We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Borovets Hills Hotel
Ranked #22 of 29 Hotels in Borovets
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Quiet hotel”
Reviewed 11 February 2014 via mobile

We came as a small group of 2 guys, we were staying in one of the private apartments rented by someone we knew back home.

The hotel itself is located about 2-3 miles up the hills from the main gondola, but it's only a 5 min walk to one of the chair lifts that accesses the better side of the mountain (in our opinion). You can get a free bus (when skiing) to and from this lift to the main gondola on a daily basis, so being far away from the main resort was never as issue.

We tried the hotel restaurant one night but found the food to be overly salty & burnt in some cases. Steak was very salty and the risotto had burnt mushrooms! - reasonably priced but you'll find better in town.

Free wifi even from the apartments, but I will agree that the reception staff at the hotel are bloody awful! - we knew a taxi driver but couldn't use our mobiles, so had to go and ask them to call him for us, the fist time was fine but the second lady we had was dreadful! - tutted at us and then insisted we paid 1lev for her to make the call for us!

Overall, if it's cheap enough, go for it! But don't expect the red carpet to be rolled out.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Rskinwill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    7
    9
    5
    1
See reviews for
6
6
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Anyone not recommend this hotel. First of all when we arrived at 16:20 our room was not ready and we should wait fmore than an hour. Reception service is terrible and also the bar service is very slow. Troughout the hotel is terrible cold and has no heating and you should stay with a had and jacket. And also very far from the lift station. The food in the restaurant is very salty and not tasty.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dessislava B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Borovets hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

The hotel is same 2,5 km off the center of the resort, so no way for when to get involved into the night life unless a car is used (taxis are very expensive and can't easily be found when needed). One may get a little bit confused while finding the hotel as it is a part of an enormous complex. Yet no views from the windows because of the nearby building. The property is well situated if you use it just for skiing - walking distance to one of the lifts (not the main one) and the spa is adequate and relaxing. They often have bargain deals and then the hotel is worth the money. The cuisine is lovely but no clubs for the night.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TodorManolov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
1 review
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Poor breakfast and dinner. Poor internet connection. Manager smoking in the lobby room. Good location, almost 300m from the slopes. The parking is located in the wood. Cleaning room at 15:30 was not done.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucianktz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofia
Level Contributor
301 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013 via mobile

The hotel is not a fivestar one for sure.
I would say max 4.
The rooms are spacious and clean, but the details are missing, which puts down the category.
No complains but no wow as well from the service.
The hotel is a part of complex of building including private apartments.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank sashkow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llanelli, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2013

This is a fairly new hotel and contains an excellent Spa which is free for hotel guests. The food is good but not particularly outstanding and the staff in the dining room were a little detached.The rooms are also very spacious, clean and contain good facilities, such as wi-fi, although free wi-fi is only available in the lobby area. Overall o good hotel.
Keith Darlington

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KeithD50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2012

The Spa at the resorts will rip you off if they are not part of the hotel. I stayed at the Apartments at Borovets Hills and we paid 60 leva for using the spa after skiing and I found out from the reception said that they should charge us 5 leva for a child but host wouldn't give us back our 15 Leva. The location is nice. About 300m from the slopes.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ivartheterrible
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Borovets hotels
0.0 mi away
Euphoria Club Hotel & Spa
Euphoria Club Hotel & Spa
#3 of 29 in Borovets
4.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Royal Borovets
Hotel Royal Borovets
#17 of 29 in Borovets
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Yastrebets Wellness & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Festa Winter Palace Hotel
Festa Winter Palace Hotel
#10 of 29 in Borovets
4.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Bor
Hotel Bor
#23 of 29 in Borovets
3.5 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Rila Borovets
Hotel Rila Borovets
#5 of 29 in Borovets
3.5 of 5 bubbles 762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Borovets Hills Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borovets Hills Hotel

Property: Borovets Hills Hotel
Address: Borovets 2010, Bulgaria
Region: Bulgaria > Sofia Region > Borovets
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 29 Hotels in Borovets
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Borovets Hills Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing