We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Most ridiculous experience ever”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Praca da Arvore Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Most ridiculous experience ever”
Reviewed 30 September 2011

I've been around to many places in my life, but never have I experienced such a ridiculous thing as what happened at the Praca da Arvore Hostel. I had been there previously at one occasion without trouble. The second time though this is what happened:

On the third day of my staying I found that one of my Cokes in the fridge was missing and remarked about it, even though I wasn't accusing anyone specific. All I said was that a Coke was missing and that someone must have taken it. The two present cleaning ladies started immediately turning very defensive about the whole thing and repeatedly stating that I hadn't marked the Cokes with my name, and therefore they could be removed.

I was trying to get across that even though something in the fridge isn't marked with a name it doesn't give anyone the right to take it. I wouldn't take anything that doesn't belong to me. Quite simple. This dialog lasted for maybe 2-3 minutes without any outbursts, noise, disturbance, shouting, name-calling or such. I left the scene and forgot about the whole thing.

Later on I was sitting by myself when one of the cleaning ladies showed up and confessed she had taken my Coke in the fridge and wanted to give me a new one. I said it was fine, thanked for the Coke and that everything was OK. After an hour or so one of the staffs approached me with an ultimatum that I had to apologize to the cleaning ladies or leave the hostel. Guess if I was taken aback?

I've never heard of paying guests being kicked out from hotels or hostels for minor misunderstandings. If a trifle like this one can cause you to being kicked out then you should think twice before checking into this place. The people working there seem to act more like a gang of youthful friends covering each others backs rather than a professional team of service providers.

The whole act reveals a simple lack of both judgment and maturity. Apparently the woman that had taken the Coke couldn't handle the situation and felt she had lost her face somehow, with the subsequent rationale of her being the victim and me being the bad guy. If a guest sets the place on fire, steals money, plays loud music in the middle of the night or uses violence I can understand that he/she be asked to leave. But this case is just too far out. Ridiculous is the word.

Furthermore; being a foreigner this really didn't help the image of Brazil.

Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
Helpful?
6 Thank Boris N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hostel266, Gerente at Praca da Arvore Hostel, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Hello Boris,

Thank you for your feedback. Please know that the Hostel has new manager and staff, if you give us a chance we'll do our best to change your image about our Hostel and Country.

Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    45
    13
    2
    4
See reviews for
6
4
50
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 December 2009

Warm people and great staff!!. Quite cheap also. The only thing is that is not very close to the metro station so you have to walk quite a bit

Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Ravager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hostel266, Gerente at Praca da Arvore Hostel, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Thank you, hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bremen, Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2009

I won't recommend this HI hostel to anyone who visits Sao Paulo. Is far from the center of the city. Worst thing is the hotel is located an inclined road so every morning you should climb up the street and then walk four or five blocks to reach the metro station (they say its near bur it's not).

You know, I paid for one kind of room and ended in a dormitory with seven other people. You can imagine how bad the situation was at the morning with all these people trying to go the bathroom and the noise when someone entered the room in the middle of the night.

Be careful, they don't accept VISA credit cards. I had an argument with the staff because of that and they were about to call the police because I only had Peruvian currency. Lucky me a guy sold me some dollars to pay the bill. Because of that problem, I lost my bus connection to Rio and ended with a terrible backache for carrying my luggage thru the inclined road.

I will never return to Praça da Arvore, it's the worst hostel I've been in my life.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank killthepixelnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hostel266, Gerente at Praca da Arvore Hostel, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Hello dear,

I'm sorry that you had such a bad experience with us. Please know that the Hostel now has a new manager and staff, if you have the opportunity to come back to São Paulo we'll be glad to overcome your expectations and erase this bad image you have from our Hostel.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rondebosch, South Africa
Level Contributor
109 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2007

This HI hostel is a great place to stay if you need to be near Congonhas airport in Sao Paulo. We only stayed a night, but it was clean, comfortable and spacious and the staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast was amazing - the best we had the whole month we were in Brasil.

  • Liked — The friendly and excellent service!
  • Disliked — beds just a little hard?
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank mmre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hostel266, Gerente at Praca da Arvore Hostel, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Thank you! It has been a long time, we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sao Paulo
Ibis Budget Tambore
#8 of 9 in Barueri
3.5 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
Solidaritat Hostel
#118 of 559 in Sao Paulo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
Rainbow Motel
#12 of 12 in Jundiai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mi Casa, Su Casa
#31 of 559 in Sao Paulo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
Vila Mariana
Purple House Hostel
Purple House Hostel
#39 of 559 in Sao Paulo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Viva Hostel Design
#9 of 559 in Sao Paulo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Praca da Arvore Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Praca da Arvore Hostel

Property: Praca da Arvore Hostel
Address: Rua Page 266 | Chacara Inglesa, Sao Paulo, State of Sao Paulo 05274-100, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Sao Paulo > Sao Paulo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 559 Speciality Lodging in Sao Paulo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Praca da Árvore Hostel is the first hostel in the city, with more than fifteen years old. Clean, safe, quiet and great value Hostel in São Paulo. Close the Praca da Arvore Subway station, Ibirapuera Park, Imigrantes Convention Center, Hospital São Paulo, the Zoo and the way to the beaches. The hostel offers a high standard of accommodation and service in the south area of São Paulo.We are a very internationally friendly hostel and if you are not familiar with the city we will do everything we can to help you get the most out of your visit. We are proud to be an affordable and great value hostel with the first and best breakfast in town, individual lockers, dormitories ensuite and couple rooms, kitchen, internet and wi-fi for free, no curfew, 24h hot water, bed linen included in the rate, and smiles and love... We look forward to welcoming you and hope you enjoy your stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Praca da Arvore Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Praca Da Arvore Hostel Sao Paulo, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing