We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smelly cigarette scented rooms.....”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Melia Paulista

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Melia Paulista
Ranked #29 of 323 Hotels in Sao Paulo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Smelly cigarette scented rooms.....”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

Oh, THIS WAS THE WORST place ever, honestly. How they get away with calling it a 'Hotel' is beyond us. The place stank of tobacco and damp.
My family at home spent two days trying to contact us via reception so that they could use the international calling card rates but every time they got through to the place they put the phone down on them time and time again.
Never again.
AVOID AT ALL COSTS.

Room Tip: Try the Y.m.c.a instead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulista_Melia, Gerente geral at Melia Paulista, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Google Translation
Prezado Sr. Andrew S

Obrigado por nos contar sobre sua estada e desculpe-nos pelo ocorrido. Tomaremos medidas corretivas para evitar novas ocorrências.
Esperamos recebê-lo novamente no Meliá Paulista, para que reavalie os nossos serviços.

Cordialmente,
Jacques Bezençon - Gerente Geral
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,640 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    687
    669
    193
    51
    40
See reviews for
297
293
103
717
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

Found this hotel to be very dated, laminate floor contributes to a very noisy hotel and the fact it's on a busy main road and no double glazing isn't conducive to a restful stay. My room was about 2 metres away from the office block opposite which meant you are unable to open the curtains unless you want the staff opposite looking in, also there is a severe lack of ventilation in the room as windows and bathroom never seem to dry out and the severe smell of damp in the room making it very unpleasant.
Avoid if possible

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Makxxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulista_Melia, Gerente geral at Melia Paulista, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Google Translation
Prezado Sr.(a) Makxxxx

Obrigado por dedicar seu tempo para fazer essa avaliação sobre sua hospedagem.
Permita-nos informar que trataremos suas observações como uma oportunidade de melhoria junto ao responsável da área.
Seja sempre muito bem vindo(a) ao Meliá Paulista.

Atenciosamente,
Jacques Bezençon - Gerente Geral
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed over the World Cup, the hotel was busy but a great city hotel with great service. There is no pool but has a gym. The breakfast is ok, did not eat an evening meal in the hotel. The staff were friendly and helpful, I would stay here again

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sun10000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulista_Melia, Gerente geral at Melia Paulista, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear, Sun10000

Every team at the Meliá Paulista our hotel is delighted to have been his choice and thus provide you with experience in this city.
We were pleased that our apartments, services and structure have been ideal for their needs.
We hope to see you many times, it will be always a great pleasure to host it at the Melia Paulista.

Sincerely,
Jacques Bezençon - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
118 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel is categorically not even close to a 5 or 4 star hotel. The service is beyond awful . Check-ins take take an hour. We were given a room key to a room that was occupied. The occupant of that room was understandably startled and upset to see how unsecured his room was. Despite this major fiasco ,the management initially gave us another room - denied our request for a complimentary upgrade. The breakfast each day was as plain and repetitive as that of a cheap hotel going through the motions. Amenities such as soap and shampoo were missing in our room and had to be requested. A request for an iron took 4 phone calls and almost 8 hours. They are renovating the hotel- it is SORELY needed.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Steven M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulista_Melia, Gerente geral at Melia Paulista, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Mr. Steven M

First I apologize for the inconvenience that was in our hotel and affirm that treat their comments with full attention and respect.
Thank you on behalf of the entire team at the Meliá Paulista your comments, that motivate us to always keep looking for improvements.
Come live a new experience hosting us.
It will be a great pleasure to welcome you again at the Melia Paulista.

Sincerely,
Jacques Bezençon - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spain
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

Very friendly staff, good breakfast, comfortable bed and good size room. Next to metro and walking distance to good local shopping and restaurants. Good value, business hotel , suitable for holidaymakers. Generous late checkout, 3.30pm which was great for an evening flight.

Room Tip: ask for view of Paulista
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pluggerSpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulista_Melia, Gerente geral at Melia Paulista, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Mr. Plugger Spain

We would like to thank you for your review and indication of Meliá Paulista to other travelers.
It's fun to know that you felt welcomed and well in our Hotel.
For us, it will be a great pleasure to welcome you again.
Sincerely,
Jacques Bezençon - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

Very good location on paulista and there is a metro station in front of the hotel. Also a small shopping mall (center 3) with food court and moderate cinema is across the road.
Rooms furniture (carbets, beds, desk) looks little bit old and you will not feel it is a luxury 5 star but in general clean and good value for money.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hesham A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulista_Melia, Gerente geral at Melia Paulista, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Mr. Hesham A

We would like to thank you for your review and indication of Meliá Paulista to other travelers.
Allow us to inform you that we will treat your comments as an opportunity for improvement with the responsible area.
It will be a great pleasure to welcome you again at the Melia Paulista.
kind regards,
Jacques Bezençon - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
75 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

They weren't really interested in customer care in this hotel. The language barrier doesn't help but as an international brand, you'd think they would have staff who at least try and deal with issues. I was unable to get wifi for the three days I was in this hotel but that wasn't the worst of it, they took two lots of payment for my stay from 2 different credit cards and would not deal with it on the various attempts I made to try and get my money back. Thanks to my bank in the UK I was able to report them for fraud but the staff at this hotel are woefully unskilled.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MissPf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulista_Melia, Gerente geral at Melia Paulista, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Mrs. Miss Pf

Thank you on behalf of the entire team at the Meliá Paulista your comments, that motivate us to always keep looking for improvements.
Allow us to inform you that we will treat their comments with full attention and respect.
Come live a new experience hosting us.
It will be a great pleasure to welcome you again at the Melia Paulista.
Sincerely,

Jacques Bezençon - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sao Paulo hotels
Consolacao
Tryp Sao Paulo Paulista Hotel
Jardins
Ibis Paulista
Ibis Paulista
#45 of 323 in Sao Paulo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,787 reviews
Jardins
Royal Jardins Hotel
Royal Jardins Hotel
#18 of 323 in Sao Paulo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Consolacao
Golden Tulip Sao Paulo Paulista
Jardins
Renaissance Sao Paulo Hotel
Bela Vista
Maksoud Plaza
Maksoud Plaza
#39 of 323 in Sao Paulo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Paulista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Paulista

Property: Melia Paulista
Address: Avenida Paulista 2181, Sao Paulo, State of Sao Paulo 01311-300, Brazil
Phone Number:
Region: Brazil > State of Sao Paulo > Sao Paulo > Jardins
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Green Hotel in Sao Paulo
#34 Family Hotel in Sao Paulo
#38 Romantic Hotel in Sao Paulo
#56 Business Hotel in Sao Paulo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Melia Paulista 3.5*
Number of rooms: 398
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Melia, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TravelUp, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Melia Paulista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caesar Business Sao Paulo Paulista Hotel Sao Paulo
Melia Paulista Sao Paulo, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing