We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Time warp into the 70´s in the middle of "Brazilian Japan" in São Paulo”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Nikkey Palace Hotel
Ranked #188 of 326 Hotels in Sao Paulo
Reviewed 4 June 2012

We stayed one night in this quite old hotel. We actually enjoyed the 70´s style of the furniture in our room, which was clean. The reception people were very friendly and helpful. We had a smooking room, which is difficult to get nowadays in São Paulo (and elsewhere in the world). The best of the hotel is the location in Liberdade, the Japanese neighbourhood in São Paulo with our favourite restaurant (Sendai) in walking distance. The only real problem with this hotel was in our case that it was way too expensive (300 Reais - booked only one day in advance). Next time we come only when we get a better rate.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Doffa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (207)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

10 - 16 of 207 reviews

Reviewed 16 December 2011

The hotel is located in Liberdade, the Japanese (Oriental) town and security in this area almost is safe. There are many Japanese restaurant which is relatively more expensive than other Brazilian restaurants, but the taste is very good and the same as original Japanese food. Hotel is 5 minutes walk from subway station and is close to the city center.

Room and furniture is relatively old however it is clean. Bath is so big that you can relax in bath, Room Rate for twin room is around 200 BRL and it is so reasonable compared with relatively expensive rooms in SP.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2010

The breakfest is horrible, very poor. Breads are old and taste very bad. Fruits smell like fish. There is no toaster or anything like it. I decided not to take breakfest in the hotel, I´d rather paying for it separetely.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JulioLorenzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2009

I recently stayed a 1-night transit in SP, and I wanted an "exotic" and original place... an hotel in Liberdade, the Japanese neighbourhood, was perfect!

I found this hotel in the Lonely Planet, and booked through their website. I got a rate of 185 BRL (ca 65 EUR) for a single room, including breakfast.

The environment
Right in the middle of Liberdade, this place seems safe. 5 minutes walk from the metro, and not far from the city center. As SP is a huge city, you should be careful while choosing a neighbourhood for a stay in this city.

The lobby / staff
Once you enter the lobby, you immediately feel an asian atmosphere from the 60's.
The staff speaks good English (which is quite rare in Brasil), and is efficient and friendly.
Free Internet is available in the lobby (but not in the room)

The room
The room has the same old fashioned atmosphere than in the lobby, which makes its charm. The room itself was quite large, very clean. The bed was comfortable. The Japanese atmosphere can also be seen on the TV channels!
The bathroom featured a large tub that is so deep that you feel like in a spa! I must admit the bathroom would maybe need a refresh (but it remains clean).

The restaurant
There is a very good Japanese restaurant in the basement, where they also serve an acceptable breakfast (both Japanese and continental buffet).

The bar
There is a tiny karaoke bar in the lobby, crowded by Brasilian-Japanese young people.

There is also a sauna where they provide massages, but I did not have time to test it.

Finally, looking for an alternative- but clean and safe place in SP, it was a very good choice.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank manywhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Raíza B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amanda_amg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Quartos mais altos.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank cpinheiromp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sao Paulo hotels
Liberdade
Leques Brasil Hotel Escola
Leques Brasil Hotel Escola
#103 of 326 in Sao Paulo
257 reviews
Bela Vista
Hotel Mercure Sao Paulo Bela Vista
Consolacao
155 Hotel
155 Hotel
#195 of 326 in Sao Paulo
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Consolacao
Braston Hotel Sao Paulo
Braston Hotel Sao Paulo
#239 of 326 in Sao Paulo
631 reviews
Republica
Nobile Hotel Downtown
Nobile Hotel Downtown
#61 of 326 in Sao Paulo
1,629 reviews
Bela Vista
Missouri Hotel
Missouri Hotel
#210 of 326 in Sao Paulo
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nikkey Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nikkey Palace Hotel

Address: Rua Galvao Bueno 425 | Liberdade, Sao Paulo, State of Sao Paulo 01506-000, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Sao Paulo > Sao Paulo > Liberdade
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #188 of 326 Hotels in Sao Paulo
Price Range: £43 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Nikkey Palace Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Nikkey Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nikkey Palace Hotel Sao Paulo, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing