We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“peaceful”
Review of Pousada Picinguaba

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Pousada Picinguaba
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Ubatuba
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 July 2014

it did take us 3 hours to find the hotel but when we did it was extremely nice with very attentive service, its a good 300 yards from the nearest road, had to walk across a beach to reach the steep incline path to the hotel. it was 7am when we arrived and a manager,David could not have done any more to help us. the breakfasts and suppers were extremely good and the rooms very clean. one downside and i'm not sure we can blame the hotel was the amount of mosquito bites we got even though we had a net over our bed.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adrianqpr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pousada_Picinguaba, Gerente de relações públicas at Pousada Picinguaba, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2015

Dear guest,

We are happy to receive your comment, thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience. We are truly happy to hear that you had a joyful stay with us..

We hope to welcome you again in a near future.

Kind Regards,

Pousada Picinguaba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (287)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

50 - 56 of 287 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2014

Imagine: you are on a small hilly road. You get to a fisherman village, on the beach. Here the road stops, among vessels and drying nets, and you have to walk your way thru the narrow street of the village, until you get there: a posada full of charm, garden of flowers, deck with breathtaking view over the sea. You are in paradise and the rest of your experience is just going to be on the same tune. Wordless...

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Benoit R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pousada_Picinguaba, Gerente de relações com clientes at Pousada Picinguaba, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your comments.
We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. Indeed Picinguaba is a perfect combination of local atmosphere and amazing surroundings.
We are looking forward for your next visit. We will keep this little paradise well preserved for you.
All the best,
Oseias

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Spent 4 nights here at the end of 8 weeks touring South America to chill out before our long flight back to Australia. Our travel advisor had said that some of her American guest had said the hotel was to quiet & with out the amenities of a larger resorts , I said great just what I want.
I was warmly rewarded , what a brilliant place to relax , but also there are plenty of things to do
which can be arrange by the hotel ( bush walks ,trips to Paraty & a cruise on their own Schooner)if you so wish or just lie by the pool looking at the amazing view over the bay to a 3km beach. The rooms were great ,as was breakfast. The service was second to none & all the staff were friendly & went out of there way to help you. The Dinner at night is included in your stay & is mainly local fish & veggies from their own farm which was very homely & fits in with the feel of the place like one big home . They also change the menu for my wife who does not eat fish & the schooner ride was enjoyable & the walk to the local beach across a river was fun. A great place to end our trip! (Could not my wife out of the Hammock on the balcony)

Room Tip: All rooms have nice views with a great hammock the balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank craig m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pousada_Picinguaba, Gerente de relações com clientes at Pousada Picinguaba, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Dear guest:
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about your experience in Picinguaba.
We are very happy to hear that your stay was perfect mix of relaxing and activities, also that you enjoyed our concept.
The hammocks and views are here just waiting for your next visit.
Kindest Regards,
Oseias Castro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We spent 5 days at Pousada Picinguaba the week before last and it was the highlight of a fantastic trip to Brazil. The Pousada is beautifully decorated, oozing comfort and style. It has the feeling of a home (albeit an incredible one). From the moment we arrived in the tiny local fishing village and were helped up to the Pousada with our bags, where we were greeted with a warm welcome from the ever-friendly staff and a papaya juice, we knew we were somewhere special. The food was absolutely delicious and we looked forward to dinners of the freshest fish imagniable and an array of vegetables and salads. We were lucky to have very good weather for 4 of our 5 days. When it's sunny, the pool setting is pretty spectacular and it is a great place to lie out. If you are feeling more energetic, there are lots of possible activities: we did kayaking one day, for example. If you're unlucky and it rains, the house is still a great place to kick back, lounge and read a book. We were truly exceptionally well looked after during our stay. I would also mention that, although we went as a couple, it is a very family friendly place. We were very sad to leave and will definitely return - hopefully sooner rather than later .... Thank you!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Niamh D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pousada_Picinguaba, Gerente de relações com clientes at Pousada Picinguaba, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Dear guest:
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review describing your experience with us.
I have had shared your feedback with our team and everyone here was very happy to hear that Picinguaba was the highlight of your trip in Brazil.
We appreciate your comments on the food, we have a special care to ensure that our products are freshest available on the day.
We are looking forward for your next stay with us.
Thank you!
Oseias Castro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We were driven down from Rio by an excellent driver and saw many interesting Towns and great views on the way. The weather could have been better but it was a perfect end to a great trip to Peru and Brazil. Lovely friendly helpful staff at the Pousada, and we really enjoyed the food.

Room Tip: Most of the rooms have good views across the gardens and to the Bay. We had a balcony which was deli...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pousada_Picinguaba, Gerente de relações com clientes at Pousada Picinguaba, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for the lovely comment. We are truly happy to hear that you had a joyful stay with us..

We hope to welcome you again in a near future.

Warmest Regards,
Oseias Castro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

We spent 4 days at the Pousada at Picinguaba last week, and have to say it is one of the finest experiences we have ever had - we just loved everything. First the atmosphere of a truly unspoilt tropical fishing village protected from the ocean by a string of jewel like islands - and wonderful stretches of deserted beach to swim and kayak from. The hotel is a jewel - simple, very contemporary in its genuine desire to not murder the planet - but luxurious nevertheless. There is a small and perfect pool set in beautiful gardens overlooking paradise - with a great bar. The food is divine - mainly super fresh seafood - (as it should be - we went on to somewhere nearby that kept serving us salmon that came from God knows where and tasted of nothing but sadness) and superfood organic vegetables, salads ( palm hearts cut from the jungle !!) and exotic vitamin bursting fruits. There is a super wine list - small but very well chosen and homemade breads, cakes and delicious breakfasts topped it off. The staff are really lovely - the manager Oseias is superb and his staff are so helpful and so sweet. Pousada is a small hotel - 10 rooms - but it felt like the planet might have a future at this place - unlike our preceding visit to New York, where it felt like the planet was about to take it's last gasp. PLEASE keep going Pousada Picinguaba - we love you - we need you - you are a real inspiration !

Room Tip: The honeymoon suite is bigger and lovely, but all the rooms although not big are very fine indeed (w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sookay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pousada_Picinguaba, Gerente de relações com clientes at Pousada Picinguaba, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Dear guest:

Wow, thanks so much for taking the time to write a review describing your experience with us so quick! It is very satisfying for us to read your review and realize that we are making true our dreams of giving a luxury but sustainable local Brazilian experience to our customers.
Your “The Real Thing - authentic paradise” review placed a smile in our faces a soon as we read it. Thank you for sharing it with us.

We specially appreciate your comments on the food, we have a special care to ensure that our products are fresh, organic, and local.
We really did love having you at our property and it is very flattering to receive such good comments about the Pousada.
Oseias sends his best. It would be a pleasure having you again in the hotel.

Our doors will always be open for you.
Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

We went first to Catucaba, the "sister" fazenda, and a fantastic place too, up in the mountains -then to Picinguaba. Most people stay just a few days, we where there for six days. The place is special and you have to be able to see the unique qualities, a visit in a protected unspoilt area, a hotel basking in a luxuriant splendid setting where nature is radiant in colour and vibrancy. The nature and the views are breathtaking. The hotel is small and the rooms are fairly modest, however we got the roof top room thats was a true delight so we had a marvelous time. The staff is so nice, such friendly and sweet natured people. The pool is small but keept clean and fresh and it resides on a veranda overlooking the bay with a fab view. Dinners by the pool in the evening are magic. Food is local, not always exciting but done with lots of effort and love. That is worth something in it self. One day we had scallops for lunch - total bliss. Breakfast is good, with local food, not least because of the rich and intense tasting fruit that is on offer. We took boat rides along the islands and other beaches. The scenery is magic, the water a pure pleasure and the whole expirience is unmissable.
However - this is a place where simplicity, kindness, freshness and breathtaking beauty is on offer, it is not for the poolparty or brand-name crazed crowds, nor for the people that want high tech spec hotels and flashy adornments. This is about life, not artificiality. It is a different sort of luxury, not material, more spiritual..
I loved it, and I recommend it to those that have a heart. I might add that I have travelled for 40 years in most parts of the world, rarley have I seen anything of this type, this is a pre-tourist invasion thing comparable to my early experiences from the West Indies or the Pacific Islands in the 1970-ies....

Andrejs

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andrejs L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubatuba hotels
Villa di Capri
#13 of 19 in Ubatuba
291 reviews
Wembley Inn Hotel
#6 of 19 in Ubatuba
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Hotel e Pousada Parque Atlantico
UPG Hotel
#5 of 19 in Ubatuba
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada Picinguaba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Picinguaba

Address: Rua G 130 | Vila Picinguaba, Ubatuba, State of Sao Paulo 11680-000, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Sao Paulo > Ubatuba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ubatuba
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ubatuba
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Ubatuba
#9 Family Hotel in Ubatuba
Price Range: £92 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Pousada Picinguaba 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Picinguaba overlooks a peaceful bay at the heart of the Natural Park of Serra do Mar, the tropical coastal forest running between Rio and São Paulo, about half an hour's drive south of Paraty.It is the only charming hotel in a 30km radius. It faces the sea and a 3 km-long protected sandy beach. The hotel offers (09) nine comfortable rooms all opening onto the natural surroundings and the sea, including a dream honeymoon Suite with en suite jacuzzi and a breathtaking view of the ocean. The local road stops at the beach and one has to walk the last 250m to the hotel, nestled in the forest.Everything here is attuned to the spirit of the place, with nothing to disturb nature's magic: no TV or telephone in the rooms, no Internet, no air-conditioning. This place is for you to be in a different world, the only sounds are the wind in the palm trees and the sea gently lapping the shore.Pousada Picinguaba was selected in HIP HOTELS as one of the 80 most extraordinary hotels around the world and was featured in National Geographic Stay List 2011. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers and Prestigia so you can book your Pousada Picinguaba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Picinguaba Hotel Ubatuba
Pousada Picinguaba Ubatuba, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing