We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hostel, good vibe, very clean and comfortable.”
Review of CityLights Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
CityLights Hostel
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great hostel, good vibe, very clean and comfortable.”
Reviewed 18 December 2012

Stayed in this hostel for two nights and it turned out to be a good base to see some of SPs attractions. Lots of bars and cafes in the area. Municipal market is also about 30mins away if you walk and take the subway - it's a must, definitely go do it.

My girlfriend and I stayed in a large dorm with no bathroom attached, but this turned out to be quite comfortable regardless because the bathroom is more than big enough to have your bag in with you to change clothes, repack, etc. The beds are exceptionally good for a hostel.

Staff is very friendly - it's basically owner run (the owners are there just about all the time) and they're very helpful and awesome to hang out with.

Phone the hostel to arrange transfers from the airports (it's about R$120 from GRU to CityLights one way).

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Quintin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    22
    10
    6
    1
See reviews for
4
10
23
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
Reviewed 7 September 2012

City LIghts is not only beautiful but it is comfortable and well designed. Everyone that works there is super friendly and help to provide a full experience. The accessibility to the kitchen allows you to cook full meals and enjoy them in the beautiful courtyard. It is a peaceful and cool escape from the city once you walk through the gates. Also recommend their trips!

Room Tip: Go with the girls' room and you get your own bathroom!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeilaBeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
Reviewed 4 September 2012

The staff and owners were very welcoming, helpful and friendly. it helped a lot that they could all speak english very well. location is in a great neighborhood, just a block away from a big grocery, nice local bars and restaurants, as well as a 10 minute walk to the metro. The rooms are all very clean and with new amenities. went on one of the day trips they offer to Praia Brava and boy was it an awesome experience! definitely wouldnt have experienced that wonderful hike and amazing beach if it werent for city lights hostel. on our last day the staff even cooked a traditional feijoada going away dinner for our group. over all i really enjoyed my trip to Sao Paulo and a big contributing factor was my stay at City Lights. oh and they always play awesome songs at their bar! there wasnt a time when i heard crappy top 40's music being played in the hostel. definitely staying here again the next time i travel to SP.

Room Tip: the first room once you enter has its own bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank claudinec85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2012

On first impressions, CityLights appeared great. Location was good for the metro and the double ensuite room was compact but nicely furnished, with a TV and DVD player (but with no TV signal). We even received a welcome drink of cachaca. However, it soon became apparent that the income from the bar and tours was far more important to the staff than the customers paying to get some sleep at night.

Our room was right above the bar, which meant that the incredibly loud music filtered straight into the room making it impossible to even have a conversation inside. We had to ask for the staff to reduce the volume. At night, despite a sign stating that by law the hostel had to keep quiet after 10pm, the noise (mostly from the staff themselves) kept going long after 12am.

We stayed for 3 nights, and on the 2nd day, while we were out in the town sightseeing, the staff came into our room and removed the TV for their own uses and never bothered to return it. The final straw was the last night, where they had a tour leaving at 3.30am, so they and the people on the tour made enormous amounts of noise for over an hour, and then when the noise at the bar kept going on until 5am, I finally had to come downstairs to ask the guest and the memeber of staff serving the guest at the bar to be quiet.

All in all, I got very little sleep and when I confronted the co-owner about this, she couldn't care less and kept repeating that they had music to respect the rights of the guests in the bar. There was no apology for the appalling experience we had, and when we asked them to at the very least, look after our bags after we'd checked out, the same woman just left our bags in plain view for the whole day, despite us asking her to keep the bags in a safe place and her assurance that the bags would be moved to a secure room.

I made the mistake of paying for our whole stay upfront, which meant we had no leverage at all. I did request that we have some kind of discount as I didn't feel R$140 per night for barely any sleep during our stay warranted that price, but my request was refused quite bluntly. I would never recommend this hostel to anyone.

The staff treat the place as their personal playground, and this is by far the worst customer service I've had in over 5 months of travelling in South America.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank heygepetto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012

What we can say is that the hostel is very beautiful, cleaned and welcoming. All the people working there are young and friendly. Rooms may compete with much more expensive hotels (we're talking about the suite). The central area of the hostel is very well designed with plants and wood tables. There is very nice music all the day long. It is a place where you can meet other people, talk and share experiences. There are plenty of pubs near the hostel, there is a supermarket open until 10 p.m, the metro is 5-10 minutes walk.
They also organize activities like unconventional trips in the nature but we weren't doing tourism so we didn't tried them.
They also did churrasco, local bbq, one night (it was very good, 20 reais with caipirinha ) and the following night pasteis (for just 10 reais).

I absolutely recommend this hostel!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2012

As far as hostels go, its top class. Great rooms, great showers, decent kitchen and bar. Had the potential to get five stars but fell down on some very important things.

We stayed for 4 nights and they didn't empty our bin, cleanliness down a point. and staying in a city as vast as Sao Paulo, information is key. Upon arrival we informed the staff of the things we wanted to do and asked for suggestions.

One of our things was to visit Hopi Hari. We checked in Thursday and it was only Sunday lunchtime when they gave us the information about transport, by then it was too late as the park was closed Monday. another couple of stars lost for service there.

We also wanted to visit a football match, which we found out by ourselves (quick Google search) was on after they said they would check but we had heard nothing for 24 hours. We were quoted 100 reals each for the tour, which was a little more than the 90 we paid in Rio. But the actual tour only involved a lift to 500m from the stadium and a lift back after the match, and two 30 real tickets. Since a taxi there and back would have been about 20-25 they made a nice profit on that tour, we felt at our expense. Another dropped point for service and value.

Overall great hostel, but really need to sort out their tours and information side of things. I wish they them well, hate only leaving 3 stars, but for me that's all they deserved this visit. Would go back though!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dublinadam69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2012

Really liked the rooms in this hostel and the showers were amazing, best I've ever had in a hostel. Location is good, close to Vila Madelena and easy to get to the buses or metro. Staff are really friendly and it feels secure there. The hostel needs someone to take charge and organise proper tours and activities. We found out by accident that they sold food and the food is very good. We did feel we were overcharged for a "tour" to a football match when in fact they just bought the tickets and gave us a lift there so the tour didn't exist. Also we asked for some info on Hopi Hari theme park and they didn't provide it until the day before we left so it was too late by then. The hostel has so much potential and I hope someone takes the reins here and gets things going. Having said that that are very new so hopefully they will take on board all feedback and make this a great place.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CrazyPenguin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sao Paulo hotels
Pinheiros
Golden Tower Hotel
Golden Tower Hotel
#124 of 321 in Sao Paulo
235 reviews
Pinheiros
L'Opera Hotel
L'Opera Hotel
#186 of 321 in Sao Paulo
185 reviews
Pinheiros
Hostel Brasil Boutique
Hostel Brasil Boutique
#36 of 572 in Sao Paulo
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pinheiros
O de Casa Hostel
O de Casa Hostel
#30 of 572 in Sao Paulo
297 reviews
Pinheiros
Garoa Hostel
Garoa Hostel
#26 of 572 in Sao Paulo
164 reviews
Pinheiros
The Pod SP Hostel
The Pod SP Hostel
#90 of 572 in Sao Paulo
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CityLights Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CityLights Hostel

Property: CityLights Hostel
Address: Rua Padre Garcia Velho 44 | Pinheiros, Sao Paulo, State of Sao Paulo 05421-030, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Sao Paulo > Sao Paulo > Pinheiros
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 572 Speciality Lodging in Sao Paulo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your CityLights Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
CityLights Hostel Sao Paulo, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing