We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food but doesn't deserve the high ranking” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Brasil a Gosto

Brasil a Gosto
Ranked #344 of 38,108 Restaurants in Sao Paulo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Brazilian, South American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Jardins
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
258 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
“Good food but doesn't deserve the high ranking”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2013

The first thing that struck us in this restaurant was the decor and ambiance. We were seated downstairs and the atmosphere just seemed odd (too quiet, not many tables). We then realised there was an upstairs and after a quick reconnoiter we asked to be moved. Upstairs the atmosphere was much better but the decor was still a little odd but I suppose it was in keeping with the natural/traditional ethos of the restaurant. The food was pretty good but I wouldn't call it "special" we played safe (probably should have experimented a bit more) and went for steaks as main course. The service was fine but again nothing exceptional. There was one really annoying point however, when we arrived we were given without asking, cheese sticks and crispy bites then when the bill came we had been charged for them. Admittedly after complaining they took them off the bill but watch out.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Chesterdoggerel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

556 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    339
    159
    40
    9
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Samara, Russia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Good place to have a meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2013

Visited it at dinner time, so I was able to order dish of the day and it was rather tasty and interesting. There are some english-speaking staff in the restaurant (you know, it is rarity in Sao Paolo), and it was pleasure for me to speak to people who understand my words.
Atmosphere and interior is calm, clean and is an island of tranquility in the see of busy city.
As for prices, they are not so high: salads are about 30R$, main dishes 50-80R$.
If you are looking for some place to have a meal with pleasure and without problems, I recommend you this place

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Yaroslav S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“If you want to try Brazilian Food but barbecue is not what's on your mind: this is the place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2013

It feels like home... The whole team is very well trained: they understand the plates and can answer all your questions! The food is well seasoned, well prepared and outstanding presentation. You really feel that you´re the most important people and being treated as Royalty!

I know exactly where to go with friend to have a great meal and experience!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BettyLM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Male
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Low profile restaurant....that over delivers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2013

We went for dinner to Brazil a Gosto after a terrible experience in one of the TOP restauraunts in Sao Paulo.
We didnt know what to expect.
From the first moment the Hostess Adriana turn out an OK entrance to the restaurant to a place that we really wanted to experience.

The service was great, people very atentive and the food was very good as well.

We took the testing menu and we enjoyed a lot the Prawns Salad, the Tilapia and the fish.

The desserts were very good as well.
Very humble restaurant, NO pretencious and honest food and service.
Teh restaurant was full of locals and that means a lot.
We will be back.

Thanks Adriana for making your best in order to accomodate our needs.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JBBBBB65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Maybe i've not been lucky, but a bit overrated maybe”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2013

Not impressive interiors. Food was various and good, but nothing really outstanding. Very quick service (maybe too quick...!?).
I spend 170R$ for a complete dinner with the seasonal menu...to be honest, overpriced.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Fracca32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Brasil a Gosto also viewed

 

Been to Brasil a Gosto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing