We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location, but lousy maintenance.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Recanto das Toninhas
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Ubatuba
Certificate of Excellence
Sao Paulo, Brazil
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice location, but lousy maintenance.”
Reviewed 16 July 2013 via mobile

That's a nice hotel, good location, a few meters from the sand and a nice swimming pool. But the maintenance is poor, due to the high humidity, salinity and warmth. Most of the metal parts of the room, and specially in the bathroom, they are all rusted. I think it's overpriced after all.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Botter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    143
    122
    36
    11
    4
See reviews for
164
86
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Flims, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
217 reviews
212 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2012

This hotel is the best place in Ubatuba. The location is perfect. No noisy road in front of the hotel and a lot of natur around. It's a nice charming, quiet, middle class hotel in wooden style. No luxury but everything in good shape. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The beach is great, if you like waves. The beach bar is basic, little, but it works well for your satisfaction. The food is good and better than anywhere in Ubatuba. We stayed at this hotel for two nights, it's worth. Without this hotel, we wouldn't stay in Ubatuba. That says it all.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hotbath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 6 Contributor
711 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 376 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2012

It is a nice hotel, located at the Toninhas beach, right before Praia Grande. Although it is a charm hotel, the food is not that nice, with cold dishes that should be hot. They have beach service and a small pool. The rooms smell like they were closed for a long time and it might be uncomfortable for those with rhinitis or other allergies caused by dust.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank RenataBiancalana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

The hotel had a promotion where every room paid would give a friend a free room. Therefore my friend and I split the value and it ended up being a good deal. The hotel belongs to Roteiros do Charme and is a fair value for what you pay. Nothing special or relevant to mention.

Room Tip: Do take the rooms facing the beach as you'll be pelased to sleep with the sound of the waves.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carlos23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2011

This is a great location by all means, with breathtaking sea view and a cozy swimming pool to the opposite side, but the limited comfort of the rooms is substandard for a hotel this price. Some people might enjoy the rustic atmosphere, nautical decor and kitschy style, but why spend this kind of money for so little?

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Marc977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brazil
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2008

Well, it should have been an excellent stay but it turned out to be just ok!. This hotel is very expensive, and we expected more. The bathroom has cracked appliances and is small and shabby. The hotel looks worn out and old! Not really planning to come back! For this price we'd be well of someplace else!

  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
21 Thank lucyoliver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whidbey Island, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
291 reviews
153 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 544 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2006

For the forth or fifth time, we spent a weekend at Toninhas, the first time other than at low season. Although 40 of the 54 rooms were occupied, it was quiet and the sound of the waves breaking was soothing.

Toninhas beach faces due east on the open sea with Namibia the next land fall in that direction. Therefore, unlike many of Ubatuba's beautiful beaches, Toninhas receives the full force of the ocean.

The service provided by a well trained staff is well above average. They even replaced a 60 watt light bulb with a 100 to facilitate reading after dark. There are hooks on the back of the bath room door and the size of the soap is generous. A complimentary Saturday "feijoada" was part of our weekend package which is expensive but worth the price once in a while.

Helpful?
6 Thank FromBrazil71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubatuba hotels
1.8 mi away
Villa di Capri
Villa di Capri
#13 of 19 in Ubatuba
285 reviews
0.9 mi away
Wembley Inn Hotel
Wembley Inn Hotel
#6 of 19 in Ubatuba
277 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Coquille - Ubatuba
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Ubatuba Palace Hotel
Ubatuba Palace Hotel
#4 of 19 in Ubatuba
254 reviews
6.6 mi away
Itamambuca Eco Resort
Itamambuca Eco Resort
#7 of 19 in Ubatuba
492 reviews
1.7 mi away
Aquarius Chales
Aquarius Chales
#107 of 218 in Ubatuba
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Recanto das Toninhas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Recanto das Toninhas

Property: Hotel Recanto das Toninhas
Address: Rodovia Rio Santos Km 55,5, Ubatuba, State of Sao Paulo 11680-000, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Sao Paulo > Ubatuba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ubatuba
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Ubatuba
#6 Romantic Hotel in Ubatuba
#6 Family Hotel in Ubatuba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Recanto das Toninhas 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Recanto das Toninhas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Recanto Das Toninhas Ubatuba, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing