We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rila Hotel, Borovets”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Rila Borovets
Ranked #6 of 29 Hotels in Borovets
Reviewed 10 April 2012

If your UK citizen do not stay on the second floor of this hotel....People have there wallets, watches and liftpasses stolen on a regular basis. The police will not do nothing about it even though they know its happening. The locals say its a scam going on with the security staff and the hotel reception deny anything is happening. Year in Year out....its still going on.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cathy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (775)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

486 - 492 of 775 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2012

This hotel was ok but nothing special. we had a room on the 6th floor with a great view of the main slope. the fridge did not work in our room all week. even though we reported it on the first day and again on the second when nobody came to fix it after that we gave up. our bed was two singles pushed together to make a double which the maid refused to make up as a double. the food was average but we never went hungry. but after a week of eating luke warm foor a was craving a hot meal. the pool and spa were nick a really relaxed the muscles after a good days skiing. if we were to return to borovets to ski we would probably stay here again as friends that have stayed at other hotels have told us this is the best one in the town.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank curtivic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2012

The hotel got the best location in town, had a wonderfull swimming pool but rooms decoration are a 2 star hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Thai0710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2012

First the bad...the rooms in the hotel were definitely more hostel than hotel, very basic and dated.

Now the good...the rooms (though basic) were kept very clean by the house keeping staff, they came every day and were very polite and friendly. The public areas of the hotel were clean and well maintained with plenty of variety - shops, pool, bar, games room etc.The food selection was always good and food plentiful.

While we were there we had loads of snow and were able to ski to the door which was great. The resort was lively with lots of choices of places to eat/drink and many of them had live music.

Other than the basic (but clean) room there is nothing to complain about; good resort, plenty of variety and friendly helpful staff and locals - I would go back there again for sure

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Theresa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2012

Hotel Rila is in a prime location, right at the bottom of one of the main run's. Everything is easily accessible from the Rila. Bars both directions, ski and boot hire right outside and easy access to all the runs.
Rooms - not much detail needed here. Very basic, probably not 4 star standard but nice enough, clean and you have a lovely balcony.
Hotel bar - Very nice looking, 24 hour bar if memory serves me correctly and they are pretty relaxed in there, we often bought drinks in from one of the clubs and sat in the bar to drink them without them saying anything. We did this as the bar in the hotel is expensive compared to the rest of the resort and you never know what size beer you are going to get, you always pay the same price but sometimes they give you a half pint sometimes a litre!!
There is a spa and a swimming pool which are both very nice and various shops situated in the hotel.
Food - The main thing is every member of our group found something to eat every meal time (there were 18 of us). However some of the food is pretty shocking!! Some of the meats are a bit dubious! We nicknamed the bacon sea bacon as it was so salty! The thing is the hotel is is multi national that they have to try and supply meals that will suit all which is a difficult task and as we never went hungry and always found something, I'd have to say they are successful. That doesn't stop the enjoyable ritual of walking around and wondering what the hell some of these food stuffs were!!
The hotel Rila is great value and it's the hotel in the most prime location in Borovets. I'd return any day (soon I hope)

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Georgia50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2012

We stayed in this Hotel during March 2012.

Pros-Great location at the foot of the ski slopes, Clean but basic rooms, good facilities including nice spar and swimming pool.

Cons-Poorly prepared food (bread rock hard and stale at Breakfast one morning), staff could do with smiling!

Resort- Good, a little on the tacky side but prices are pretty reasonable and affordable. The skiiing was perfect and there was a good selection of runs.

Warning-please make sure that you check your food and drinks bills carefully. We were travelling as aged 40 something adults but were still seen as fair game for bumping up the bill. One bar waitress-probably assuming that we were drunk- added 6 drinks to our bill that we had not had. In addition a restaurant produced a bill in bulgarian (which of course is perfectly acceptable) but had charged double on the bottle of wine and had found another £30 from somewhere to add on the bill! There were numerous groups of lads drinking at the resort I can imagine that they may have been well and truly fleeced at times-Lads, please note the above!!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Garamanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2012

We visited the Rila for a week from the 10th March, we're a family of four with two teenage boys. Myself and the boys have never been skiing before and we cant fault the ski school and instructors. Everything ran smoothly from day one, with issue of equipment and being placed in our groups and then just got better and better. The boys had a lovely instructor called Ellie who had them up on the blue slopes in no time at all. I had Annie who was just fantastic, very patient and thorough, she spoke great english and was very happy and friendly, most of all though she was a great teacher. By the end of the week we were all on blue slopes and loving it.
We stayed in a studio for 4 in the Rila on floor 1 facing the slopes. Amazing view to die for which was well worth putting up with noise from the bars at night. I took some ear plugs which did the trick as i had read previous reviews. We did find that we were so tired after a day on the slopes that sleep came easy anyway.
The rooms were a good size, clean (kept clean daily) with fresh towels and beds made etc. The beds were comfortable and the room was always warm. We stayed half board and have no complaints about the food at all. Good choice of food daily, varying through the week and a lovely salad bar and always fruit on offer. The only thing we werent keen on was there were no drinks available free for the eve meal. But they dont object if you take your own bottle of water/coke etc in with you,
Over all as a family this was truly the best holiday we've ever had (we've had many!) as we discovered skiing which speaks for itself and we discovered it in an amazing little town with friendly people, every thing close to hand, good value, great apres ski, the best location for a hotel you could wish for and a fantastic ski school. We're going next year for sure!

Room Tip: If you dont like noise ask for a room at the rear of the hotel, If you want an amazing view choose t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank caltaylor90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Borovets hotels
1.0 mi away
Euphoria Club Hotel & Resort
0.7 mi away
Hotel Lion
Hotel Lion
#3 of 29 in Borovets
443 reviews
0.1 mi away
Festa Winter Palace Hotel
Festa Winter Palace Hotel
#10 of 29 in Borovets
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Samokov Hotel
Samokov Hotel
#13 of 29 in Borovets
457 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Yastrebets Wellness & Spa
1.2 mi away
Hotel Festa Chamkoria
Hotel Festa Chamkoria
#9 of 29 in Borovets
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rila Borovets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rila Borovets

Address: Borovets 2010, Bulgaria
Region: Bulgaria > Sofia Region > Borovets
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Borovets
Price Range: £42 - £205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Rila Borovets 4*
Number of rooms: 490
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four-star Rila Hotel is the most impressive hotel in Borovets. Built in 1986 by the French company Les Arcs it is one of the largest ski lodges on the Balkan Peninsula. The hotel has an excellent location as a ski-in / ski-out hotel at the very bottom of the ski runs and 200 m from the Gondola lift; 50 m from Sitnyakovo Express and 50 m from Quad chair Martinovi Baraki.Rila Hotel provides holidays perfect for any age and during any season and offers ideal leisure opportunities – sports; spa; various restaurants and entertainments; sightseeing tours and cultural programs. For nature lovers Rila Hotel provides qualified mountain guides and selected hiking trips.Rila Hotel was completely renovated in 2001 and today it offer 256 double rooms and 266 standard studios. All rooms and studios have balconies overlooking the mountain with table and chairs. All are equipped with telephone; radio and satellite TV; bath with bathtub and hair-dryer. The studios have also small kitchenette and refrigerator.The hotel spa centre is the place where guests can pamper themselves with aromatherapy massages. At your disposal are heated indoor swimming pool with Jacuzzi; sauna; steam bath and solarium. The Pool Bar is a perfect place for relaxation after the exhausting day on the slopes. Sports lovers will be pleasantly surprised with the modern fitness centre and tennis court.Hotel Rila has 2 restaurants – Rila and Iskar with 300 and 200 seats. Qualitative European cuisine and delicious Bulgarian dishes prepared with love and genuine care are served in cozy ambiance.The Lobby Bar and the Pool Bar are the ideal choice for family and friends. With care dedicated to kids; the hotel provides a hall for games and entertainment, as well as ski kindergarten; where children between 4 and 8 years of age will get their first ski lessons.The hotel offers five conference halls with a capacity to accommodate from 30 to 200 attendees and with modern equipment for presentations and seminars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Rila Borovets reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rila Hotel Borovets

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing