We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise found”
Review of Pousada Picinguaba

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Pousada Picinguaba
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Ubatuba
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Paradise found”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We spent 5 days at Pousada Picinguaba the week before last and it was the highlight of a fantastic trip to Brazil. The Pousada is beautifully decorated, oozing comfort and style. It has the feeling of a home (albeit an incredible one). From the moment we arrived in the tiny local fishing village and were helped up to the Pousada with our bags, where we were greeted with a warm welcome from the ever-friendly staff and a papaya juice, we knew we were somewhere special. The food was absolutely delicious and we looked forward to dinners of the freshest fish imagniable and an array of vegetables and salads. We were lucky to have very good weather for 4 of our 5 days. When it's sunny, the pool setting is pretty spectacular and it is a great place to lie out. If you are feeling more energetic, there are lots of possible activities: we did kayaking one day, for example. If you're unlucky and it rains, the house is still a great place to kick back, lounge and read a book. We were truly exceptionally well looked after during our stay. I would also mention that, although we went as a couple, it is a very family friendly place. We were very sad to leave and will definitely return - hopefully sooner rather than later .... Thank you!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Niamh D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pousada_Picinguaba, Gerente de relações com clientes at Pousada Picinguaba, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear guest:
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review describing your experience with us.
I have had shared your feedback with our team and everyone here was very happy to hear that Picinguaba was the highlight of your trip in Brazil.
We appreciate your comments on the food, we have a special care to ensure that our products are freshest available on the day.
We are looking forward for your next stay with us.
Thank you!
Oseias Castro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    184
    36
    24
    27
    8
See reviews for
59
157
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hitchin, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We were driven down from Rio by an excellent driver and saw many interesting Towns and great views on the way. The weather could have been better but it was a perfect end to a great trip to Peru and Brazil. Lovely friendly helpful staff at the Pousada, and we really enjoyed the food.

Room Tip: Most of the rooms have good views across the gardens and to the Bay. We had a balcony which was deli...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pousada_Picinguaba, Gerente de relações com clientes at Pousada Picinguaba, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for the lovely comment. We are truly happy to hear that you had a joyful stay with us..

We hope to welcome you again in a near future.

Warmest Regards,
Oseias Castro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

We spent 4 days at the Pousada at Picinguaba last week, and have to say it is one of the finest experiences we have ever had - we just loved everything. First the atmosphere of a truly unspoilt tropical fishing village protected from the ocean by a string of jewel like islands - and wonderful stretches of deserted beach to swim and kayak from. The hotel is a jewel - simple, very contemporary in its genuine desire to not murder the planet - but luxurious nevertheless. There is a small and perfect pool set in beautiful gardens overlooking paradise - with a great bar. The food is divine - mainly super fresh seafood - (as it should be - we went on to somewhere nearby that kept serving us salmon that came from God knows where and tasted of nothing but sadness) and superfood organic vegetables, salads ( palm hearts cut from the jungle !!) and exotic vitamin bursting fruits. There is a super wine list - small but very well chosen and homemade breads, cakes and delicious breakfasts topped it off. The staff are really lovely - the manager Oseias is superb and his staff are so helpful and so sweet. Pousada is a small hotel - 10 rooms - but it felt like the planet might have a future at this place - unlike our preceding visit to New York, where it felt like the planet was about to take it's last gasp. PLEASE keep going Pousada Picinguaba - we love you - we need you - you are a real inspiration !

Room Tip: The honeymoon suite is bigger and lovely, but all the rooms although not big are very fine indeed (w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sookay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pousada_Picinguaba, Gerente de relações com clientes at Pousada Picinguaba, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear guest:

Wow, thanks so much for taking the time to write a review describing your experience with us so quick! It is very satisfying for us to read your review and realize that we are making true our dreams of giving a luxury but sustainable local Brazilian experience to our customers.
Your “The Real Thing - authentic paradise” review placed a smile in our faces a soon as we read it. Thank you for sharing it with us.

We specially appreciate your comments on the food, we have a special care to ensure that our products are fresh, organic, and local.
We really did love having you at our property and it is very flattering to receive such good comments about the Pousada.
Oseias sends his best. It would be a pleasure having you again in the hotel.

Our doors will always be open for you.
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

We went first to Catucaba, the "sister" fazenda, and a fantastic place too, up in the mountains -then to Picinguaba. Most people stay just a few days, we where there for six days. The place is special and you have to be able to see the unique qualities, a visit in a protected unspoilt area, a hotel basking in a luxuriant splendid setting where nature is radiant in colour and vibrancy. The nature and the views are breathtaking. The hotel is small and the rooms are fairly modest, however we got the roof top room thats was a true delight so we had a marvelous time. The staff is so nice, such friendly and sweet natured people. The pool is small but keept clean and fresh and it resides on a veranda overlooking the bay with a fab view. Dinners by the pool in the evening are magic. Food is local, not always exciting but done with lots of effort and love. That is worth something in it self. One day we had scallops for lunch - total bliss. Breakfast is good, with local food, not least because of the rich and intense tasting fruit that is on offer. We took boat rides along the islands and other beaches. The scenery is magic, the water a pure pleasure and the whole expirience is unmissable.
However - this is a place where simplicity, kindness, freshness and breathtaking beauty is on offer, it is not for the poolparty or brand-name crazed crowds, nor for the people that want high tech spec hotels and flashy adornments. This is about life, not artificiality. It is a different sort of luxury, not material, more spiritual..
I loved it, and I recommend it to those that have a heart. I might add that I have travelled for 40 years in most parts of the world, rarley have I seen anything of this type, this is a pre-tourist invasion thing comparable to my early experiences from the West Indies or the Pacific Islands in the 1970-ies....

Andrejs

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrejs L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We selected pousada picinguaba in between our iguazu and rio stays hoping to relax for 4 days and mostly enjoy beach life. I'm in favour of small simple hotels offering genuine food as long as they don't set unrealistic expectations. This was not a luxury stay nor was it a special experience. This is a guest house with a pretentious marketing and extremely high prices for what it offers.
The main flaw of the pousada is that the nice deserted beach it faces is about 40 minutes by foot and 30 min by kayak. Once there, there is no small beach bar to buy a bottle of water and the thought of having to paddle back 30 min under the sun or walk back just puts you off. The village beach is not inviting and the pool is small. The village offers nothing except the picinbar - a beach bar with great fish and moquecas. The rooms are simple and would be ok if they didn't have the air conditioning vent blowing in your face all night (highlighted to the staff but nothing was done) and making large noises. The dinner is good but served at the time they decide. It is a buffet dinner with 1 selection of main course (usually fish) and vegetables and rice. The breakfast is disappointing with a good selection of fruit and not much else. The people are nice and try their best but are definitely not trained.
Would not recommend

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Sandyrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pousada_Picinguaba, Gerente de relações com clientes at Pousada Picinguaba, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Dear Guest,
We really thank to each of our guest that posts reviews about our hotel. Our senior management take them very seriously and appreciate them. We are certain that they help us improve overall.
All our staff in Picinguaba is very saddened to read about your experience. That said, we think is important to share some information and explanation about our concept.

Picinguaba is a simple but very exclusive place. We want to offer to our guests a special experience and the opportunity to live for a couple of day by a tiny fisherman s village wich expreses brazilian authenticity.
Our spirit can't follow the traditional luxury hotels standards: for us luxury is related in many ways to simplicity, natural remote settings and organic food.

Regarding Praia da Fazenda is a pristine cost line…and luckily there is no bar. Our guests generally take 20 minutes to walk to that magical place and 20 minutes Kayak. This beach is 1.300 mts away from the village.
We are very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy our walk to the beach.
It is a very local and authentic walk, full of Brazilian nature and atmosphere.

About the pool size, the fact is that it has 10mts X 4mts.

Our dinner time always starts at 8.30 pm, we serve everyone according to to their arrival.
Picinguaba’s gastronomy is not sophisticated, we offer fresh, local and healthy food. Our breakfast is a tasting menu nutritional balanced served
with fruit, hand made breads, Honey, fruit juice, eggs, cakes , cheese and
and natural yogurt,among other things.

Once again, thank you for your comments.

Best Regards,
Oseias Castro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Baie, Riviere du Rempart, Mauritius
1 review
Reviewed 20 November 2013

This was the highlight of our Brazilian trip. The lodge is secluded on a forested peninsula and has spectacular views of the bay and mountains. Despite the feeling of seclusion, it is a very short walk down the the authentic, friendly, tiny fishing village and beautiful beach. Its a great launchpad to explore what must be one of the nicest stretches of coastline in the world (and we live in Mauritius!). The staff were friendly and the food was great.

Hope to return one day!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pousada_Picinguaba, Gerente de relações com clientes at Pousada Picinguaba, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Thank you so much for your kind comments.
We are proud that you enjoyed your stay. We do our best to combine the local atmosphere and amazing surroundings.
It also makes us very happy that you liked our beaches….and coming from Mauritius!
Hope you come and kayak on them again!!
All the best,
Oseias
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zimbabwe
1 review
Reviewed 11 November 2013

The place, the people, the energy, the colors, the flowers, the food, the locals, the weather (rainy and sunny), the temperature, the flow, the plans, the sounds, the water, the fish, the fruits, the smiles, the birds, the naps... everything is absolutely fantastic in the Pousada. The real luxury in a tiny little fishermen town between Sao Paulo and Rio de Janeiro.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Esteban F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pousada_Picinguaba, Gerente de relações com clientes at Pousada Picinguaba, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you so so much for all these kind words… We are truly happy to hear that you enjoyed Picinguaba.
We will take your challenge of inventing a new adjective….quite a big one! In the meantime try to express it by: “Natural Luxury, Real Brazil”

Everyone in Picinguaba sends their warm regards,
Oseias Castro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubatuba hotels
18.3 mi away
Villa di Capri
Villa di Capri
#13 of 19 in Ubatuba
285 reviews
16.4 mi away
Hotel Recanto das Toninhas
16.8 mi away
Wembley Inn Hotel
Wembley Inn Hotel
#6 of 19 in Ubatuba
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.9 mi away
Hotel Coquille - Ubatuba
15.7 mi away
UPG  Hotel
UPG Hotel
#5 of 19 in Ubatuba
116 reviews
15.4 mi away
Ubatuba Palace Hotel
Ubatuba Palace Hotel
#4 of 19 in Ubatuba
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada Picinguaba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Picinguaba

Property: Pousada Picinguaba
Address: Rua G 130 | Vila Picinguaba, Ubatuba, State of Sao Paulo 11680-000, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Sao Paulo > Ubatuba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ubatuba
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ubatuba
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Ubatuba
#9 Family Hotel in Ubatuba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Pousada Picinguaba 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Picinguaba overlooks a peaceful bay at the heart of the Natural Park of Serra do Mar, the tropical coastal forest running between Rio and São Paulo, about half an hour's drive south of Paraty.It is the only charming hotel in a 30km radius. It faces the sea and a 3 km-long protected sandy beach. The hotel offers (09) nine comfortable rooms all opening onto the natural surroundings and the sea, including a dream honeymoon Suite with en suite jacuzzi and a breathtaking view of the ocean. The local road stops at the beach and one has to walk the last 250m to the hotel, nestled in the forest.Everything here is attuned to the spirit of the place, with nothing to disturb nature's magic: no TV or telephone in the rooms, no Internet, no air-conditioning. This place is for you to be in a different world, the only sounds are the wind in the palm trees and the sea gently lapping the shore.Pousada Picinguaba was selected in HIP HOTELS as one of the 80 most extraordinary hotels around the world and was featured in National Geographic Stay List 2011. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pousada Picinguaba Hotel Ubatuba
Pousada Picinguaba Ubatuba, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing