We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A weekend in Borovets Bulgaria!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Rila Borovets
Ranked #6 of 29 Hotels in Borovets
Essex
1 review
“A weekend in Borovets Bulgaria!”
Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

Fab weekend. Great place to learn to ski. There is still snow! Bulgaria deserves to expand its tourist business. It is a beautiful country. It has had a hard history. It needs our support to grow its tourist industry. What great value for money. I will be back soon. A very special weekend. This hotel is so central to all the ski runs....great to chill out at the fab pool after. Book direct though. I booked through Preferred Travel Farnham and they charged a mark up of nearly 200 per cent! And they didn't even sort out late check out so had to pay for that extra!

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Janice W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

763 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    146
    314
    193
    64
    46
See reviews for
304
138
11
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

We travelled to The Rila on 20th March 2014 as part of a group of 8 for 3 nights skiing and boozing away from the kids! I read lots of reviews on here and to be honest I wasn't expecting much. But we were pleasantly surprised!

FOOD: so many people complained on here about the food. It's not a gourmet experience - it's a buffet in a 4* foreign hotel. For £22 per person per night including breakfast and dinner - how can you complain?!
Breakfast - fresh warm rolls, toast, cereal, fruit, cakes, yoghurt and many hot opinions (yes hot not lukewarm) including scrambled eggs, pancakes, eggy bread, sausages, pasta and several other options. The only thing I can't recommend is the coffee. And the juice machine dispenses 4 different juices (apparently) but they all look and taste the same.
Dinner - hot soups, fresh rolls, lovely salad bar with several different options, a fish dish, chicken dish, pork dish, potatoes of some sort, veg, rice, pasta & sauce followed by fruit and little cakes and pastries. All were definitely edible and most dishes were very nice.
Overall the food is fine and you won't starve, but don't expect fine dining.
ROOMS:
We had a spacious studio overlooking the mountain. It was very clean and the room was cleaned, beds made and fresh towels left every day. Yes it could do with some modernisation and yes the TV was old but as we didn't even switch it on this wasn't a problem for us as we were too busy having fun! It was noisy at night but with the balcony door shut you shouldn't be disturbed after a busy day skiing and evening partying.
FACILITIES:
The pool is spacious and a little cool but fine for swimming in. The jacuzzi was lovely and hot and perfect for us to gather in and soak our weary legs and chat about the day. The lobby is lovely with plenty of sofas and a nice bar.
STAFF:
They were polite enough and did a fine job. This is not the US with "have a nice day " added to the end of every sentence. Nobody was rude to us.

OVERALL:
For £22 per person per night half board for a ski hotel that is truly ski in and out you can't go wrong here.

A word about Borovets itself. This is a place for groups of friends, not a family or couples type of resort. There were several erotic bars in sight of the hotel and we did see evidence of the seedy side of the resort. There were also a number of stag do's in town and I wouldn't have wanted my children to be there to witness the stag dressed in a lime mankini. But for a group like us looking to ski and enjoy the après ski it was perfect.

If you're looking for lessons try Hunters Ski and ask for Daisy aka Megi, and Vladimir. Great instructors and lots of fun après ski too.

The Joy bar right by the gondola was a great place to unwind after a day skiing - with free wifi!
For a party atmosphere and 2 for 1 drinks try The Black Tiger or Frankos.

In conclusion, if you're looking to ski and enjoy the après ski then you will have a great time in Borovets as we did.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank san31_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Great base, room was average, great shower, cleaned daily.
But the food OMG the food was awful
We will be going back next year but will eat out and i recommend that you do as the local food is good ...

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays

Helpful?
Thank bobwcross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Ive just returned from a week's stay at the Rila Hotel. I would agree with the other reviews that the hotel is fairly basic but you can't disagree that it is in a fantastic location. The ski depot is a few metres away as are the slopes.

There isnt a great selection of food, particularly for vegetarians. The food isnt hot either which some people have complained about but overall its a buffet and you can't expect fine dining. There are some nice salads available and also fruit.

I had heard reports of noise from the hotels and to request a room facing the back but I really wanted a scenic view which was what I got and I was only affected by the noise on one night.

The one thing I really disliked was the bed. I have never slept on such a hard thin bed where you can feel the springs. I had to sleep on top of the spare blankets and duvets although this didnt help much. It wasnt nice after a day skiing where you are aching.

The pool was quite good, its large but a bit cold. I didnt mind this as I liked jumping in and adjusting to the temperature and then going into one of the two jacuzzis that were nice and hot.

There is a large lobby area with plenty of sofas to chill out and this is where you can access the WiFi.

Overall, this is not a 4*, particularly to UK standards. However it does have some plus points such as the location. The last thing you want is to be walking a long distance in ski boots.

I'm not sure if they have a room only option but I may consider this next time as I found the food in restaurants to be more appealing and it is very affordable.

Two things I discovered:

They eat their food luke warm as they believe hot food is bad for digestion so you may want to ask for food to be extra hot.

They are known for their Straight-facedness so dont be offended!

Room Tip: Generally rooms facing the back are quieter but I preferred to have a spectacular view facing the mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JJ19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Yesterday come back from this hotel. The two days in the hotel were terrible. All the staff are not interested for the clients and treat visitors in a terrible way. We are skiers, the room for ski if far away from the reception, works until 17.00 (local time), you need vouchers to leave your ski there. Room: the door of bathroom cannot close, the shower in broken, the fan in not working, the hairdresser is not working, the beds are old, the TV is ~15 years old. Dirty looks from waiting on staff. Breakfast: the coffee, tea and juice are served in plastic cups - no one cares about it....! All the stuff try to find possible ways to frisk as much money as possible out of you. We will never visit it again, don`t recommend to anyone.

Stayed March 2014

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IliyanP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Borovets hotels

London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Just come back from this hotel. The experience was terrible. All the staff are rude and treat visitors in a terrible way. I saw people being shouted at for getting water from the drink cooler during the evening meal. Dirty looks from waiting on staff. You are charged to use the gym, charged for the sauna( I was in the sauna when guys were shouted at for using it. Basically they try to frisk as much money as possible out of you. Will never be returning.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank billydod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumfries
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

The hotel itself is much bigger than I expected and is in the perfect location being right on the slopes. The depot and ski school are located just up the hill from the Rila and there's also plenty of bars and restaurants close by to choose from. The pool was fine but I struggled to work out where to get a key for the lockers - the reception where I got the towel from.. but no member of staff informed me of this. The food was fine, usually a pork/chicken dish and plenty fresh fruit and veg. We loved the soup!
The rooms are fine too and all snacks and drinks etc are reasonably priced the only downside was that there wasn't much entertainment but for the price we weren't fussed too much about this and there was a nightclub, casino and games room if we wanted to use them. I'd say the Rila is more a 3*hotel but it get's the 4th star for it's location. All in all a bargain of a snow holiday and a very welcoming atmosphere for all types of Skiier or Boarder.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robstar_87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Borovets hotels
1.0 mi away
Euphoria Club Hotel & Spa
Euphoria Club Hotel & Spa
#3 of 29 in Borovets
311 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Lion
Hotel Lion
#2 of 29 in Borovets
429 reviews
0.1 mi away
Festa Winter Palace Hotel
Festa Winter Palace Hotel
#10 of 29 in Borovets
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Samokov Hotel
Samokov Hotel
#12 of 29 in Borovets
450 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Yastrebets Wellness & Spa
0.2 mi away
Club Hotel Yanakiev
Club Hotel Yanakiev
#5 of 29 in Borovets
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rila Borovets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rila Borovets

Property: Hotel Rila Borovets
Address: Borovets 2010, Bulgaria
Region: Bulgaria > Sofia Region > Borovets
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Borovets
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Rila Borovets 4*
Number of rooms: 490
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four-star Rila Hotel is the most impressive hotel in Borovets. Built in 1986 by the French company Les Arcs it is one of the largest ski lodges on the Balkan Peninsula. The hotel has an excellent location as a ski-in / ski-out hotel at the very bottom of the ski runs and 200 m from the Gondola lift; 50 m from Sitnyakovo Express and 50 m from Quad chair Martinovi Baraki.Rila Hotel provides holidays perfect for any age and during any season and offers ideal leisure opportunities – sports; spa; various restaurants and entertainments; sightseeing tours and cultural programs. For nature lovers Rila Hotel provides qualified mountain guides and selected hiking trips.Rila Hotel was completely renovated in 2001 and today it offer 256 double rooms and 266 standard studios. All rooms and studios have balconies overlooking the mountain with table and chairs. All are equipped with telephone; radio and satellite TV; bath with bathtub and hair-dryer. The studios have also small kitchenette and refrigerator.The hotel spa centre is the place where guests can pamper themselves with aromatherapy massages. At your disposal are heated indoor swimming pool with Jacuzzi; sauna; steam bath and solarium. The Pool Bar is a perfect place for relaxation after the exhausting day on the slopes. Sports lovers will be pleasantly surprised with the modern fitness centre and tennis court.Hotel Rila has 2 restaurants – Rila and Iskar with 300 and 200 seats. Qualitative European cuisine and delicious Bulgarian dishes prepared with love and genuine care are served in cozy ambiance.The Lobby Bar and the Pool Bar are the ideal choice for family and friends. With care dedicated to kids; the hotel provides a hall for games and entertainment, as well as ski kindergarten; where children between 4 and 8 years of age will get their first ski lessons.The hotel offers five conference halls with a capacity to accommodate from 30 to 200 attendees and with modern equipment for presentations and seminars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Rila Borovets reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rila Hotel Borovets

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing