We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A friendly oasis!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Outback Steakhouse

Outback Steakhouse
Ranked #81 of 38,108 Restaurants in Sao Paulo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Healthy, Soups, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Elgin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“A friendly oasis!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2013

My friend and I were soooo relieved to find this place when we visited Brazil. We were a little daunted about São Paulo and were really put at ease by the waiting staff in this restaurant. The place was filled to the rafters and the steak was just class!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PistachioIce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,066 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,208
    1,432
    329
    62
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
124 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“service is absolutely lousy, and food terrible”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

You have to book a table, but you need an extra 30minutes, before you are seated. The food is terrible, and price very hight.
The restaurant, is dedicated to birthday party as, in one evening you have at least, 10 groups celebrating. Definitely, not a quite place. It Looks like a TGI restaurant.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ernanim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
68 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Food is good, but not worth waiting”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2013

I rate this restaurant and its service average not because of the food or the staff, but because of the inexistance of a booking system.

I've been to this restaurant a few times during lunch and twice for dinner. The food is good (I really enjoy the Australian bread they serve), the steak is tender and cooked the way the client orders (medium/ rare/ well done). Service is very good, although sometimes the waiters might be "too nice and friendly" (I mean that sometimes it seems to be fake).
The ambience is very cool and it is nice either for couples in a romantic date, either for groups of friends.

Well, the only (and BIGGEST) problem is that they don't make reservations. That means that at a Friday or Saturday evening, or Sunday lunchtime, you might stand up to 3,5 hours waiting for a table. I just can't figure out why this restaurant hasn't found out the "miracle" of booking yet.
In my opinion, even if the food was divine (and it is not), it wouldn't be worth spending so many hours waiting. I prefer to go somewhere else.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Viking_Janaluna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
51 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Awesome food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

The service is great and staff so friendly and helpful. A bit expensive but well worth it. A great evening an great atmosphere

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jan e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zurich
Level Contributor
78 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good Food and good service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2013

I have eaten at outback in different parts of the world but this one is well located and the food was fast and service was very good. The steaks are large and well prepared and enough to feed and hungry person.The starters are large and if you want to eat your main just have the small ribs and not the large as I did.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank snelljustin27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Outback Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to Outback Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing