We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“doesnt worth for the money” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Samokov Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Samokov Hotel
Ranked #12 of 29 Hotels in Borovets
Chamonix, France
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“doesnt worth for the money”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

its an old hotel never renovated , innovated or whatever...old toilets, worst bad ever, windows are old never changed and wind is coming in the room, worst place lve been, and we pay a good money... and for the food....oh what can l say u cant chose one think that u can eat and its taste...no there is nothing taste only if u eat salate whitch u will make it by your taste... l will never go there again.!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jovana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    173
    134
    51
    37
See reviews for
120
122
13
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014 via mobile

The hotel is best described as basic but having stayed before knew what I was getting.

The ski instructors are great and it's handy having the ski storage in the hotel. There are pancakes served in the lobby each afternoon (check out Facebook page Samokov Hotel Pancake Man) which are worth trying.

There is easy access to piste with the main gondola literally just across the road.

The food in the hotel again is best described as basic ("dish of meat" is their own description) but if it's not too your taste there are plenty of good places locally to eat and cheaply.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Harpmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014

The best thing I can write about borovets/Samokov Hotel is the location. You can't get more central to the slopes... Plus having the ski hire in the hotel was a plus for storage etc... With regards to the hotel. It was hard for the receptionists to crack a smile. The waiting staff in the restaurant were polite but that was it. Nothing is free in the hotel except the wifi which was only available in the lobby, this was very sporadic as so many people were using it. The food was luke warm everyday our tip is to be the first at breakfast/dinner to get it warm/hot! There are plenty of amenities swimming, bowling, spa but all chargeable so take your wallet with you! As for the skiing itself only 7 Runs open which thankfully we are competent skiers/boarders as the runs you have to take to tech the bottom are red runs slightly challenging on icy slopes! This is not a family venue in borovets it's more like 18-30's... So if your interested in drink, hard skiing and titties bars borovets is the place to be! The only reason we would go again to borovets would be if all the runs were open, we went self catering and had a decent lodge! Good luck with your holiday

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 78CASSCASS78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Borovets hotels

Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

Only good thing about this hotel is the central location. Rooms smelt of smoke, bed sheets were dirty and shower fell off wall when we used it. You can't get wifi any where apart from lobby and that is very slow. Swimming pool was freezing and you have to pay to use the sauna and jacuzzi. The locker key I was given opened up someone else's locker. Staff are rude and unhelpful. Breakfast had a variety of choice but nothing particularly enjoyable. I could go on. Defiantly would never stay here again when there are so many other hotels to choose from.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alimb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertford
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014

This hotel is a large hotel in the centre of Borovets. It is a little past glory but the rooms are fine. Reasonable size rooms with fridge. We had a balcony overlooking the gondola. This meant that it was a little noisy late at night if you want to sleep with the window open.
We had half board which meant that breakfast and dinner was included. The breaky is good. Big hot and cold buffet. Plenty there for everyone.
Dinner was a little boring. Still the buffet but a bit tasteless. It will do...

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Falco v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

Just stayed in the Samokov 23rd Jan to 30th this hotel is not good at all. It looks tired and nearly worn out. Staff were in a permanent state of misery, rooms were of a poor standard and the daily room service consisted of empty the bin, change towels, maybe tidy the beds. Breakfast was appalling, poor quality, lack of variety, poor crockery plus lack of serving utensils so people were using hands on bread, cakes etc so I was always worried about hygiene.
It was like being in the 80's & like the 80's I will never be returning there!!

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sasha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

i am staying in this hotel, well right now so several points you need to know before you book- it is far away from 3 stars, i would say 2 would be the closest to this hotels standards. decor- typical ussr 80ties. rooms clean but again decor tired and outdated. we booked double room and were given a room with two single beds pushed together. next wifi in lobby only, not everywhere but just between bar and reception. food- lukewarm. havent been to pool or spa as i do not want to be disappointed even more. it is ok if you dont care where you stay, however if you wish yo have a pleasant holiday consider other options.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Agata B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Borovets hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rila Borovets
Hotel Rila Borovets
#6 of 29 in Borovets
3.5 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
1.0 mi away
Euphoria Club Hotel & Spa
Euphoria Club Hotel & Spa
#3 of 29 in Borovets
4.5 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Lion
Hotel Lion
#2 of 29 in Borovets
4.0 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Yastrebets Wellness & Spa
0.2 mi away
Festa Winter Palace Hotel
Festa Winter Palace Hotel
#9 of 29 in Borovets
4.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radina's Way Hotel
Radina's Way Hotel
#7 of 29 in Borovets
4.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samokov Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samokov Hotel

Property: Samokov Hotel
Address: Main Street, Borovets 2100, Bulgaria
Region: Bulgaria > Sofia Region > Borovets
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Borovets
#10 Luxury Hotel in Borovets
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Samokov Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 264
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotelopia, Agoda, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your Samokov Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samokov Hotel Borovets

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing