We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing place to show the best of Brazil to my boyfriend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pousada Tribo Ubatuba Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 August 2013

I brought my boyfriend to his first visit to Brazil and decided go to Ubatuba (cause i love this city). We found a hotel and booked 4 nights in there..after d first night we decided to move cause we were the only guests in a huge hotel and was quite cripy...My friends told me bout tribo hostel and we decided ttry to find it. Couldn't ask for anything better...private room, swimming pool, receptionist extremely friends and one of the staffs were playing brazilian musics with his guitar beside d swimming pool all night..what made my boyfriend be completely delighted and tell all his irish friends how this hostel is amazing and recommend to everybody.
we definitely will go back to tribo... oh ye, and their caipirinha is great...

Desculpe nao me lembrar os nomes, mas a mocinha da recepcao que ficou um tempao conversando comigo sobre a irlanda e o rapaz que tocou violao os 3 dias que ficamos hospedados no hostel, merecem meu obrigado do fundo do meu coracao por terem feito meu namorado amar o brasil e querer voltar sempre... =)

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karenz17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (255)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

15 - 21 of 255 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2013

Tribo it's a great Hostel to Stay in Ubatuba.
Is located in a good beach in Ubatuba from the Hostel is like 10 minutes walking. I've been there twice and both times there was cool people traveling and enjoy the place. Definitely I will be back in another ocasion.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LucasCN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2013

I love Tribo!!! the best part is.....well, i cant pick just one thing! the staff is over the top friendly, caring, and helpful.... i loved the swimming pool, clean, refreshing, and a great place to meet others staying in the hostel. The FREE breakfast is by far the best i have ever seen in a hostel! including, home made breads and cakes, fresh juice, coffee, tea, yogurt, milk, cereals, cookies, tons of fresh fruit, scrambled eggs and sausages....and more! they have super fun parties on the weekends with bbq, drinks, music on the beach, dancing, and lots of fun! many friendly fun brazilians from the city come here on the weekends and its a great place to meet locals. i stayed in a shared female dorm, which had 4 beds and a bathroom..(i think all the rooms have their own bathroom), it had a window to the outside and ceiling fan...very clean and comfy, not too crowded! i stayed almost 2 weeks! tribo is in a sleepy part of town, about 20 min from the city center, which is a very cheap bus ride away and the bus stop is only a 5 min walk. there are still some restaurants and grocery stores within walking distance. there is access to 3 beautiful beaches only minutes walk away...i think Sununga might be the most interestingly beautiful beach i have ever seen!...be prepared to be dazzeled by the huge waves, a cave and beautiful skim boarding boys! if your up for some exercise, they will rent you a bike and you can ride the rolling hills on the highway (there is a sidewalk) to several other beaches. they also have pool table, darts, tons of movies with a flat screen tv, well stocked kitchen, and utility sink to do small bits of laundry. it is totally safe here in Lazaro...i walked alone by myself all hours of day and night here and felt totally at ease. U must stay here when in ubatuba!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brook M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2013

staff is very friendly, and two of the day staff know english, one of them very well. this is a textbook hostel, with a huge open dining room that looks out onto an open pool yard and deck with a fabulous open view of the green mountains.

good:
* music playing and atmosphere
* pool was cleaned every day we were there
* daily maintenance fixing issues and improving the grounds (while we were there they put up a nice big table umbrella for shade and fixed a broken window the very next day)
* pool table converts to amazing all you can eat buffet for breakfast with lots of things to try and some new types of cakes each day.
* easy walk to a clean beautiful beach

bad:
* clean staff is slow, so the bathrooms TP bins get full of flies and old rooms with food left in them attract ants (But when you say something they respond quickly)
* kitchen is small, really can have only two people in there cooking at once.

note: there are multiple buildings, so you may be in a quieter building away from the front desk that doesn't have staff or internet.

Room Tip: rooms are a bit small, but the lockers are really sturdy and built into the walls. i stayed in both...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kayrez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2011

The Tribo hostel is one of the best hostels I stayed in in Brazil!
It is only a 2 minute walk to the beach, which btw is absolutely beautiful (quiet, crystal clear water)!!!
The center of Ubatuba is a rough 30 minute ride with the bus from here, but all you need is available at 2 super markets close by!

The staff:
very very nice and super fun!!!
They do speak good English, so don't worry!

The room:
All rooms have ensuite bathrooms, which I think is a huuuge plus!!!
I stayed in a 4 bed dorm and it was all very clean!
But be aware of the mosquitos!!!

The hostel has its own pool and a nice open common room at the lobby, which serves as the dining room in the morning for breakfast. Breakfast is decent but good!
There is a corner with a TV and they have all kinds of movies!!! Which I think is very nice for a get together in the evening.

They have a kitchen which can be used from 10 to 10 for cooking.
And they have 2 big refridgerators for your stuff to put in.
If you don't like to cook, there are a bunch of take out service pamphlets lying around ;)

All I can say is, I had a very fun time in Ubatuba!

Not only the staff is great but the people you will meet there!!!!!!
Trust me, at breakfast you will definetly make new friends to hang around with for the whole rest of your stay!!

The whole atmosphere at the Tribo hostel is awesome!!!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hannah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2011

I had a very pleasant stay at tribo hostel.
Staff is very friendly and the breakfast is gourgeous. Such a nice place to meet new friends and have memorable moments.

The staff will provide you with good info about the place and tips for you to have fun.


Free wi-fi is available and it is always welcome.

Congratulations to the Tribo Team!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EduardoMantovani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gui_Tribo, Owner at Pousada Tribo Ubatuba Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2011

Hi Eduardo!! THanks for your rewiew, hope see you soon at Tribo hostel!!

best regards,
Gui Tribo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2011

We booked with great view! It's not but very comfortable..and very tastefully decorated The communal areas are also beautiful....

Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
2  Thank littletwit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubatuba hotels
Villa di Capri
#14 of 20 in Ubatuba
292 reviews
City Center
Hotel e Pousada Parque Atlantico
Dona Benedita Hostel
#9 of 271 in Ubatuba
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ecotrip Hostel
#6 of 271 in Ubatuba
150 reviews
Aquarius Chales
#113 of 271 in Ubatuba
32 reviews
City Center
Na Praia Family Hostel & Coworking
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada Tribo Ubatuba Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Tribo Ubatuba Hostel

Address: Rua Amoreira 71 | Praia do Lazaro, Ubatuba, State of Sao Paulo 11680-000, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Sao Paulo > Ubatuba
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 271 Speciality Lodging in Ubatuba
Price Range: £19 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Pousada Tribo Ubatuba Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Tribo Ubatuba Hostel Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing