest mall. Taxis are easy to grab and you are only a few kilometers away from Placa do Se or Paulista - a few kilometers which could be 1h in Sao Paulo of course... There are quite a few business buildings around, including the WTC within 5 minutes of taxi - count at least 20 minutes to reach Transamerican expo center though (more likely 40+ minutes during peak hours).

The common areas of the hotel are nice and clean, the breakfast buffet very good. Lunch and diner are equally good and you have a bar at your disposal, as well as an underground parking and a bank in the adjacent building.

The rooms are a bit old as some other comments said. They are indeed rather small but are arranged in a way that they do not feel this way. There was no bath tub though, and some rooms had flat screen TVs, some had the old fashioned kind. Neither me nor my colleague could figure out how to turn on the bedroom lights in our room, which makes it a bit inconvenient all of sudden. The rooms were cleaned everyday, except Sunday - but everyone kept having problem with their keycards - I had to redo it every other day, and so did my colleague and some other people that I could witness.

On the plus side, there is free Wifi with all rooms (or you can pay to get slightly faster speed, but the free one is enough for Skype).

Note that there are 2 other Estanplaza within a stone throw of this one, so make sure to be clear with the taxi driver.

Room Tip: The first floor is mainly conference rooms and offices, so out of the 10 rooms of the floor, maybe 2...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BaroqueW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Curitiba, PR
Level Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

If you do business in the region of Vila Olimpia, São Paulo, this is possibly the best cost/benefit hotel. Very nice located on Av. Funchal, next to the superb burgery The Fifties and on the middle of everything: you can easily drive to the airport by Av. Bandeirantes, take the Marginal, Av. JK right to Av. Paulista or Itaim, Av. Berrini to Brooklyn. Best location impossible.
Check in/Check out usually fast, this is really nice. Main complain is the hotel looks and feels old. Rooms are very simple, bathroom is ugly and VERY old. Didnt like it a bit.
Breakfast is very well served, LOADS OF food and options, however, none seems sophisticated - foods are very "simple", but you're gonna find way more options than on any other hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Antonio_Borba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midland, Michigan
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2011

I stayed at the Estanplaza Funchal for 10 days this past June 2011 for business. The check in was efficient although the lobby area is fairly small. The staff was always friendly and helpful throughout my visit. They had a breakfast buffet which was very good. I also visited the restaurant for lunch and dinner one time each during my stay and the meals were adequate. The room was larger than expected more like a mini-suite with a separate desk and couch from the sleeping area with a medium sized TV that swiveled between the two areas. The room was a bit dated but the closet space was adequate. The bed was comfortable and outside noise was minimal considering that there was a construction project across the street. The bathroom was badly in need of an update although it was clean and everything functioned. I used Internet connectivity which worked fine but you needed to buy by the hour (not sure if that is standard for the city or unusual).

The reason I lowered my rating was because one of my colleagues discover bites on her that were determined to be bed bugs which infested her luggage creating a major problem for her. We had a large group and she was the only one with an issue but still that needs to be stated.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emsoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sao Paulo hotels
0.1 mi away
Radisson Sao Paulo Vila Olimpia
0.1 mi away
Mercure Sao Paulo JK
Mercure Sao Paulo JK
#166 of 321 in Sao Paulo
406 reviews
0.7 mi away
Estanplaza Nacoes Unidas
Estanplaza Nacoes Unidas
#28 of 321 in Sao Paulo
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pullman Sao Paulo Vila Olimpia Hotel
0.3 mi away
Caesar Business Vila Olimpia
Caesar Business Vila Olimpia
#88 of 321 in Sao Paulo
740 reviews
0.6 mi away
Prodigy Grand Hotel & Suites Berrini
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Estanplaza Funchal - Faria Lima? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Estanplaza Funchal - Faria Lima

Property: Estanplaza Funchal - Faria Lima
Address: Rua Funchal 281 | Vila Olimpia, Sao Paulo, State of Sao Paulo 04551-060, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Sao Paulo > Sao Paulo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Sao Paulo
#20 Business Hotel in Sao Paulo
#28 Family Hotel in Sao Paulo
#28 Romantic Hotel in Sao Paulo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Estanplaza Funchal - Faria Lima 3.5*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Estanplaza Funchal is a Premium Hotel located in the noble area of Vila Olimpia, opposite Shopping JK Iguatemi and within walking distance of the main corporative complexes, bars and restaurants of the region. You can also enjoy well-being moments in our spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Hotel.de, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Estanplaza Funchal - Faria Lima reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estanplaza Funchal - Faria Lima Hotel Sao Paulo
Estanplaza Funchal - Faria Lima Sao Paulo, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing