We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old but clean”
Review of Hotel Itamarati

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Itamarati
Ranked #182 of 326 Hotels in Sao Paulo
Reviewed 11 December 2013

I stayed in a twin room on 5th floor in early December 2013. The room impression is even more insistant than the rest of the hotel. That is a room with outdated furniture, almost like in a theme hotel. Some might like this "never-refurbished" aspect some might just not like it at all.
The staff is very helpful even though not perfect English speaking and all public and bedrooms parts of the hotel are perfectly clean.
Hotel is relatively cheap and pers se good value for money.
Don't go there for a charming neighborhood, don't try to leave the hotel for a night walk!

Room Tip: Choose upper floor to avoid early street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Zyxee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (135)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 135 reviews

Reviewed 14 March 2013

Stayed in the hotel whilst on a group tour. The location is central (about 5min walk from the metro Republica), and the historic centre is within walking distance. On the downside, you should stay on the main roads and do NOT walk in the Republic Square during the night (unsafe).
Our room was basic but clean, faced the road, but with the windows & shutters closed we slept well with the aircondition. Free WiFi throughout the hotel. Breakfast was the usual brazilian "basic" with some fresh fruits. Free coffee in the lobby.
A few minutes walk away there are a couple of smaller supermarkets and a few restaurants are near the hotel.
On the weekend there is a art and craft maket on the square. I also recommend taking the lift up the Italia Building at the north corner of the square (second tallest in Sao Paulo) for a great view over the city (free from 3-4pm Monday- Friday).

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Son_UK22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2012

Stayed here whilst on an organised trip and certainly wouldn't return. Place is outdated and dirty - wasn't sure whether I was taking dirt off or putting it on in the shower. My room faced onto the main street and was incredibly noisy (almost felt like my bed was actually in the street) and it certainly didin't feel safe stepping outside after dark. Air con unit in room just added to the street noise. For a hotel of this size, in a large city, the breakfast was half-hearted. 'Cereal/cornflake' consisted of a individual size bowl of oats (for the whole hotel) and the waitress seemed bemused that I would want it topped up. And there were definitely no cornflakes present. At least the fruit was fresh....

Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
3  Thank HelenCY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2012

I don't care if it's free to stay in this place, it was horrible. Some people may describe it as retro, but in reality it hasn't been decorated or refurbished since the 70's. The windows in our room were rusted shut, the shower cubicle was held together with rust and was tiny - putting your tetanus booster to work. There was an air conditioning unit in the room, but turning it on just seemed to generate a lot of noise and nothing else.

If I had to give any redeming features I'd say that there is free Internet (by means of a computer) at reception.

We were advised by our tour guide (we stayed as part of a Toucan Tour trip) not to turn left out of the hotel at night.

Room Tip: Consult trip advisor and pick another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bilbodotcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2012

The hotel is a disorganised mix of dormitory and hotel type accommodation. Reception staff rude and unhelpful. Poor security. No room service or proper hotel amenities. Over priced hostel standard venue. Avoid!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank UKbusinesstravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2010

I give this hotel five stars based upon value for the money. I paid 30 USD per night for a quarto (room with separate bath, which I had to myself). The room was clean and basic with a fan (fine at this time of year), TV, a desk, armoire and two double beds. WiFI worked in the room.

The building itself has an early 20th Century Art Nouveau/Mission Design, and much of the original charm of the building is still evident in the common areas. As other reviewers have noted, there is some evident wear and tear throughout the place. Nonetheless the place is clean, with a conscientious and energetic staff.

The free breakfast has copious amounts of fruit, cheese, scrambled eggs, pao de queijo, ham, juice and coffee, and is fairly typical for this type of hotel.

The hotel is located right of Praca de Republica, within walking distance from the historical center's attractions. The Republica metro station is nearby, as is a stop for the airport bus. Caution is recommended when walking in the area late at night. .

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdrianLesher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2007

For hotels in Sao Paulo, this one is very reasonable. It has a great location, and whilst it's definitely quite dated in it's decor, this adds to it's character. The fridge was so old that it actually looked pretty retro cool!! Having said that, everything works, it's clean, plenty spacious enough and staff are great. Free internet in the lobby and easy to get to the main attractions. I would recommend this too!

  • Stayed: May 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank FayeW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sao Paulo hotels
Hotel Castelar
#189 of 326 in Sao Paulo
65 reviews
Republica
Republica Park Hotel
Republica Park Hotel
#191 of 326 in Sao Paulo
174 reviews
Hotel Columbia
#170 of 326 in Sao Paulo
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Republica
San Michel Hotel
San Michel Hotel
#174 of 326 in Sao Paulo
140 reviews
Republica
Rojas All Suite Hotel
Rojas All Suite Hotel
#202 of 326 in Sao Paulo
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Itamarati? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Itamarati

Address: Avenida Vieira de Carvalho 150, Sao Paulo, State of Sao Paulo 01210-010, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Sao Paulo > Sao Paulo > Republica
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Sao Paulo
Price Range: £28 - £49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Itamarati 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Half a Century Providing the Best Quality Lodging The Itamarati Hotel is located in the noble heart of Sao Paulo, between the main sites of Republic Square and Arouche Square and approximately 100 meters from the subway station and also from the bus-airport terminal. This convenient location makes it easy to reach any important regions of the city, including airports, bus terminals and convention centers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Itamarati reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Itamarati Sao Paulo, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing