We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Lion
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Iceberg(Borovets)
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Mura Hotel(Borovets)
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Ela(Borovets)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chamkoria(Borovets)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
    The Lodge(Borovets)
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Samokov(Samokov)
    View Hotel
    Good 3.5/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Pool
    Samokov Hotel(Borovets)
    View Hotel
    Good 3.5/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Reviews (493)
    Filter reviews
    493 results
    Traveller rating
    211
    195
    57
    22
    8
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    211
    195
    57
    22
    8
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewsshuttle busmain resortresort centrerelaxation arealovely hotelswimming poolruns every minutessmall shopfamily roomother hotelshalf boardat peak timesbuffet styleski holidaybar areashuttle serviceplenty of choice
    FilterAll languages
    Updating list...
    343 - 348 of 493 reviews
    Reviewed 31 January 2012

    When we first arrived we were put in a room that didn't have a window only 2 skylights that were covered in snow. We complained and were moved to another room but we then found makeup all over the towel rail in the bathroom.

    The following day we discovered there was dried blood on the quilt and a used shower cap in the corner of the room under a stool. We complained again and got the quilt changed and the shower cap removed.

    To top it off the breakfast was very poor and with a very limited choice. If you want fibre in your breakfast you'll be disappointed.

    On the plus side we were far enough from the resort centre to have a nice quiet nights sleep. There is also free wifi in reception.

    • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    2  Thank Unknown_Wanderer
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Ivan K, General Manager at Hotel Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2012

    Dear Valued Guest,

    Thank you, for sharing with us your thoughts about the services and facilities experienced during your stay at the Lion Hotel Borovetz.

    I regret the fact that your impression about our hotel was not up to your expectations during your last stay with us. Please accept my sincerest apologies about our shortcomings and our failure to meet your expectations.

    I would like kindly to inform you that action has been consequently taken and all cleaning staff has gone through intensive training program and daily check lists have been implemented. About the mentioned blood spot, I can reassure you we take very seriously all organic stains and dispose the materials with such stains immediately. After a thorough inspection between the HSK manager, your local rep and myself we all agreed this was not a blood stain at all.

    You were accommodated in a room with skylight only because you have paid for a small room, not for a standard or luxury room. This was not a hotel fault but as a matter of courtesy we up-grated you to a higher type room for free.

    The vast majority of our clients do like the breakfast buffet and the choice there is everything but no poor or limited. Nowhere in the world all breakfast items are changed daily, even so, the Chef is changing daily the type of sausage, the egg type, and the pastry.

    I will take some time to explain to the Trip advisor readers in order not to be misled what the breakfast buffet contains: 2 type of eggs, local sausage or bacon, Heinz baked beans, 4 types of puff pastry, croissants or French toast, 3 types of fresh fruits, yellow and white cheese, tomato and cucumbers, variety of 5 jams and honey, full fat and skimmed milk, butter and margarine, etc. For fibre loving people we provide a wide range of cereals as: choco pops, corn flakes, muesli, whole oat nuts and fine oat nuts. The specially designed Healthy corner we proudly introduced in December and was there for the time of your stay. Sorry, for missing it.

    Finally, I would like to thank you once more for your very valuable feed back and I hope that you will come back and give us the chance to make it up to you.

    Sincerely Yours,

    Ivan Kolaksazov,
    General Manager

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 30 January 2012

    the Lion is a great hotel. Food excellent. Rooms spacious, warm and clean. Staff very friendly and helpful. The hotel is situated a 5minute mini-bus drive from the ski centre and the gondola station to get you up the mountain. Borovets is a great place for ski beginners and intermediates, and great place for a family holiday. Neilson reps very helpful and knowledgable.

    Room Tip: Rooms at the rear of the hotel are quieter. Hotel security very good. Staff are conscious of keeping the noise levels low.
    • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank M4zzy
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Ivan K, General Manager at Hotel Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2012

    Dear Valued Guest,

    I would like to thank you for your positive comment and feelings and I’m very happy to see you have enjoyed your stay with us and that your expectations have been fulfilled by our staff, hotel facilities and resort environment.

    Thank you again for sharing your thoughts and impressions from your recent stay at the Lion Hotel Borovetz.

    Sincerely Yours,

    Ivan Kolaksazov,
    General Manager

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 30 January 2012

    Me and my boyfriend have just come back from the lion hotel and when looking at what was round the hotel we was told it was 10 min walk to shops bars and slope but it is about 20 mins, the service in hotel is not great when we first got there we went to bar in resturant for a drink staff was just standing around then as partner asked for drink all they said is service at table and every night it took about 15 minutes befor you would get a a member of staff to come over to take order, if you want room service you can't you have to go down to the lobby i have never been to any hotel especially a 4* hotel, if you have got neighbours you will here them as the rooms are noot very sound profed, when was leaving on the saturday morning we was told the kitchen would be opened early we went down at 6.40 we was then told 5 mins would be open it was 7.10 before open we was ment to be picked up at 7.15 as they are ment to be open at 7 any way there was no food not even bed to do toast later found out that staff was late because they all had been out night before i don't think this is very acceptable, i will never stop at this hotel again.

    • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank tvrtez
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Ivan K, General Manager at Hotel Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2012

    Dear Valued Guest,

    Please accept my sincerest apologies for the inconvenience experienced during your stay.

    Through responses like yours we can continue to improve our standards and I would like to thank you once more. In regards with all the issues mentioned in your review I would like kindly to inform you that recovery action has been consequently taken and all staff and service issues have been rectified. Our entire service personal lives in the nearby town of Samokov and the only reason sometimes to be late is a fallen tree on road or poor weather conditions.

    Once again thank you very much for your invaluable input and I would like to assure you that we will continue to do our utmost to meet and exceed your expectations

    Sincerely Yours,

    Ivan Kolaksazov,
    General Manager

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 29 January 2012

    Myself and my husband have just returned from the Hotel Lion, having spent 7nights there. The hotel is great value for money - we've stayed in a number of 4*/5* hotels across the world, and whilst I wouldn't say this is luxurious it's definitely fit for purpose - clean, warm (sometimes too warm!), decent food and one of the better hotels in the resort.
    The hotel is about a 5minute drive from town - there are 2 regular mini buses, and we had no negative experiences with this - we also walked into the town in the evenings, which took about 15 mins with the heavy snow!
    I would definitely recommend this hotel, especially in comparison to the other hotels in Borovets. The resort itself is great for beginner and intermediate skiers who are looking for value for money - we traveled with Neilson who did a great job of arranging our ski lessons and equipment hire, as well as being on hand to answer any questions we had.

    • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    2  Thank PKB7
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Ivan K, General Manager at Hotel Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2012

    Dear Valued Guest,

    I would like to thank you for the time taken to share such a positive impressions from your recent stay at the Lion Hotel through Trip Advisor.

    I am very pleased to see that you have enjoyed your stay with us and I would like to assure you that we will continue to do our best in order to fulfill and indeed exceed our guests’ expectations.

    We would be delighted to welcome you back next time when your vacation bring you to Lion Hotel Borovetz or any of our sister hotels in the chain..

    Sincerely yours,

    Ivan Kolaksazov,
    General Manager

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 29 January 2012

    Brilliant week at the Lion in Borovets!
    In summary, if you're on a budget & you want a chill out & relax away from the hustle & bustle of the resort centre, then this is the place for you. Personally I think its the best value for money in Borovets. For the price we paid I don't think I could've found a better hotel in any other ski resort in Europe....esp as I've previously skied in both Austria & Italy.

    9 of us (6 women / 3 men) stayed here for a week of skiing. Made the booking after referring to the favourable reviews & ratings on this website.

    Very comfortable hotel, compares admirably with the Village / De Vere hotel chain back home. Staff very friendly & helpful.....can't understand comments in LM's review??
    Bar area is very nicely laid out over 2 floors & well furnished with leather sofas plus it has a open, wood-burning fireplace.
    Pool area is great although as with all pools a tad cold when you first take the plunge!
    Fitness area was small (2 weights machines, 3 cycle machines, 1 running machine) but served its purpose & the 2 saunas were fab.

    Selection of food is good esp the evening meal. Breakfast offers a choice of cereal as well as a full english plus toast, jam, fruit & yoghurt. Coffee good, but they still need to sort out the tea & juice quality! Generally as with all european ski resorts, hotels seem to struggle to meet the British palate! However we realised how lucky we were after talking to other skiers who were holidaying @ the Rila & Iceberg, who explained how bad their food was.

    The only issue was the distance from the slopes... approx 15-20min walk
    They tried their best to counteract this by laying on the free hotel ski buses & there were always taxis waiting outside.
    Shuttle buses (2 of) run from 08.00-12.30hrs & 15.00-18.00hrs
    Taxi ride 10Lev (just under £5) - not bad value if there is a few of you sharing a taxi

    Finally if you want a place to meet after skiing & have a social drink (hot chocolate, beer etc), we highly recommend you go to the White Magic Inn opposite the Samakov hotel / ski bus drop off point.
    There are no pushy touts outside trying to encourage you in & the owner - Christo Angelov - is fantastic entertainment...he looked after us all week & even organised a fab skidoo trip for all of us, saving us £80 on reps prices.
    Christo (or 'Mario'...you'll understand when you see him) & his wife run the inn ...he's an ex- Bulgarian ski champion & competed in the 1980 Lake Placid Olympic Games. So if you're up for some good clean fun after skiing, pop in & he'll certainly entertain you.

    If you fancy a meal out try the Central, next door up from the White Magic....good quality food....Most of us went there with the ski school instructor at the end of the week.

    • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    3  Thank munch2much
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Ivan K, General Manager at Hotel Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2012

    Dear Valued Guest,

    I would like to thank you for your positive comment and feelings and I’m very happy to see that all nine of you have enjoyed your stay with us and that our staff and facilities have fulfilled your expectations. Your comments sound even better because they are coming from hospitality professionals. It’s harder to please people who know the backyard of the business.

    I can assure you the whole team of Lion Hotel is doing their best to provide excellent customer care and the higher quality of service, facilities and products is our small compensation to all our clients for the distance to the slopes. We believe this is the way to make people feel special and to win the guests to come over and over again.

    Borovetz is really a great place for holidays either for a family or with a group of friends and we are glad you appreciated both the environment and the social atmosphere.

    My team and I look forward to welcome you again, hopefully in the very near future.

    Sincerely Yours,

    Ivan Kolaksazov,
    General Manager

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews