We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best location - but you get what you pay for”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Rila Borovets
Ranked #6 of 29 Hotels in Borovets
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Best location - but you get what you pay for”
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Ive just returned from a week's stay at the Rila Hotel. I would agree with the other reviews that the hotel is fairly basic but you can't disagree that it is in a fantastic location. The ski depot is a few metres away as are the slopes.

There isnt a great selection of food, particularly for vegetarians. The food isnt hot either which some people have complained about but overall its a buffet and you can't expect fine dining. There are some nice salads available and also fruit.

I had heard reports of noise from the hotels and to request a room facing the back but I really wanted a scenic view which was what I got and I was only affected by the noise on one night.

The one thing I really disliked was the bed. I have never slept on such a hard thin bed where you can feel the springs. I had to sleep on top of the spare blankets and duvets although this didnt help much. It wasnt nice after a day skiing where you are aching.

The pool was quite good, its large but a bit cold. I didnt mind this as I liked jumping in and adjusting to the temperature and then going into one of the two jacuzzis that were nice and hot.

There is a large lobby area with plenty of sofas to chill out and this is where you can access the WiFi.

Overall, this is not a 4*, particularly to UK standards. However it does have some plus points such as the location. The last thing you want is to be walking a long distance in ski boots.

I'm not sure if they have a room only option but I may consider this next time as I found the food in restaurants to be more appealing and it is very affordable.

Two things I discovered:

They eat their food luke warm as they believe hot food is bad for digestion so you may want to ask for food to be extra hot.

They are known for their Straight-facedness so dont be offended!

Room Tip: Generally rooms facing the back are quieter but I preferred to have a spectacular view facing the mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JJ19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

762 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    146
    314
    192
    64
    46
See reviews for
304
138
11
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Yesterday come back from this hotel. The two days in the hotel were terrible. All the staff are not interested for the clients and treat visitors in a terrible way. We are skiers, the room for ski if far away from the reception, works until 17.00 (local time), you need vouchers to leave your ski there. Room: the door of bathroom cannot close, the shower in broken, the fan in not working, the hairdresser is not working, the beds are old, the TV is ~15 years old. Dirty looks from waiting on staff. Breakfast: the coffee, tea and juice are served in plastic cups - no one cares about it....! All the stuff try to find possible ways to frisk as much money as possible out of you. We will never visit it again, don`t recommend to anyone.

Stayed March 2014

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IliyanP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Borovets hotels

London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Just come back from this hotel. The experience was terrible. All the staff are rude and treat visitors in a terrible way. I saw people being shouted at for getting water from the drink cooler during the evening meal. Dirty looks from waiting on staff. You are charged to use the gym, charged for the sauna( I was in the sauna when guys were shouted at for using it. Basically they try to frisk as much money as possible out of you. Will never be returning.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank billydod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumfries
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

The hotel itself is much bigger than I expected and is in the perfect location being right on the slopes. The depot and ski school are located just up the hill from the Rila and there's also plenty of bars and restaurants close by to choose from. The pool was fine but I struggled to work out where to get a key for the lockers - the reception where I got the towel from.. but no member of staff informed me of this. The food was fine, usually a pork/chicken dish and plenty fresh fruit and veg. We loved the soup!
The rooms are fine too and all snacks and drinks etc are reasonably priced the only downside was that there wasn't much entertainment but for the price we weren't fussed too much about this and there was a nightclub, casino and games room if we wanted to use them. I'd say the Rila is more a 3*hotel but it get's the 4th star for it's location. All in all a bargain of a snow holiday and a very welcoming atmosphere for all types of Skiier or Boarder.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robstar_87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

I went skiing with a group of 10 this March. The hotel doesn't quite live up to its 4 star rating. The rooms are very basic, but clean. The hotel's got some good facilities and is in an excellent location right at the foot of the slopes and in the centre of the resort. If you're in the resort to be active and use the hotel as a base it's good, but don't expect to be overwhelmed by the decor and service. The foods basic but plentiful, although it follows the Bulgarian cultural trend of being luke warm. There are plenty of bars and restaurants nearby and the whole resort lends itself more as a getaway for friends than for couples or families.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Firext
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Billing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
174 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Would not have picked this hotel but went along with friends ( they already booked) We had a good time skiing but the hotel was painful. The worst part was being kept awake by locals partying in their rooms. The security did try to deal with it but to no avail, as soon as they walked away the noise started up 10 mins later. One night we were awake till 3-30am. Some people in one room were smoking something I suspect was cannabis as it was coming in through the vents. The other problem was no English tv channels - we like to chill and watch tv when not on slopes. Hotel large so probably the reason it was hard to get lift at certain times. We stayed in a studio and probably a mistake as we were surrounded by screaming kids running around corridors and slamming doors. Walls so thin you can hear everything through ceilings and walls. Would NEVER stay here again. Visited pool area the jacuzzi was too busy with kids jumping in - stressful.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cathydyakiewicz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bankfoot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Most complaints about this hotel seem to be about the food however our group thought the food was great. The buffet suited us perfectly as our children could see what the food was and then eat it straight away which is ideal with small kids who are tired from a hard days playing in the snow. There was always plenty of choice and we were amazed how much fresh salad and fruit was available which has always been rather lacking on previous chalet holidays in France! It was simple food but you can eat as much as you want and we found all the staff friendly and helpful.
The hotel is huge and needs a little updating. The pool area is good and although our 3 year old found the pool too cold the 6 year old had no complaints, you just have to actually swim rather than wallow. The Jacuzzi was very warm so we wallowed in there instead. The rooms were basic but the cleaners were very friendly and helpful and did an excellent job.
The only complaint I would have is that the hotel can be a bit noisy at night especially on the weekend with parties. Ear plugs helped. We plugged up the vent with a blanket as it seemed to carry noise from other parts of the hotel into our room.. which was quite funny but then annoying.
The Rila is in an excellent location for the slopes and this was brilliant for children who had to walk with ski boots on to their lessons. It was good value.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gabby R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Borovets hotels
1.0 mi away
Euphoria Club Hotel & Spa
Euphoria Club Hotel & Spa
#3 of 29 in Borovets
4.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Yastrebets Wellness & Spa
0.7 mi away
Hotel Lion
Hotel Lion
#2 of 29 in Borovets
4.0 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Festa Winter Palace Hotel
Festa Winter Palace Hotel
#10 of 29 in Borovets
4.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
0.1 mi away
Samokov Hotel
Samokov Hotel
#12 of 29 in Borovets
3.5 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
0.2 mi away
Club Hotel Yanakiev
Club Hotel Yanakiev
#5 of 29 in Borovets
4.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rila Borovets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rila Borovets

Property: Hotel Rila Borovets
Address: Borovets 2010, Bulgaria
Region: Bulgaria > Sofia Region > Borovets
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Borovets
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Rila Borovets 4*
Number of rooms: 490
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four-star Rila Hotel is the most impressive hotel in Borovets. Built in 1986 by the French company Les Arcs it is one of the largest ski lodges on the Balkan Peninsula. The hotel has an excellent location as a ski-in / ski-out hotel at the very bottom of the ski runs and 200 m from the Gondola lift; 50 m from Sitnyakovo Express and 50 m from Quad chair Martinovi Baraki.Rila Hotel provides holidays perfect for any age and during any season and offers ideal leisure opportunities – sports; spa; various restaurants and entertainments; sightseeing tours and cultural programs. For nature lovers Rila Hotel provides qualified mountain guides and selected hiking trips.Rila Hotel was completely renovated in 2001 and today it offer 256 double rooms and 266 standard studios. All rooms and studios have balconies overlooking the mountain with table and chairs. All are equipped with telephone; radio and satellite TV; bath with bathtub and hair-dryer. The studios have also small kitchenette and refrigerator.The hotel spa centre is the place where guests can pamper themselves with aromatherapy massages. At your disposal are heated indoor swimming pool with Jacuzzi; sauna; steam bath and solarium. The Pool Bar is a perfect place for relaxation after the exhausting day on the slopes. Sports lovers will be pleasantly surprised with the modern fitness centre and tennis court.Hotel Rila has 2 restaurants – Rila and Iskar with 300 and 200 seats. Qualitative European cuisine and delicious Bulgarian dishes prepared with love and genuine care are served in cozy ambiance.The Lobby Bar and the Pool Bar are the ideal choice for family and friends. With care dedicated to kids; the hotel provides a hall for games and entertainment, as well as ski kindergarten; where children between 4 and 8 years of age will get their first ski lessons.The hotel offers five conference halls with a capacity to accommodate from 30 to 200 attendees and with modern equipment for presentations and seminars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Rila Borovets reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rila Hotel Borovets

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing