We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely chalet”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Chalet Sofia

Ski Chalet in Borovets
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Ski Chalet in Borovets
Double Bedroom Borovets Ski Slope - 5 minutes walk from Chalet Sofia
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
14 reviews
Ski Chalet in Borovets
Double Bedroom
Borovets Ski Slope - 5 minutes walk from Chalet Sofia
Master Bedroom - spacious with door to outside balcony
Night skiing in Borovets - 5 minutes walk from Chalet
Bedroom with 2 single beds
Bedroom with 2 single beds
Bathroom with Shower and Sauna
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Borovets, Sofia Region

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
Lee C
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely chalet”
Reviewed 5 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We had a wonderful 10 days staying in Chalet Sofia.
It is well looked after and had everything we needed for our stay. The maintenance staff were on hand very quickly when a storm affected the electricity and the cleaning staff were friendly and efficient.
A highly recommended venue for those who want to ski in winter or bake in summer!

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan...
Kingsbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
“We had a great skiing holiday at Chalet Sofia”
Reviewed 14 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016

We really enjoyed our stay, the chalet is much larger than you would get in the Alps and is in a convenient location.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
louisejes...
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Excellent value for money”
Reviewed 1 February 2016 for a stay in January 2016

I've just returned from a weeks holiday in Chalet Sofia with friends and thought it was excellent. The location was perfect with just a 10 minute walk to the pistes and main restaurant area. Only issues were the beds weren't very comfy, although after a long day skiing you don't really notice and the hot water tank isn't massive so 6 people can't all shower within a short period of time. The sauna was great and fitted 6 people in perfectly. Despite other reviews saying that everything would be a squeeze for 6, we did not find that to be the case. The owner is incredibly helpful in all that we needed and suggested an excellent ski school and transfer company! All in all a brilliant holiday which was great value for money and we would definitely return again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The sauna
Liked least: The matressess
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SamW87201...
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic value, cosy stay, good location”
Reviewed 24 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Just came back from a weeks stay at chalet Sofia, the back drop to this cabin was a snowy forest (we were lucky with the heavy snowfall on arrival), and it was nestled behind a number of other chalets, despite this there was still a feeling of privacy, and we were not bothered by any noise. The chalet itself was cosy (sometimes we had to switch the heaters off!), and spacious, there were 5 of us staying here, the beds were a little on the hard side but that was no problem after a few beers and a hard days skiing. There are cooking utensils and plenty of plates and glasses/mugs for 6 people, although we ended up eating out regularly. The showers had to be kept short to keep the hot water, but that's expected with 5 adults, so was no problem. The location was good, and a few mins away from a fantastic pizza place (Vicky's pizza bar).

The sauna is a fantastic addition, and really helped ease tired muscles.
The living/dining area was comfortable for all of us, whether it was playing cards at the table or watching TV. There is a DVD player, a handful of DVDs already there and satellite channels. The larger couch can seat four grown men. There is a double room downstairs and two twin rooms upstairs; one acting as a walkway to the other, with the latter having access to the outside balcony. Both the rooms upstairs were large and spacious.

David (the owner) was fantastic, and replied promptly and courteously to all enquiries. He also recommended the transport and ski hire (Balkan PMS and Hunters), who were both fantastic. We were dropped off and picked up outside the chalet, with no delays or hassle what so ever-each person we dealt with from both companies were brilliantly helpful.

I'd recommend chalet Sofia, and should I return to borovets, I would happily stay again.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark S
Wendover, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Cosy, Clean, and Good Value”
Reviewed 15 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Chalet Sofia was very cosy and clean and had a lot of charm, and you would struggle to get better at this price.

It was a short walk to a good ski rental place and to the main gondola to the higher Markudjik ski area (which was the better area). It was a bit of a slog in uncomfortable ski boots to the lower slopes near hotel Rila, but this would've been ok if you left your boots at a rental place and changed into them on the way.

The Chalet was a very short walk from some good restaurants. I recommend 'Vicky's' for breakfast and 'Hunter's' for dinner. The Hunter's restaurant is fantastic and does some great local food. They cook a lot of it on the open fire in the middle of the restaurant. There was a 10% discount card in Chalet Sofia for Hunters as it is connected to the same management company, which was handy!

The Chalet itself was great for the four of us, but it would be a bit difficult with six, especially as we found the hot water running low after four showers. Also note that if one of the twin bedrooms isn't private - you walk through it to get to the master bedroom. For four it was absolutely fine. Plenty of space for four to sit and chill out in the evening. The sauna (with plenty of space for four) was a great touch - easy to use and great for soothing those tired skiing legs. It was nice to have a covered area out front as well where you could shed the wet ski gear in a sheltered spot before heading inside.

The Chalet was well heated and plenty warm.

Only negative thing is that the bedding was basic and the beds were hard. However, we found that if you skied hard all day and had a couple of beers with dinner, sleeping was not a problem!

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Having your own space, the peace and quiet, and the Sauna!
Liked least: The bedding.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susie m
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cosy and great value!”
Reviewed 23 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Lovely little chalet. Great location. Lovely sauna. Beds and bedding v basic and hardly any kitchen utensils - otherwise great

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing