We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!!”
Review of Italia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Italia
Ranked #7 of 35 Hotels in Nessebar
Reviewed 31 October 2010

Stayed here with friends for a long weekend. The owners Kris and Kate were wonderful, very helpful and the whole weekend went far too quickly.

We had a suite with a round bed, very large and comfortable and the room was very clean. We left a pair of trousers on the balcony as they smelt of smoke from dinner in a nearby restaurant, only to find that the cleaner had moved this onto a clothes horse for us all clipped so that they didn't blow away!

Breakfast was served with great zest in the mornings. Kris couldn't do enough for us and we were fed very well, day one consisted of cheese and ham on toast, meats and cheese on a platter, fruit, mini cakes and plenty of toast, orange juice ( not freshly squeezed but very nice) and plenty of either tea, coffee or hot chocolate. Day two and three were very similar with omelettes, boiled eggs and lots of jam or honey for the toast.

The rooms had Sky tv and Wifi and the bathrooms were clean and functional - ( Don't ask me why they had a phone in there though!!).

We didn't have time to make use of the gym and sauna and it was too cold for the pool....but for a hotel with so few rooms, the facilities were great and we understand that Kris is looking to purchase more land next door for a jacuzzi for guests.

We will definitely go back to the same hotel with our kids and thank Kris and Kate for their wonderful attention during our holiday.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Karina1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (84)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 84 reviews

Reviewed 30 October 2010

6 of us stayed at this hotel in mid October. We arrived at 9pm to be greeted by Kate & Kris. who quickly provided us with room keys, no form filling , no credit card swiping. Within 5 minutes we were in our rooms.

We had paid the extra for a suite, and although overlooking the road, it was quiet and spacious. The round bed was a novelty but very comfortable. The rooms have TV, minibar, air conditioning and safe, all included in the price (mini bar is extra)

We came downstairs to go for a meal, to find Kate had listed a number of recommended restaraunts for us. a number of which we sampled and found very cheap but excellent quality.

Breakfast was served inside due to the time of year but was always fresh, consisted of eggs, cheese. meats, bread, jams, fruit. Plenty of coffee but Kris you must learn to make tea like the English !

All in all i would say this hotel would suit adults with older children, or couples. Anyone staying here will be assured of a friendly welcome. Kris only wants to ensure his guests are having a good time. He can come across as a little over exuberent but he is genuinely caring for his guests. All of the ladies in our parties were given little hand made necklaces, a nice touch.

All in all a brilliant couple of days made so much better by the care and attention we received at the hotel, something you wouldn't get in one of the larger ones.

Give it a try i'm sure you will be pleased you did.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank davek10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2010

We stayed at 'Italia' and we really loved it! The rooms were clean and cute. There was a balcony overlooking the swimming pool. Every morning we came down to the pool where breakfast was served and we were greeted with freshly made coffee, selection of fruits, cheeses and delicious 'banitsa'.
The location of the hotel is perfect. It's close to the old town, beaches and all the main attractions Nessebar has to offer.
The service is outstanding! The owner is always making sure you are ok, doing his outermost to make your stay truly memorable.
We'd definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank didka-m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2010

We arrived in the early hours of the morning to be greeted by the owner Kris. He and his wife Kate very very pleasant and could not do enough for us. My partner fell ill and they could not have been more helpful. The hotel itself is clean and quite. The pool area was very clean warm and cleared of leaves daily. The hotel even had a sauna and gym available at a small cost. Breakfast was basic but eat as much as you like. It is in a quiet back street with walking distance from Old Nessebar, restaurants, and shops. The only comment is there is no tea and coffee facities in the room. Kris the owner speaks very good English and is very knowledgable. 24hour security in hotel excellant overall and would certainly go again.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jacks1975_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2010

When reading the reviews i was quite happy to be going there until we arrived. The hotel room was quite small, the carpets were dirty and full of stains the sheets were changed once in the 2 wks we were there. The breakfast was served outside by the pool the food was not covered so had flies and wasps on it,you were given jugs of juice which was made with tap water and we all got diahorrea when we asked could we have our juice with water from the water cooler the owner said yes but never did. The owner is friendly but is false and dont believe a word he says for example, he says his food is organic and fresh but any left over food from breakfast is then but away for the next day,even the juice is reused.Health and safety are not an issue here because there is a man hole by the pool behind the sun loungers that is never covered and is about 6ft deep.The only good points are, free wifi,internet,sat tv safe and air con.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tinkjq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2010

Did you ever read reviews about a property and get really excited and then it totally fell flat? Meet Italy Hotel, where I swear, the reviews I read elsewhere may have been “friends” that stayed. We had really high expectations of this place based on reviews, and it totally fell flat. The good points: there was wifi, breakfast was good and overly sufficient with organic products(similar to many hotels in BULG anyways though – we great fresh breakfasts everywhere we went over 2.5 weeks!), and you could walk everywhere in town. The cons? The parking was a joke - it was small "lot" holding 3 cars where you were always parked in, or, you had to park on the sidewalk. The room was small and had a round bed which took up all the space. There was significant water damage/peeling on the walls and mold in the shower. The "matching" sheets included a half round sheet, with a square duvet. ? We ran out of toilet paper one day and had to ask for more. The shower had only a half wall, so all the water splashed on the floor and was perpetually soggy with a shower towel we used so we would not slip and fall. Lastly, I worked out at the small gym. The door was open and there were no instructions that you had to pay. The owner flipped out that I was using it, and stopped me mid-run on the treadmill and told me to leave ---- in front of a guest. He then screamed at my husband when he returned from his outside jog yelling that I was using the gym. It was outrageous; he then had the nerve to tell us he understood how the USA worked since he had been to Vegas and dropped $15,000 in gambling and saw “all the free gyms.” He then went on to say “this was Bulgaria and things were different.” As we are on a round the world trip, yep, things ARE different, and we had mostly free gyms throughout Bulgaria! If that was not bad enough, the owner put on a fake Italian accent using "mama mia" at the end of every sentence....except when he yelled. Invest in a better property, or stay at one of the cute pensions in old town, and park in the massive old town lot. They had great views of the sea which you would not get here! You could also stay at the Harmony Hills complex up north near Balchik(Rogachevo) for $15 USD AND have your own studio w/ a view with an ocean view/pool view over the country, have amazingly delish food at their restaurant, and enjoy one of the largest outdoor pools we have seen in 4 months of traveling Europe! If that was not enough, there was even a free kids program.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RTWChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2010

The hotel Italia is a gem, hidden away in one of the sidestreets of Nessebar.
We stayed there a fortnight, three years ago, booked through a Scandinaviantour operator. This year we made our booking directly with the attentive hotelowner Kris, as the tour operator no longer lists this hotel.

The location is central; with both beach, tavernas and the charming old town of Nessebar within walking distance.
The rooms are stylish, clean and air conditioned. We prefer the rooms looking down on the pool/bar/breakfast area, although the other rooms appearantly have bigger beds.
The overall impression of this small hotel is of stylish, Italian design.

The service is outstanding! The owner is always making sure you are ok, doing his outermost to make your stay truly memorable. If you like to stay in a place where you get included and get to know the locals, this is the place to stay!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nessebar hotels
0 mi away
St. Stefan Boutique Hotel  Sunny Beach   BOJ
0.2 mi away
Sol Marina Palace
Sol Marina Palace
#3 of 35 in Nessebar
363 reviews
0.5 mi away
Aphrodite Beach Hotel
Aphrodite Beach Hotel
#8 of 35 in Nessebar
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Marieta Palace
Marieta Palace
#13 of 35 in Nessebar
107 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Saint Nikola
Hotel Saint Nikola
#12 of 35 in Nessebar
36 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Evridika
Hotel Evridika
#30 of 35 in Nessebar
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Italia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Italia

Address: Sv.Kiril i Metodii Str. 19, Nessebar 8230, Bulgaria
Region: Bulgaria > Burgas Province > Nessebar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 35 Hotels in Nessebar
Price Range: £30 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Italia 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the new part of Nessebar. The hotel offers an excellent standard of accommodation with friendly and attentive service. Rooms are well furnished and fully air-conditioned. The hotel has a outdoor pool with bar. Offers a range of health and fitness programs and massage. Facilities: poolside bar, barbeque, outdoor swimming pool, fitness room, massage, sauna, exchange desk,Luggage room, safety deposit in all rooms, laundry and dry cleaning service, Lobby bar.Free use of outdoor swimming pool including deck chairs and umbrellas; all other facilities may be subject to a local charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Italia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing