We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Best hostel ever!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Green Grass Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Green Grass Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Coca, Ecuador
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best hostel ever!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

One of the best places I´ve stayed, since i cross the door, the staff was very warm and helpful. The girls dorm wasn´t full but every day people were coming and going so i had the chance to meet nice people from many places :).
Highly recommended, room prices are the lowest in the market, and the service is absolutely good. You have access to internet 24 hours, the place is near the metro, you have access to drugstores, markets, banks, there is a place near the hostel with nice salgados just fo 3 reais.

Just I will back anytime to this place.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natalia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GreenGrassHostel, Owner at Green Grass Hostel, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
We are deeply flattered with all your words!!! That is what make us keep up every day. Thank you very much!!! We hope to see you soon!!! Hugs from Brasil!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    38
    10
    2
    7
See reviews for
3
12
37
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
81 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

My boyfriend and me have got a warm welcome in this place. It was our first stop in Brazil and we have stayed 2 nights but we will go here again, when we come back.

The hostel was very nice. Everything was clean and there have been enough bathrooms for all guests which is important to me. Breakfast was very good (they had coffee, musli, bread and more. Only thing which was missing is tea for non-coffee-drinkers, but they might provide it if you ask for). We have also enjoyed the neighbourhood which has cafés, bars and restaurants and it was safe to walk around there. The hostal has also been close to a metro station and we could reach all points of interest via metro quickly.

The owner Gabriel is open minded, friendly and and a very social guy. He has taken us and another guest to a soccer game which has been a great experience.

We would recommend this hostal!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jumarei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GreenGrassHostel, Manager at Green Grass Hostel, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
We are flattered with every word written! This is what make us keep looking up and improving our services! We now have included TEA for Breakfast following your advice :)
Thanks very much and hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

There are many reasons why I would recommend a stay for any traveller at Green Grass Hostel, but the number one reason is that the staff really go out of their way to ensure that your stay in Sao Paulo is one that you will remember. They are friendly and knowledgable and will try their best to help you with any aspect of your trip, whether that is within the hostel or outside in the giant city of Sao Paulo. The hostel is located less than a block away from the Subway Metro (trust me this is key in SP) & the complimentary breakfast was awesome with various items and daily specials.Very easy to meet people with a very diverse and friendly atmosphere and I would definately recommend anyone planning to visit Sao Paulo to give this place a try, you will not regret it!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eumenk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GreenGrassHostel, Owner at Green Grass Hostel, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Thank you very much for every word written my friend! We were built to meet people like you! We hope to see you soon! All the best and take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
37 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2013

Stayed there for 2 nights. This is a small hostel with not a lot of rooms.
It is located nicely- not in the center of SP but really close to the Metro so no problem there, and relatively safe neighborhood I believe.
The staff- two brothers and another girl are super helpful and friendly.
The kitchen is really nice and allows you to save some much need Reals by cooking in it (there is also a large supermarket really close).
Nice people and nice atmosphere- at one night we went out almost the entire hostel to the same place, which was very cool.
The rooms are very nice and spacious (though the higher bed is so high! unbelieveable!!)
The breakfast is also nice.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amit_1990_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GreenGrassHostel, Owner at Green Grass Hostel, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
We appreciate every word! These words are responsible for our success! Thanks very much and see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fortaleza, CE
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2013

The Green Grass was one of the best hostels I had stayed, I had living for 3 years in Europe, I stayed more than 30 hostels, I always look for a nice place, comfortable where I can meet people from other cultures and pick up valuable tips from the city. The Green Grass provides all this, environment friendly, the staff are kind and very helpful.

Gabriel, his girlfriend Luciana, his brother Marcio and the French Mike do everything to make you feel at home. The breakfast is very complete and is different from most hostels which I stayed. The room and the bathroom were very clean.

The hostel is located next to the metro (it was a 2 minute walk) which facilitates access to the best regions of São Paulo.

My boyfriend and I love Sao Paulo and We´ve been a few times, the city is too expensive and the daily rate is very affordable, helps offset the costs of the trip. We enjoy go to SP for gigs and culture stuffs. We will definitely stay again!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RenataRodrigues2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GreenGrassHostel, Owner at Green Grass Hostel, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Thanks very much indeed for your kind words! We feel great to have people like you guys here! All the best always and see you soon!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2013

Hostel keeper lacks knowledge about tour and transportation. The check in and check out time are 1400 and 1200. Early check in and late check out require it pay 15 real, I checked in 1500, the bed is not ready in reserved one. No one use the secure locker, because they are too small.
I stayed in beeds both in 1 and 2nd fl, the room in 1st floor has no window, no air conditioning, so we leave door open, it is nosy as people keep get in and we share the same room with the keeper. The night is busy.
No tour desk, or game room, the common area has TV, two computer. The room is small that, when we watching TV, people is walking in front of you blocking our views.
Gabriel threat us not to tell the true, or give image, otherwise he said he will sue us?

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Coral_Bay_HK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GreenGrassHostel, Owner at Green Grass Hostel, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
If you are reading this comment, please check all the others reviews and make your own opinion. Unfortunatelly, this guest refused himself to sleep in a bunk bed and due to his personal frustrations made this mischievous report.
Regarding complaints about the house size, we are glad to inform that we are already building a third floor featuring new bedrooms (ensuite) and a new entertainment room!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2013

Couldn't have asked for more during my first days in Brazil. I stayed here for 5 nights. The staff Gabriel and Mikey are incredibly friendly and very helpful - they helped me out with loads of gringo stuff while I was here, incl phoning home, where to get electronics and top spots to visit in Sao Paulo. Bathrooms are great, hot water, always clean; rooms are cleaned every day. Not very big but you don't need that much space anyway. Very close to Belem metro, making is super convenient. Great breakfast! Yum every day! Thank you guys and girls, you made my first few days in South America so comfortable and happy.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ingrid S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GreenGrassHostel, Owner at Green Grass Hostel, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Thank you very much indeed for each of your words! It was a pleasure to have you here! The Green Grass wishes you all the best of luck in South Africa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sao Paulo hotels
Total Hotel
#160 of 322 in Sao Paulo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Hostel Jardim Sao Paulo
#4 of 546 in Sao Paulo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
Cafe Hostel
#16 of 546 in Sao Paulo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aki Hostel
#12 of 546 in Sao Paulo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Mooca
Hotel Xeque Mate
Hotel Xeque Mate
#24 of 170 in Sao Paulo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
Mooca
Hotel Vitoria
Hotel Vitoria
#101 of 170 in Sao Paulo
3.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Grass Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Grass Hostel

Property: Green Grass Hostel
Address: Rua Herval 427, Sao Paulo, State of Sao Paulo 03062-000, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Sao Paulo > Sao Paulo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 546 Speciality Lodging in Sao Paulo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Green Grass Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sao Paulo's best value hostel, the Green Grass Hostel offers comfortable and brand new accommodation in a cosy and handy area. We are located only four stations away from Se (City Center) and the Metro is less than 2 minutes walking! The Green Grass Hostel is the closest to Guarulhos International airport (Only 1 station away from the bus stop - Metro Tatuape) and very next to Bras, Vinte ecinco de Marco, Municipal Market, Se and Luz - the historical Sao Paulo's center. Enjoy a typical and delightful breakfast and have a relaxing time with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Green Grass Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Grass Hostel Sao Paulo, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing