We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“avoid it”
Review of Matsubara Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Matsubara Hotel
Ranked #118 of 326 Hotels in Sao Paulo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 October 2011

Definitely no value for the money. I stayed for 3 weeks and would rather not stay at this one again. Very disappointing.

Positive: Sushi bar/restaurant - good service, good food, but one cannot live on sushi or Japanese food alone day in and day out. Free wi-fi, although connection is not stable (anywhere from 6Mbps to 65 Mbps, on any given day at any given time while one's connected.)

Negative: There is nothing nearby the location except for a 24hr drugstore (omen?) and private residences. The Blooming Garden restaurant at the lobby ("international cuisine"), serves buffet style meals only - breakfast, lunch, and dinner (averaging about R$47 per person excluding beverages). There is no a la carte service at all. The lobby bar does not have posted hours (one never knows if it's open or closed and the service is sketchy at most) - beers: one long neck bottled beer brand and one canned beer brand, no drafts; it takes at least 15 minutes to make one caipirinha (muddled lemon, sugar, cachaca). There are no sit-down restaurants close-by (walking distance). About four were referred by the front desk when inquired. Housekeeping is not available 24 hrs - if your room is "skipped" because of a "do not disturb" sign on the door during the weekend, you may not get service for 2 days or after 2pm. Expect banging of the doors whenever a message or statement is slipped under the door (whether it be at 2pm or 2 am, the rule seems to be that you must be woken up to read whatever is slipped in under the door). Although marketed as a "business hotel", the room does not have a clock; the power outlet by the desk does not work, actually, the number of power outlets in the room is very scarce and where they exist, although it may looks as though your plug may work, it may not work for your specific plug, There is.no business center (copiers, printers, mail service, etc not available). For your mornings or meal outings, there are no taxis available out front and usually no one is there to help you get one if you need it. By the way, the "hotel service directory" binder is very outdated - does not mention wi-fi connection availability, actual TV channels do not match the listing, hotel restaurants' hours of operation are not listed. Keycard will demagnetize completely daily, even if kept away from electronics.

Room Tip: Views from higher floors may be better hotel surrounded by tall residential apartment buildings). Ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reviewer400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (367)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

19 - 25 of 367 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2009

Stayed at hotel for conference. I think I was upgraded to the jr suite--a corner room with a sitting/desk area. Looks pretty much like the photos on the website. Clean.

Bed was OK (foam mattress, ugly blanket and bedspread, 3 pillows--flat foam, lumpy foam, and feather) and I slept fine. Heavy curtains blocked all light (no shears so either open or closed). Windows can open for fresh air, but I did use the a/c because insects flew in. Old sleeper sofa and basic furniture. Plenty of lamps, though one's cord was a little sensitive. Broadband internet, 3 telephones, minibar, TV with a couple of English news channel, large closet, small safe, and full length mirror. Bathroom had tub/shower, Japanese toilet, magnifying mirror, and hair dryer. Basic towels and toiletries.

My rate included breakfast--Japanese buffet and Western buffet. Western offered bacon and another meat, scrambled or boiled eggs, cold meats and cheeses, yogurt, breads, cereal, fresh fruits, juices, coffee and tea. Japanese had the porridge etc. Fewer offerings on a holiday morning. I thought it was fine. So-so lunch buffet. Also a sushi bar in the evening, but I did not see it open or try it. Also a bar in lobby, but never open.

Looked at the small indoor pool and exercise room. Several machines. I didn't have time to use any of those facilities, the sauna, or the yoga classes. Couple of computers and a printer in the lobby.

Staff is very helpful. We had a couple of problems with paperwork on reservations and they were polite and understanding, seemed to trust that we would work it out. Comforting after an overnight flight when an early check in-half day rate was reserved. Held bags upon checkout. Always seemed to be a taxi waiting in the queue.

Tiny convenience store across the street with nice staff. Drugstore on other corner along with a cafe. Otherwise not much around for the guests. Strictly a place to sleep, not sightsee.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Metwo3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2009

Very big rooms, large bed.
Free internet in rooms and loby.
Breakfast could be much better. Poor variety.
Very small indoor swimming pool.
Small ginasium out of order for more than one month.
Located far from the center but near the wonderful city park 'Iburapuera'.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ruigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2008

I booked another one for my stay, the "Formula 1", and just stayed there the first night. That one was horrible, and so tiny! The next morning we wonder around town, and close by we found this one. Amazing hotel and great rates! Really, it has sauna and pool on the upper floors, and we were not able to find it on the internet. I extremely recommend, and the breakfast buffet is really good! Couldn't be happier, really.

Very clean rooms, and with lots of space. The rooms come with spacious closet, good AC, TV, great looking bathrooms, a safe deposit box, and around a good (safe) neighborhood. 5 min walk to the nearest metro station, which is very important. Great staff, great service. We had a room change because our AC was not working at first, and they promptly changed us to a room of our election!

Can't complain, great choice!

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank TRIQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Carolinamvalle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Renato L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
Thank Elaine Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sao Paulo hotels
Vila Mariana
Mercure Sao Paulo Paraiso
Mercure Sao Paulo Paraiso
#75 of 326 in Sao Paulo
677 reviews
Grand Plaza Sao Paulo Jardins
#63 of 326 in Sao Paulo
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Tulip Paulista Plaza
#27 of 326 in Sao Paulo
1,252 reviews
Vila Mariana
Tulip Inn Sao Paulo Paulista
Tulip Inn Sao Paulo Paulista
#81 of 326 in Sao Paulo
335 reviews
Ibis Budget Sao Paulo Paraiso
#117 of 326 in Sao Paulo
2,579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Matsubara Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matsubara Hotel

Address: Rua Coronel Oscar Porto 836 | Paraíso, Sao Paulo, State of Sao Paulo 04003-004, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Sao Paulo > Sao Paulo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#78 Business Hotel in Sao Paulo
Price Range: £54 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Matsubara Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 153
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Matsubara Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Matsubara Hotel Sao Paulo, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing