We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (292)
Filter reviews
292 results
Traveller rating
191
38
28
27
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
191
38
28
27
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfishing villagehoneymoon suiteday tripboat ridespent nights hereamazing locationsmall villagepeaceful atmospherefresh fishschoonerbayrioparatypousadaluxurybrazilcoast
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 292 reviews
Reviewed 18 November 2017

Let's start by saying that I am an EXTENSIVE traveler (even if I don't often post reviews!). From business to leisure travels, from thrift accommodations to very luxurious, on all continents, for 25 years.

The hotel has been abundantly marketed in Deco magazines and through photographs enthusiasts posts. And frankly the viewpoint from the swimming pool is stunning. There are not that many other view points though.

In reality, once you saw the (again, amazing)view point, it is important to note that the actual premises of the hotel are...non existent: there is the pool area...and that's it, no garden, no access to a beach or other view points. It can feel a little constraining but you can walk to the fisher hamlet down the hill, there is beach there.

For the rest, the main thing to say is this: it is outrageously expensive...for what you get. From international standards perspective, for Brazil, for what you get. From any points. We were not even high season. The place is really nice. But for THAT price it really is difficult to understand how you can get SUCH a cramped bathroom (and again, I did not come here to have a Ritz type of bathroom, but that was hostel like, you basically don't even have a space to put your bathroom stuffs!), there is barely any places to put your clothes on, the total square footage is really limited - again, compared to the price point. We had come there, partly on the premise that we were happy to experience the simple and organic life, that is not the issue. The fact that you don't have bottle water in the room is part of this, this is not what this review is about...It is the ratio value for money.

Also, we did a boat trip that was...quite underwhelming to say the least - and again, everything has a price and I am saying, compared to the price. It was supposed to be a whole day boat trip to go through some of the more secluded places of the coast. (stunning coastal natural park in the area, we drove the whole coast). We were taken to an island in front of the village. The beach was literally FULL of people, was dirty (not the hotel fault though! It is just that you would imagine that they know better than the average tourist where to take you) and quite far from what we were sold. But ok, we just asked the skipper if we could move somewhere else. We moved to another beach on another island, where we could walk for just about 300 yards/meters (the rest was off limit). We stayed there until it was lunchtime. Very very simple lunch that frankly must have cost them peanuts (again, I can eat super ultra basic food - very happy with that. It's all a matter of what you get for what you paid). Not even a sweet thing to finish or a tea or a coffee for the whole day. Then the boat did not move for about 2,5 hours. And then....we sailed back!! THAT was the boat day trip. Seriously....I have been doing these kind of things in Asia, Arabic countries, remote places of Africa, the Americas etc...I could really see what other things could have been done. I don't know if they were saving on fuel or something but we were quite underwhelmingly stunned...

anyways...again, general impression is that it's a rustic experience (fine) with a beautiful viewpoint, but with offerings and accommodations that really can NOT justify the pricing, even if you consider that you have to subsidize a little bit the "alternative" sustainable and organic lifestyle (I should mention I am an economist by profession, ha!)

Room Tip: my understanding is most are similar except the honeymoonsuite (many reviews here r about that room but it's a totally different experience!
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Alterite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pousada_Picinguaba, Responsable commercial at Pousada Picinguaba, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2018

Dear Guest,

We really appreciate your comment and we take it very seriously to continue improving the experience we offer.

Our rooms and bathrooms are known to be smaller then regular top-hotels because we are the only hotel inside the estate park and we must comply with the areas already existing and approved, we focus our experience in outdoor activities as we believe the beauty of the region and of the experience is there, we inform this to all our guest on the first contact.

Also it's know that we promote connectivity to nature and to people, reason why we don't have tv, internet or any other equipment in the rooms. In addition, the entire concept of our traditional kitchen is based on local and fresh ingredients, organically produced at our sister property Fazenda Catuçaba. We offer no red meat because we don't produce it. All about our philosophy is explained in our website.
Most of the comments we received are very possitive about the food we offer, so it is indeed a shame you didn't appreciate it.

We don't offer plastic bottles at the hotels as sadly most of them finish at the bay of Picinguaba so we decided to offer a thermos bottle on each room in order to protect the environment and our region.

On the region there are more than 60 different beaches, to some of them it is necessary to walk, specially for those who are more protected an deserted. The hotel offer guides and transport for those guest who really want to avoid the crowd of the high season.

We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience,

Thank you very much!

Wishing you a wonderful 2018!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2017

We stayed for two nights in the Honeymoon suite which is a beautiful room with a great view and jetted tub. As it was off season, there were not many other guests there but the service was still excellent. The room was clean and well appointed. The bar was always open and Michell was very friendly and served us excellent beer and caipirinhas! Breakfast was typical food for Brazil and very fresh. Dinner was absolutely delicious! All the staff were friendly and willing to spend time with us discussing the area and the resort.
Yes, the town of Picinguaba is small and a bit isolated via some rough roads but it is only 10 mins off the main road between Ubatuba and Paraty. We loved the small village feel and had a light lunch at one of the local bars. We took a boat ride to Ilha des Couves, a small island about 10 min boat ride. Had the best lunch ever of fresh fish, rice, beans and salad. The island is small but so beautiful! Well worth the trip.

We also went to Paraty for a few hours and had lunch at Cafe de Canal. The resort called ahead for us and special ordered Escondidinhlo for us...it was perfect.
We will definitely return to Pousada Picinguaba and spent more time then.
Muito Obrigada to all the staff!!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ewilkinson411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2017 via mobile

We were on our last week of our honeymoon in Argentina and Brazil, and this place was unforgettable. We had the honeymoon suite which had wonderful views over the bay. All the staff are really friendly and helpful, and get to know you during your stay. We could choose any activities we wanted to do each day from kayaking, surfing, boat trips, etc. We were given a bespoke trip when a local guide called Betu took us on a hike through jungle and swimming in fresh water pools. The food at the hotel was all fresh from their farm and we loved to eat the catch of the day. To love this place, you need to appreciate all its quirks and natural beauty. It is "rough around the edges" and not a fancy plush city hotel. But it still feels welcoming, special and high standard. You almost feel like you've discovered a hidden secret, as it's not a tourist spot familiar to many British tourists. We can't wait to go back again some time in the future.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank nicolef009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2017

Great place, welcome is perfect, view astonishing.
Do not expect 5 stars luxury but real contact with nature, people and feeling at home.
We stayed three nights: boat trip is great (do ask for standing paddle with it), kayak rides (use moustic repealant), layed on the beach and near the pool. Rooms ars small but very cosy.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank jeromebouin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pousada_Picinguaba, Director of Sales at Pousada Picinguaba, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2017

Dear Jerome,

Thanks for your message.

We are extremely happy to read your comment and to know that you had a great experience at Picinguaba. As you quoted our main purpose is to connect our guests with the nature, with the local traditions and with the history of the region while enjoying the experiences we organize.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Once again thanks for visiting us.

Best Regards,

Pousada Picinguaba Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2017 via mobile

We just spent a weekend at Pousada Picinguaba... and we were positively surprised! The place is a colonial house in the hill, hidden in the middle of tropical forest... facing Pincinguba's bay, north of Ubatuba. The view is pretty amazing! We arrived Friday late night... dinner time was finished but they manage to serve us when we arrived. Breakfast is delicious and everything very fresh... as well as dinner, included. They served dinner outside on Saturday, at the deck by the pool... with candles! Besides the delicious fresh scallops, a whole fish braised on charcoal was served! Service is premium. The whole staff is amazing! If you can, try room #10. Best view with a balcony!

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Julia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pousada_Picinguaba, Director of Sales at Pousada Picinguaba, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2017

Dear Julia,

Thanks for your message.

We are very happy to know that you had a great experience at Picinguaba, we always recommend our guest to stay not less than 4 nights with us as we believe it is the correct time to interact with the nature that surround the property, the local people and to enjoy all the activities we organize to enjoy.

Our fresh vegetables are cultivated with love in our sister property Fazenda Catuçaba what allow us to offer tasty and healthy food in our tables.

Once again thanks for your visit.

Warm Regards,

Pousada Picinguaba Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews