We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Family Holiday”
Review of Ice Angels Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ice Angels Hotel
Ranked #8 of 29 Hotels in Borovets
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Family Holiday”
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We have just returned from a week away at this hotel and loved it, the manager came out to welcome us and wish us well on our journey home and the staff were very helpful.

We had a beautiful room facing the slopes with a balcony, the other members of our party two adult children with their partners and brother in law were also in lovely clean rooms. the hotel was right in the midst of it all which was great for the day, you will need to bear in mind that being in the midst you are also there at night which does mean noise, we shut the windows and doors and slept well.

The resort itself was good but if you do not ski there was not enough really to do, and if you are like me that you need ski school I would recommend private lessons, the trouble with the schools were they do expect you to be with them the whole time, as my family were skiers they would go off and want to meet up with me at lunch but i was made to feel that being part of a school, ("we are a team and need to stay together" as per my teacher's quote) you were letting the side down. Needless to say only stayed with the school for 3 days too much for me after that.

For the skiers that are looking to go here I would suggest you check the weather reports, we went 8th February 2014 for 7 nights and there was very limited snow, there was only 2 runs open so can imagine how busy it was.

Would I go back to this hotel, yes without a doubt, I do understand the comments with regards to the food but also understand that we are very privileged in our lives and albeit that the food was a bit basic it was more than edible.

One last thing you must have a massage, the girls were great, the pool is a little small but more than adequate and the steam room and jacuzzi were just what the doctor ordered after a day on the slopes.

Room Tip: Ask to face the slopes
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cambridgetink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    28
    11
    4
    4
See reviews for
36
29
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Great location right on the slopes. Modern bedrooms and a lovely small Spa which can ease any aches and pains a way with a massage, hot tub, sauna or vapour bath. Reasonable prices and very friendly and helpful staff who all spoke English.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pj028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Our second time here and we had a great stay, friendly, clean, well run and cheap / great value to the point of amusing and a superb spot right on the piste, nice and small and the terrace at the front is brilliant

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Regularhoteluser257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 January 2014 via mobile

First impressions are good but sadly it's all down hill from there!
Where to start with this place!
Firstly we booked this place ahead of Rila hotel( just opposite) for it's internet in rooms as the other hotels only had it in the lobby
area.
We asked the receptionist if we could move as it had no internet and a smokey smell from the wood burners outside on the terrace, she did move us to another room but again no internet and a smokey smell, they now think we are being awkward for asking to move again and blank us when we ask to move again even though we are sacrificing our view of the slopes we even accepted a twin room to avoid the smokey rooms at the front. No help with moving, attitude of reception staff is insulting to the hard working people of hospitality.

We paid for half board breakfast and dinner, breakfast isn't worth getting up for always cold, half empty and to ask them to top it up is like iv asked them to run up the mountain kill the pig run down cook it a deliver to the buffet! Really not worth it with the amount off tutting by staff they should start a band!
Dinner was good nice salad, soups and main so they clearly have a good chef although he must of had his balls tied to having to serve an apple and orange for dessert not peeled or chopped.

My advice is stay at the Rila hotel a little cheaper but smoke free and although no internet in rooms well neither do ice angel. Such a shame but had to write it

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank looney1234567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthEast UK
Level Contributor
191 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

My second visit to this terrific Spa based in the Ice Angels Hotel. This time booked with the other ladies in my ski group. We had what is listed as the 'Romantic Spa treatment for 2'...but it worked brilliantly as a girlie after ski treat....use of sauna, steam room, Jacuzzi, 1 hr massage and facial masque...plus bottle of fizz per couple...what's not to like.!! They can do 2 massages at a time in the same room. I had the male masseur Yuri..and he's terrific...negotiated a small discount and it came to just over £30 each....great value...and a nicer venue than the spa in our hotel at the Iglika Palace.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeemerF650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
woking, surrey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Just returned from Borovets after spending christmas at the ski resort..two Adults and my son aged 12 years. Partu of 15 incl 7 kids all staying at different hotels within the resort. My family stayed at Ice Angels.

Good points..

Small boutique style hotel.

The Ice Angels is bang slap at the end of the slopes and very close to the button/chair lifts. For Bulgarian standards, the hotel is contemporary and modern. clean rooms/cleans sheets and good size room. modern bathroom with shower and bath. Two flat screen TV's with at least two english speaking channels incl movie channel. Nice seating area, incl kettle and minibar. Balcony was also included. Stayed in room 102 which provided two seperate bedrooms , one double one with two singles.

The hotel has a pool and spa area although we did not manage to locate this and assumed that it was very small.

Good Ski and Snowboard place connected to the hotel. would reccomend you hire ski/snowbord stuff from here so you can ski in an out. good friendly staff and excellent instrutors. We hired Alexander for some snowboarding lessons and he was an excellent coach.

Hotel Staff, generally helpful when asked.

Bad Points..

Very Loud music coming from night club pretty much every night, repetitive rave music which felt as though it was in our bedroom. this continued till 3am in the morning. if you want a good nights sleep this is NOT the hotel to stay in, which is a shame. I cant express how loud it was, with my 12 year old kept awake with the noise. even tried ear plugs to no avail.

Food is edible but very limited and not the best at all. Breakfast not great either although they had cereal/eggs and bread for toasting. would reccomend that you book bed and breakfast only and eat out to be honest as you will not enjoy the food on offer. I would caveat this with saying that most of the hotels offer very basic food.

Overall it's such a shame that the nightclub is so loud as the hotel is actually very nice, but when you have been on the slopes all day and you have children it is absolutely impossible to get any sleep at all.

Had christmas dinner at the Alpin Hotel, which to our surprise was very good indeed.
One of our part stayed at the Yanakiev which we visited for drinks. This was also located on the slopes, nice new hotel and would probably stay there if we went back to Borovets. Nice modern/clean and no noise to content with.

Good Ski resort for beginers including ski and boarders. child friendly and lots of places around the resort to eat out and good value for money.

Anderson Family
(Woking/Surrey)

Room Tip: stayed in room 102. Balcony and two seperate bedrooms/ Seating area and good for families or two peo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maggiean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria, England
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

Fantastic hotel with an excellent location, right on the ski slopes. Friendly staff, lovely spacious rooms. Breakfast is a little boring and often cold, evening meals are also not very hot but good choice. Looking forward to staying again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dawn2241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Borovets hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rila Borovets
Hotel Rila Borovets
#6 of 29 in Borovets
3.5 of 5 bubbles 761 reviews
1.1 mi away
Euphoria Club Hotel & Spa
Euphoria Club Hotel & Spa
#3 of 29 in Borovets
4.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
0.1 mi away
Festa Winter Palace Hotel
Festa Winter Palace Hotel
#10 of 29 in Borovets
4.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Club Hotel Yanakiev
Club Hotel Yanakiev
#5 of 29 in Borovets
4.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Yastrebets Wellness & Spa
0.2 mi away
Samokov Hotel
Samokov Hotel
#12 of 29 in Borovets
3.5 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ice Angels Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ice Angels Hotel

Property: Ice Angels Hotel
Address: National Ski and Snowboard Center, Borovets Resort | Borovets Ski Resort, Borovets, Bulgaria
Region: Bulgaria > Sofia Region > Borovets
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 29 Hotels in Borovets
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ice Angels Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Ice Angels Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing