We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Superb!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Regina Maria Spa Design Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Regina Maria Spa Design Hotel
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Balchik
Certificate of Excellence
Tacoma, WA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Superb!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

My wife and I recently spent three nights at the Regina Maria Hotel. Very modern and clean hotel in an excellent quiet location away from the center of town, but within easy walking distance. The staff was very friendly and extremely helpful during our stay.

This hotel has all of the amenities that make for a very comfortable and enjoyable stay. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PhilTacoma_WA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    21
    10
    2
    1
See reviews for
19
33
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

Food really tasty and cheap.
Place is situated quite far from the "center" but worth the walk.
Good place for vegetarians (not vegans)

The hotel looked good quality and the staff were very friendly and warm.

I am disappointed that I didn't have a chance to visit the spa.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank lero1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

Do not be fooled by numerous positive reviews - this is so far from a four-star hotel. At close to $100 per room, this is far from a "2-star" price in Bulgaria, too! In fact, you're being ripped-off.
Everything about this hotel spells cheap. It's a hoax; It's laughable, even. Where do I start... It's not particularly clean. The "flat screen TV" is some non-brand, the size of a computer screen. But most importantly, there's the mattress! That probably cost 20 lev... It was impossible for my husband and I to sleep there together, since every time he moved slightly, the bed shook. We had to ask for an extra bed where one of us slept. What else,.. there was no hot water sometime in the mornings! And the water pressure extremely low...
But what topped everything, was a surreal incident we had. One night, my husband and I raised our voices. Not very nice of us, surely; but somehow the terrace next door did not look like the terrace of a room to me (it was a weird shape, and I thought it was probably office...) - and therefore I allowed myself to speak louder. So, at one point, while sitting on the terrace and talking, I was shocked by a flashlight directed to my eyes, and I saw the eyes of what seemed a mad person. We got the point. The next day, we sat on the balcony without even speaking. Even so, there was a knock on our door that sounded like a break-in. Too scared to open, I sent my husband. At the door, was our neighbour - a Russian - with a wood log (!). He said he'd beat us if we spoke loud again. Surely, I said, no need to try and scare us, and your Russian ways don't work with us. I sincerely apologized about the first night's disturbance, and asked whether anything was now being heard from our room or balcony. No, he said, but if you ever raise your voices, I'm here to warn you just in case. I am friends with the owner, he added. He quoted our names he was obviously given at reception...
Romantic this hotel isn't, nor is it luxurious. The canopy bed with extra-cheap mattress was particularly funny. And, for romance and a sense of real luxury, do rent a villa next door, in the genuinely unique 'Palace'... not only you'll have space and complete PRIVACY, but you'll also be able to endlessly stroll in the Garden and suck in the atmosphere of the whole architecture-and-park complex, still heavily haunted by the spirit of Maria.
The only good point I can note about Regina Maria hotel, are the sunbeds right above the sea water; although there isn't much privacy there, either (all too close to one another). Not to mention the rust and unusable steps to the sea... I do hope nobody gets hurt there!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Diana_C_74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barendrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

Just went here for a massage, not to spent the night since I rented a villa close to this location.
Such a shame I only discovered this place at the end of the holiday the day before I returned home, otherwise I surely would have visited this Spa more often.
I chose to have a honey massage which was truely tremendous, the prices are really friendly and the hygiene was tiptop.
Together with the diner I had at a restaurant, only a little further on the boulevard, it was a great way to end the vacation.
Last but not least, compliments to the lovely lady behind the counter, who spoke perfectly English!

Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Kevin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Constanta, Romania
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

I think this is the best and the most romantic hotel ever. I loved it. I love also the romanian name :D it has an excellent indoor swimming pool , heated , a very nice spa and the studio it`s fantastic. I loved that i could go on the balcony also from the bathroom, the mirror on the sealing and the bathtub in the room. It`s very nice for a romantic weekend. We were during spring time and i felt like in the middle of the summer. I was impressed by the stuff that they started the air conditioner one or two hours before we arrived and they always smiled and chit chat with us. I will come back here every time i want to have a romantic weekend. Very quiet and very clean. The studio it`s very big, with garden and sea view. Thanks

Room Tip: The best room i think it`s the studio. We loved it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RazvanCretu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofia
Level Contributor
262 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2013 via mobile

It's not expensive, 5 m from Black Sea, it is well maintained and beautifully build...
No complains about the service as well...
There is no beach, but the gardens of Balchik and a historical villa are near by, so the location is the best here.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sashkow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest
Level Contributor
62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

The hotel is situated 50 meters away from the Queen's Mary tower and the entrance to the Botanical Garden.
The rooms are big and all have sea view. The sea is about 20-30 m away from your balcony.
Staff was helpful and friendly.
The breakfast was ok but for other meals make sure you make your wish understood by the waiters :).
There is a pool inside and one outside but since it was winter we couldn't check the outside one. There is also a small sauna and a steam bath (access was included in the price of the room).

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank marcelc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Balchik hotels
0.0 mi away
White Rock Castle Suite Hotel
0.0 mi away
Marina City
Marina City
#6 of 20 in Balchik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
0.0 mi away
Helios Hotel
Helios Hotel
#4 of 20 in Balchik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Bisser Hotel
Bisser Hotel
#7 of 20 in Balchik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Paris
Hotel Paris
#13 of 20 in Balchik
3.5 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lighthouse Golf & Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regina Maria Spa Design Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regina Maria Spa Design Hotel

Property: Regina Maria Spa Design Hotel
Address: Damba Sea Alley, Balchik 9600, Bulgaria
Region: Bulgaria > Dobrich Province > Balchik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Balchik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Regina Maria Spa Design Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Regina Maria Spa Design Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regina Maria Spa Design Hotel Bulgaria/Balchik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing