We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Iglika Palace Hotel
Ranked #16 of 29 Hotels in Borovets
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“good location”
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Average hotel in an excellent location. Room and bathroom small but adequate. Bed hard and pillows lumpy. Daily maid service. Our room was near stairs and found other guests noisy in the early hours. Booked for half board and found a fair selection at mealtimes. Food was not too hot but someone told us this is how Bulgarians have their meals - there is a microwave for anyone wanting a hotter meal. Would stay there again because of location and meals.

Room Tip: Had rooms near stairs which were noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tamara444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    92
    72
    20
    24
See reviews for
99
57
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Just returned from our stay at Iglika Palace. And I think that the Hotel is pretty good value as we paid around 1100 with Balkan for a H B stay here, two of us. and it was half term too. The hotel's location is perfect as you are away from the main bar area, so you don't hear the noise from the party goers, but close enough to be on the slopes in two minutes. Handy hint for you, sneak through the back of the 'Rila' rather than walk round,and you can be at the bottom of the nursery slopes even faster.
Negatives for the Iglika; Abrupt Reception staff - upon check in we were handed the key and told '' hurry up for the dinner, they are waiting for you!'' no welcome speech or services offered just pointed in the direction of the room and dining room.
Mini bar emptied and dressing gowns removed night before our check-out - understandable, but they could of told us so we could of bought some water etc. we were without that night. Also you are not allowed to store your own bought produce in these fridges.
Dining room to small - sometimes a small wait for a table. not a major negative as the food was lovely and the waiting staff were pleasant and efficient
Positives out weight the negatives though, just a few; bar and staff were great, rooms serviced everyday, lovely and warm in all areas. Opened up a full service breakfast for us checking out early, 615am when normally doesn't open till 8am.
We will definitely recommend and go back.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mickymars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London-England
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Stayed in the 4 star area, room 404. Basic but clean, lovely and big, large bathroom with full size bath. Previously stayed at Rila but would would still stayed here again. Breakfast was good, could do with a few more table as had to wait a few mornings. Didn't eat in the evening as we enjoy eating out and is so cheap. Was lucky with the weather, enough snow and great skiing from the top. Overall been a lovely holiday and would return.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellingMacLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

This is a review of the iglika apts as i couldnt find any reviews when i was looking. These apartments are spotless, massive and ideally located just behind the rila, they are fab and we will defo use them again, if u want any more info please email me

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank nicolab1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhoose, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Stayed over new year 2014. Really great trip. Villa was a bit lacking to be honest. Went with our 3 adult children for our first experience of snowboarding (or any winter holiday) and would thoroughly recommend borovets and the ski instructors. The same cannot be said for the villas. It is supposed to be suitable for self catering, but the equipment was limited. Not enough plates, cups etc for 5 even though we had booked months in advance. A small table top 'oven' grill, which was badly marked and I would have been scared to use as it didn't look safe. There was no kettle, but when we mentioned this they did grudgingly supply a kettle and another set of crockery. There was a table and 4 chairs so not enough to for us to all sit at the table! There were knobs missing from doors and fronts falling off wardrobes. The wet room had clearly flooded on a number of occasions. The finish was questionable. The drain had a gap all around. The shower had clearly been moved so it then showered all over the toilet, so you needed to remove the toilet paper before showering. They had however failed to fill in the previous fixing points. We had upgraded to half board, and the breakfast was fine, although repetitive, and we all found things we could enjoy. Dinner was another matter, and was very greasy and repetitive. We went over new year so had to pay extra for New Years dinner which was compulsory. It was awful! Our reservation had not been passed on (despite it being compulsory) and we went the only family in that situation. It took over an hour to be seated ( having refused service in the lobby!). We were still waiting 3hours later to have our starters removed. We eventually had our main course at about 11pm, and gave up waiting for our dessert as we had been recommended to watch the fireworks outside the Rila ( don't miss theses it is a real experience, although no health and safety so not recommended with young children!). On our return they had entertainers which looked good but we couldn't go back in. Overall we had a fabulous holiday and the villa was adequate as we had half board, although there were many excellent restaurants at reasonable prices. We ate out quite a but and always had superb meals.
We did attempt to use the tiny swimming pool, but there were no changing rooms, so walking across from the villa to the pool prepared for swimming wasn't viable (although if you were staying in the hotel perfectly reasonable). It was also only open from 4 to 8 so not available if you would like a relax after a hard skiing or snowboarding morning lesson. All other spa facilities are chargeable.
Wifi was only available in the lobby and bar, and was intermittent at best.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Stayed here in the first week of Feb 14. Was in the old part of the hotel near to the bar. Very noisy with banging doors and shouting. Room was clean enough but old and tatty. Only one plug socket and very hot. Window to large to be left open. Bed rock hard and very uncomfortable, as was the pillow. Food average to poor and only just warm. Steps at hotel entrance are dangerous and slippery when wet.
Location was good as close to all shops, bars and the slopes and lifts.
A Palace it is not but you get what you pay for and as far as value goes it was ok. Bar area was nice and staff were helpful. WiFi connection poor.
I don't think that I would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maty961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

I stayed at the Iglika for a week with my partner and found that the hotel was extremely accommodating. We had a twin room with a shower/sink room (was very small for a man to wash in) the room itself was very clean and the cleaners did an amazing job of tidying the room to perfection everyday.
The bar area was really friendly and service was great.
The massive plus to this hotel was that after a hard day of boarding we had the swimming pool, sauna and steam (only 15lev each about £6) and a massage facility. the massage was amazing and got through all the aches and pains of the trip.
Huge plus - you get what you pay for!! there are nicer but i guess you'll get that everywhere. :)

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanna J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Borovets hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Rila Borovets
Hotel Rila Borovets
#6 of 29 in Borovets
3.5 of 5 bubbles 761 reviews
0.0 mi away
Euphoria Club Hotel & Spa
Euphoria Club Hotel & Spa
#3 of 29 in Borovets
4.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Iceberg
Hotel Iceberg
#25 of 29 in Borovets
3.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Lion
Hotel Lion
#2 of 29 in Borovets
4.0 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
0.0 mi away
Festa Winter Palace Hotel
Festa Winter Palace Hotel
#10 of 29 in Borovets
4.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Yastrebets Wellness & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iglika Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iglika Palace Hotel

Property: Iglika Palace Hotel
Address: Borovets 2010, Bulgaria
Region: Bulgaria > Sofia Region > Borovets
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Borovets
#10 Spa Hotel in Borovets
#12 Luxury Hotel in Borovets
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Iglika Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Iglika Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iglika Palace Borovets
Hotel Iglika Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing