We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DO BOT BOOK THE TWIN ROOM!!”
Review of We Hostel Design

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
We Hostel Design
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“DO BOT BOOK THE TWIN ROOM!!”
Reviewed 21 February 2014

It's not a twin room..! Should be sold as the worlds smallest 2 bed dorm. It's smaller than prison cell and was probably a cupboard in a precious life. The room, approximately 3m x 1.5m barely fits a single bunk bed. It's a joke that this room can be sold as advertised. Myself and girlfriend were duped to pay upfront, we arrived early and couldn't view the room before check in but had to pay. We were then stuck with this shoebox. Very questionable management.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    49
    13
    3
    3
See reviews for
8
16
56
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013

This HH hostel is an old mansion from the 20´s with certain character in the overall architecture. It has been established less than 2 years ago, so the rooms, kitchen and bathrooms are clean and in good condition overall, yet to show signs of wear and tear with time. It is conveniently located, close to public transportation to many attractions in São Paulo, such as the Ibirapuera Park, Modern Art Museum. The Congonhas Airport is a $10 taxi ride away from the hostel. And of course, São Paulo is known for excellent culinary options, there are hundreds of restaurants in the region with varying prices for all pockets and tastes. Buses and subway are the affordable options to be chosen, being the closer subway station in a 20 min walking distance uphill (be prepared). The design and art déco inspiration are used to attract people for gatherings toward themes, so expect some busy evenings with folks happily drinking and eating in the hostel bar, where nearby some of the dorms are located. Anyways, I doubt if anyone in a touristic venture travels to a busy nightlife city like São Paulo to stay in a hostel is looking for sleeping and resting.

Room Tip: If you need to sleep or rest, stay away from the bar which can be busy until late everning. And also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carehta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013

The place is amazing, lots of character and a great breakfast. The staff were so helpful, especially Fernando! We originally were staying in the twin private, which is not good deal rather be in a dorm. It's so small you can hardly move. We changed to the double private which is excellent if you're willing to cough up the cash. It's so nice, has a hue private balcony and wide screen tv. Bit expensive though.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rachel3point14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 21 June 2013

Beautiful hostel in a safe, clean, location. Very friendly staff, excellent beds, very highly recommended. I checked in planning to stay one day, stayed for a week!
Breakfast is very good, fruit, strong coffee, toast, cheese and meat.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Piotr_London_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

We Hostel Design is great: when you enter the porch you feel like you've just booked a private villa. The design of the place is really nice, never overdone and sometimes smart solutions to give some style to simple things like a bathroom.

The breakfast is indeed good: the best coffee I've had in South America in two months, fresh fruit and the freshly baked cakes everyday!

The neighbourhood is really safe: a supermarket is closeby and the subway-station is a 10-15 minute walk uphill away. The MAM and MAC (modern art museums) are also at walkable distance and in the most popular park of Sao Paulo.

The breakfast- and cleaningstaff is superb and friendly, even making up your bed everyday (in a hostel that's unique!) And I did not count the amount of times that they cleaned the bathrooms and kitchen, but they were clean all day!

The boys at the frontdesk are friendly, but not all of them speak well enough English to help you out with your questions. And I noticed that they didn't know that much about the neighbourhood (where to find another laundryplace than the one that is two blocks away - that could only do the laundry in 5 days)).

There are just two critical notes. (Luckily the guy working on the day of my checkout asked me if they could improve anything, so I could tell him that...And yes, I think this is the best question any hostel should ask on the day of departure!!!!)

1. The noise at the patio. All the rooms have a window to the patio and during my stay is was quiet at nights. However, the windows do not shut completely and no noise is reduced, so in the morning you will probably wake up by Even with my earplugs in I could hear every word of the people that woke up a few hours after I got home ;) Just keep this in mind if you are going out in Sao Paulo during the weekend and want to sleep in the day after.

2. I went to the frontdesk two times because I thought I might found bedbugs. I had bites all over my legs and I wanted to know if I could have everything washed there. Both times I got the same answer: "if you want to wash you can go to the laundry two blocks away". I went there and they could only wash things in 5 days. I finally found one that could do my laundry the same day and I had to pay 45 B$ for that (which is more than $20,- ). I checked the bed and everything myself and couldnt find anything, so I concluded that it might have been sandflea-bites from a daytrip I did. Nevertheless I expected a more pro-active attitude from the staff and at least in a case like this, an option to get everything washed in the hostel, just as a precaution to make sure it wouldn't spread in the hostel in case it was bedbugs.

That said: I would definitely consider to go here again if I needed a quiet neighbourhood and was not planning to sleep-in after a good night out.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LiveLikeTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2013 via mobile

A really cool, modern yet charming house in a very safe area of Sao paulo, the we hostel was one of our favorite places during out visit to south america. The owner is extremely helpful and has a great energy which rubs off to the other members of staff! I will not forget him setting up the tv for the man utd vs real Madrid game and ordering in a pizza for us! Small things go a long way! Breakfast was also delicious. Whoever stays here will br impressed! Tip - check out the nearby park!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Engo77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, Ile-de-France, France
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2013

We stayed for almost two weeks in this incredibly design hostel.
The owner is very friendly and makes everything to make your stay as enjoyable as possible.
The breakfast is DELICIIOUS, the living room and the TV room are "like at home", the rooms and bathrooms are perfectly clean.
The kitchen makes you want to become the "cook of the year" !
Definitively a place I recommend !

Room Tip: prefer the 7 bed dorms instead of the 6 bed dorms, it is much bigger and cheaper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JERRAFLORE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sao Paulo hotels
Vila Mariana
Brazilodge All Suites Hostels
Vila Mariana
Sao Paulo Lodge
Sao Paulo Lodge
#1 of 572 in Sao Paulo
170 reviews
Vila Mariana
Uvaia Hostel
Uvaia Hostel
#63 of 572 in Sao Paulo
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Viva Hostel Design
#11 of 572 in Sao Paulo
143 reviews
Vila Mariana
The Hostel Vila Mariana
The Hostel Vila Mariana
#8 of 572 in Sao Paulo
277 reviews
Cafe Hostel
#19 of 572 in Sao Paulo
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to We Hostel Design? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about We Hostel Design

Property: We Hostel Design
Address: Rua Morgado de Mateus 567, Sao Paulo, State of Sao Paulo 04015-051, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Sao Paulo > Sao Paulo > Vila Mariana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 572 Speciality Lodging in Sao Paulo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — We Hostel Design 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The WE was designed for those who want to experience the most intense city in South America without letting go of comfort and the company of interesting people.We are more than just a regular hostel, and this is why we have developed a unique lodging concept bringing together comfort and style, safety and fun.The 1910s mansion had its original room disposition nearly unaltered, though it was completely renovated in terms of interior design and amenities. The decor has a retro inspiration, but with a modern and interactive touch. Our architectural project was based on the idea of combining the atmosphere of familiarity and coziness that only hostels can deliver to the style and comfort you are used to experiencing on the best hotels around the world.We know that shared spaces are very important at a hostel, which is why we've paid special attention to ours. WE was designed to provide the best possible interaction between our guests with each common areas featuring its own identity and exclusive items, such as the chalkboard on the ceiling of the glass room, the cinema at the eat&drink area, the comfort of TV room and the special decor at the lounge. To sum up, everything was designed to make your stay in Sao Paulo as exciting and pleasant as it can be.WE has 46 vacancies total, with shared rooms accommodating a maximum of 8 people. There is one en suit just for women, with a balcony; one room for couples, with a queen size bed and a huge balcony; one private room and 6 shared rooms. All the rooms are equipped withindividual lockers, wall sockets and reading lights.Located at Vila Mariana, one of Sao Paulo's most traditional neighborhoods, the hostel sits on a peaceful corner, right beside a bike rental spot and close to many of the city's famous touristic spots, as well as the main metro line that will get you to the most iconical touristics points and the domestic airport. But the important thing here is that the WE is extremely close to Parque do Ibirapuera,and just one block away from the bohemian Joaquim da Tavora Street, with its many bars and a exciting nightlife.You should also know that we offer towels, bedding sheets and Wi-Fi free of charge to our guests, and that breakfast is on us too. And if you need any further information our team will be happy to assist you - not only with things related to your stay at the WE, but also with tips and informations that will make you enjoy every minute of Sao Paulo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your We Hostel Design reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
We Hostel Design Sao Paulo, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing