We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HISTORIC BUILDING, BEAUTIFUL SCENERIES, MARVELOUS BEACHES”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Solar das Aguas Cantantes
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Ubatuba
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 November 2013

This old mansion turned into a hotel is a gem. Price is fair, rooms are simple and clean, food is amazingly good, swimming pool is excellent. Bring a lot of insect repellent - could be worse than Ilhabela as it is very close to a huge area of green preserved forests. At the restaurant, try the moqueca - it is superb! We also ordered the pirao - also exquisite. It is a walking distance from three amazing beaches. One of them - Domingas Dias Beach - is a piece of paradise lost. Green everywhere, calm waters, no waves… soft sand below your feet… amazing! do not miss it! It will not be your place if you look for a sophisticated place like DPNY in Ilhabela - but for the fair price and service, you will get the real Brazil on great style. Be prepared to leave your car on the street.

Room Tip: look for rooms on the second floor as they have a nice view of the neighborhood and beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (112)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 112 reviews

Reviewed 8 September 2013

It was a total pleasure to stay in Solar das Águas Cantantes for a couple of days, as I was looking for a place to cool down and de-stress in my short vacation. Not only it stays close to a heavenly beach, it was also very comfortable, and the perfect find for plant lovers like me – it is populated by plants that mingle in the central courtyard. Breakfast was simple. Dinner is great, deserving of the great reviews and recommendations. Staff was lovely!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alvaroantonio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2012

Having stayed 3 times in Solar das Aguas Cantantes in the past years, this hotel seems to be deteriorating quickly. OK, it is low season now and, even during a holiday, the hotel was relatively empty. However, for this exact reason, the staff should be more careful and attentive with the service being provided to their few guests. Urgent renovation is needed.
Built in colonial style and with a nice pool next to the central courtyard and restaurant, Solar das Aguas Cantantes was once charming, but now lacks some shine. The rooms are spacious, although with disproportionally small bathrooms and virtually no amenities. When we arrived to the hotel, there were lots of death insects near the window. The breakfast was only average, offering the standard ham, cheese and cereals, besides an assortment of mostly industrialized breads, cookies and cakes. Nothing really special.
It is surprising that their restaurant still hold an star from the most prestigious guide in Brazil (Guia 4 Rodas), considering their limited menu, with very basic side dishes and poor/ outdated wine list.
It's located on a quiet corner of Lazaro beach (50m away from the beach itself), with easy access to Ubatuba's main marina (Saco da Ribeira) and to the south beaches. During holidays and high season, it can be a real hassle to get to the center due to the ridiculous traffic.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MVZanetti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2011

Our bird watching group stayed here in June. Our room had a nice balcony with a hammock overlooking the tropical landscaped courtyard. We were happy to have screens on the windows to keep mosquitoes out. Our small room was comfortable with fridge, desk, and tv. You gotta go down to the lobby area to get good wifi signal. Our group of eleven people enjoyed the poolside patio for our drinks and dinner. The staff was very accommodating to our early morning request for breakfast at 6:00am. Wonderful breakfast of fresh fruits, cereal, breads, cheese, meats, beverages etc. The hotel is walking distance to the beach too. This hotel was one of many on our tour through Brazil. We saw many fantastic birds in the Ubatuba area and this was a nice relaxing home base for our group.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LavenderHydrangea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2008

We only came to Ubatuba to go to the Turtle sanctuary and surfing and this accomadation was ideally situated.

The hotel was a little andalucia style with its central courtyard, btw, full of mozzies because of their fountain and greenery, spray yourself well.
The reception is a little room and difficult to find. The staff are a little laid back and also hard to find.

We had 2 adjoining rooms, very large with en-suites, air con and non english channeled tv's. Clean and well equipped.

The restaurant was good for breakfast and excessively overpriced for anything else, never even tried the chips at £5 !!

The pool area was small and you could eat out there also for dinner. Shaded in the late afyternoon and early mornings.

Th games room was a fuseball and pool table, reading area and lounge. All lovely old wood, great decor.

I would not book again here as you have to leave and drive about 5 miles for the nearest restaurant and i certainly was not going to pay their hotel food prices.

The beacjes locally were great, surfing trainers there and £20 for 2 hours is great.

The turtle sanctuary is fantastic and for 100reis you can adopt one and get a certificate and t-shirt too.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
12  Thank lamio01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017, travelled on business
Thank OdoardoH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: no andar superior os quartos são mais silenciosos.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank PFranceschi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubatuba hotels
City Center
Hotel e Pousada Parque Atlantico
Villa di Capri
#15 of 20 in Ubatuba
291 reviews
Hotel Porto do Eixo
#14 of 20 in Ubatuba
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wembley Inn Hotel
#6 of 20 in Ubatuba
306 reviews
Ubatuba Palace Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ubatuba
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Solar das Aguas Cantantes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Solar das Aguas Cantantes

Address: Estrada do Saco da Ribeira s/n | Praia do Lázaro, Ubatuba, State of Sao Paulo 11680-970, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Sao Paulo > Ubatuba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Ubatuba
Price Range: £70 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Solar das Aguas Cantantes 3*
Number of rooms: 257
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Solar das Aguas Cantantes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Solar Das Aguas Cantantes Ubatuba, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing