We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The "Grand Hotel" Standard in São Paulo...”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Maksoud Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Maksoud Plaza
Ranked #39 of 323 Hotels in Sao Paulo
Certificate of Excellence
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
70 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“The "Grand Hotel" Standard in São Paulo...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

For long, Maksoud Plaza was the first 5-star landmark, the benchmark hotel, when talking about hospitality and sophistication in São Paulo. The hotel was the creation of Henry Maksoud, multi-talented entrepreneur, engineer, publisher, political activist, one of the Syrian-Lebanese Brazilian success stories and who at one particular point decided to begin lifting hotel standards in Latin America.

Of course, it takes time to get to know a great hotel. While my family and I lived in São Paulo, we had an apartment just across from the Maksoud. Of course, the apartment find had been a lucky break. Accordingly, the marvelous Maksoud lobby became the living room extension of our home, of our social area, a place to entertain, always at the ready, to meet with friends – during the day sometimes for a quick cafezinho and peeking at a newspaper which could be bought at a newsstand off the lobby as well. Happy Hour was another happy time at the Maksoud, to unwind, have a drink, enjoy some delicious petisco bites, especially socializing with friends who had come there for the same reasons. We’d pass the time inquiring about the kids, about work, talking current events, playing a hand of cards, keep the Happy Hour happy, including the petiscos (tapas) coming, the friendships going. Those were the days – and thanks very much to the Maksoud Plaza. At the time, sometimes, Henry Maksoud, the hotel creator, and his Filipina wife, could be seen off the lobby, mostly discretely rushing along, not to attract attention, on their way to private quarters…

If anything, the professionalism of any top hotel is in its staff… Saturday, Sunday lunch time, these Maksoud professionals - kitchen and service personnel - would become especially visible, preparing for one of the typical Brazilian culinary celebrations. The Café Brasserie Belavista, just left off the main lobby, would be set off for Feijoada, the improbable speciality of Brazilian cuisine. Why improbable? Because, simply, somehow, Feijoada dishes do not really come across as specialties for a tropical country. Nevertheless, Saturday, or was it Sunday, at lunch time, Feijoada, including all its various trimmings would be the one and only menu item at the Café Belavista. Feijoada can be had in many places in São Paulo, all over Brazil, but few places in São Paulo would prepare it with the professionalism, the care, the guaranteed high quality standards like at the Maksoud. Not every weekend, but sometimes, my wife and I, our little son back then, would show up for the eatery event as well. The Maksoud Feijoada would always be well attended. Many of the solid members of our neighborhood would show up in their Sunday best. Many Paulistas from all over town would neither miss out on these ample buffet style eating affairs. I forgot the exact price, but hardly outrageous. Unspoken, on these Feijoada occasions, the guests would be strictly of the Christian persuasion. Feijoada dishes are prepared on the basis of pork. Yes, some sirloin too, but mostly pork meat ingredients: ear, tail, feet and pork ribs, and again various pork-based sausages. Of course, not to be missed on those occasions, plenty of properly seasoned feijão preto, i.e., black beans... Drinks on those occasions: best some of the Brazilian beers, Brahma upfront, super frio, por favor...

What else to mention about Maksoud, of course, the hotel features many more cuisine choices, from pizzarias, to Italian, to Thai, to haute French cuisine. The hotel side itself was always practiced with the same fine professionalism, with meticulous attention to details. Rarely, or never a complaint from the many business visitors we lodged there over the years. The organ-like bank of spectacular glass-open elevators, independently zipping up and down off the lobby, at the time, would also be a sight by themselves. All the rooms I got to know over the years, mostly for business guests, were impeccable and generous. Long distance bookings could be expensive. Special deals were often available for locals.

A final Maksoud pleasure I’d like to single out was a weekly delicate delight, a Brazilian musical education, at the ground-floor bar off the lobby, one night a week. Mostly local musicians, playing string instruments, would play the wonderful sounds of São Paulo’s very own Chorinho music, always melodious, full of soul, the sad saudade sounds for which all Brazil is famous. When in São Paulo, the Maksoud Plaza Hotel is a must… It’s also easy to find, everybody knows it, just one street over from the famous, always busy Paulista Avenue.

Room Tip: Service at this hotel is highly personalized... Call ahead of time and make any special needs known...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joost H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maksoudplaza, General Manager at Maksoud Plaza, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Mr. Joost,

I am very happy with your praising comments on Maksoud Plaza, and glad to know you was our neighbor some time ago, when you lived in São Paulo.

My special thanks for your praise to my grandfather Henry Maksoud, the founder of Maksoud Plaza, who recently passed away this year, in April. He would certainly be very proud with your remarks plenty of extolling details regarding himself and the hotel he created.

The Maksoud family, made up of the directory board and the whole staff, is proud to be part of your life and best memories from São Paulo. Maksoud Plaza is part of the city’s history, and your generous account highlights our work and the wish to improve day by day.

I hope you will do us the honor of your presence when your next come to São Paulo. I wish Maksoud Plaza were your home in this city. It will always be a pleasure for us to lodge you!

Kind regards,

Henry Maksoud Neto
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,884 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    731
    766
    266
    74
    47
See reviews for
368
453
113
736
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

First time to SP.. and chose the Maksoud just by chance, Im very happy with my choice.. the hotel is very grand.. the lobby is over 20 stories high.. the hotel has never been renovated, but its kept like it was NEW.. everything works and its in perfect condition, just don't expect 21st century design.. it was like a trip to 1980.. and it works.. they did some MINOR upgrades to bring it to the 2000's.. the rooms no longer have a carpet (great for alergies) they have a great wooden floor.. the staff was incredible.. I absolutely loved it.. my ONLY 2 suggestions are.. 1) The NEED to add power oulets to the night tables next to the bed.. there is only 1 in a desk and is far to plug anything.. like a cellphone that you want to keep next to you.. and 2) More light or paint the bathroom white or something better than that really ugly green.. BTW... it has a BIDET !!! never EVER get rid of that if you ever renovate the hotel... i will keep going back to this hotel !!!

Room Tip: Once you log in to the internet it will tell you it has a charge, but i called the desk and they sai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StanWalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maksoudplaza, General Manager at Maksoud Plaza, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Mr Stan Walk,

We are very glad with your praise for Maksoud Plaza.

The hotel has been operating for 35 years, being constantly renovated to keep up with the times, but maintaining its traditions and original features.

With respect to your suggestion for more outlets close to the bed, we let you know that we are programming the installation of dock stations in all rooms to fulfill this necessity of our clients. The dock stations can be used either as a clock or cell phone and tablet battery charger.

Your remarks about the color of the bathrooms will certainly be considered.

We hope you stay with us again soon.

It is always a pleasure for us to receive you.

Yours sincerely,
Henry Maksoud Neto
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

I stayed 2 nights at the Maksoud. It is an average hotel.
Service is really good. But the hotel itself does not feel like a 5 stars hotel - it is an old hotel which was renovated - but still need some help. Breakfast is great, though! Location is also very good!
Then, I cannot understand that such an hotel, does not offer free wi-fi to its customers. You must pay for it! And the hotel itself is not cheap...

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolinaMedeiros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maksoudplaza, General Manager at Maksoud Plaza, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Ms Carolina Medeiros,

We appreciate your comments on Maksoud Plaza, especially your praising our services, breakfast and location.

Maksoud Plaza is a 5-star hotel, which achieved tradition and recognition for the excellence of the services rendered and for the comfort of its premises.

The reservations made through the internet or by telephone include complimentary internet Wi-Fi access. By the occasion of your next stay, we kindly ask you to seek information about this advantage at the moment of your reservation.

We hope you stay with us again soon. It is a pleasure to receive you.

Yours sincerely
Henry Maksoud Neto
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

Had two nights there to watch world cup game Ned's vs Argentina. The place has central location. Breakfast is included but poor selection. Takes a lots of time until elevator comes although they have four of them. AC in the room works perfectly good. 4 star hotel for short trips.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Erdene D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maksoudplaza, General Manager at Maksoud Plaza, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Mr Erdene,

We appreciate your comments and praise on Maksoud’s location and perfect functioning of the air conditioning in the room.

We would like to say that Maksoud Plaza is a 5-star hotel, traditional in São Paulo. We understand that if in any moment the elevator took a little longer to arrive, this was due to the intense movement during the World Cup period in Brazil.

We kindly ask you to overlook this small failure and stay with us again the next time you come to São Paulo.

It will be an honor for us to lodge you again.

Yours sincerely
Henry Maksoud Neto
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

I had a short stay, 2 nights during the World Cup, but a wonderful stay at Maksoud Plaza. The hotel even if a bit older and dated is very good. Most importantly very clean rooms and very quiet rooms with everything a guest needs for a comfortable stay. The rooms are true to the pictures on the website and the noncarpeted floors were a nice, welcomed change. The front desk staff handled everything professionally and I was treated kindly. The breakfast was abundant but the usual menu nothing out of the ordinary. The restaurant for dinner can be passed, but overall the hotel was a very good (and quiet) stay especially if you can get a good price.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kazimierz W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maksoudplaza, General Manager at Maksoud Plaza, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Mr. Kazimierz,

Thank you very much for your flattering comments about Maksoud Plaza and our staff.

We intend to keep up doing our job with the same carefulness and attention to live up to your praise.

Welcoming you is always a great pleasure!

Yours sincerely,

Henry Maksoud Neto
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
52 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

I have no problem with an old hotel if it is nicely maintained, I heard from my Brazilian boss it is a 5 star hotel so the price gotta be a 5 star I supposed. But good food, good service, well maintained and yes I would recommend this place to everyone else.

But I am bias as this place is like 2 blocks away from my Brazilian office.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Wen Jun L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maksoudplaza, General Manager at Maksoud Plaza, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Mr. Wen Jun L.,

Thank you very much for your flattering comments about Maksoud Plaza.

We intend to keep up doing our job with the same carefulness and attention to live up to your praise.

Welcoming you is always a great pleasure!

Yours sincerely,
Henry Maksoud Neto
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
185 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

The hotel is located in central Sao Paolo in a safe neighborhood. The hotel itself is a bit dated. But the rooms and the interior are clean. The breakfast selection was not great but everything is fresh. We liked lunch. Everyone was friendly and the service is excellent. We were visiting for the World Cup and there was a huge screen set up in the lobby for the fans. The gym is very large, however the swimming pool is small so don't plan to spend too much time swimming. The sauna surprisingly was not free of charge.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank akonopl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maksoudplaza, General Manager at Maksoud Plaza, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Mr Akonopl,

Thank you for your praise to Maksoud Plaza and the services performed.

We are glad that you visited our city during the World Cup and chose our hotel to stay.

The sauna is an optional service, available accordingly to the guest’s needs. Charging additional items is a usual practice in the hospitality sector.

We hope you come to São Paulo on another occasion, and stay with us once again.

It will be a great pleasure to receive you.

Yours sincerely,
Henry Maksoud Neto
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sao Paulo hotels
Jardins
Melia Paulista
Melia Paulista
#29 of 323 in Sao Paulo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,638 reviews
Hilton Sao Paulo Morumbi
#11 of 323 in Sao Paulo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,530 reviews
Jardins
Renaissance Sao Paulo Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bela Vista
L'Hotel PortoBay Sao Paulo
L'Hotel PortoBay Sao Paulo
#8 of 323 in Sao Paulo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 966 reviews
Grand Hyatt Sao Paulo
#5 of 323 in Sao Paulo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,005 reviews
Jardins
Royal Jardins Hotel
Royal Jardins Hotel
#18 of 323 in Sao Paulo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maksoud Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maksoud Plaza

Property: Maksoud Plaza
Address: Rua Sao Carlos do Pinhal, 424, Sao Paulo, State of Sao Paulo 01333-000, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Sao Paulo > Sao Paulo > Bela Vista
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Sao Paulo
#16 Spa Hotel in Sao Paulo
#26 Luxury Hotel in Sao Paulo
#31 Business Hotel in Sao Paulo
#37 Romantic Hotel in Sao Paulo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Maksoud Plaza 5*
Number of rooms: 416
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As one of the most iconic hotels in São Paulo, Maksoud Plaza Hotel is quite simply the place to stay when visiting the city for business or leisure. Perfectly located just one block off of fashionable Avenida Paulista, steps from top businesses and the finest shopping and restaurants in the Bela Vista district, our hotel is a beacon of five-star luxury. Whether you are relaxing in our 416 exquisitely designed rooms or suites, unwinding in the heated indoor pool or savoring gourmet cuisine in our renowned restaurant, you will experience the epitome of elegance and sophistication. Guests arriving at Maksoud Plaza find themselves immersed in a rare union of art and architecture. The majestic Atrium Lobby is adorned with the works of world-famous artists yet the ambiance is warm, cozy and inviting. At every moment of your stay, you will enjoy the bespoke service and gracious hospitality that have set Maksoud Plaza as São Paulo's premier business and social hub for over 37 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, ACCOR, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maksoud Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maksoud Plaza Sao Paulo, Brazil
Maksoud Plaza Hotel Sao Paulo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing