We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Victoria Palace Residence 1* not 5*” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Victoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Victoria Hotel
Ranked #27 of 35 Hotels in Nessebar
Whitehaven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Victoria Palace Residence 1* not 5*”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2010

We stayed in a two bed apartment September 2010. The rooms were filthy, sheets didn't fit beds, toilet didn't flush & leaked water all the time - even after it was supposedly fixed!! We just hoped it was clean water!!
We gave up complaining as nothing ever improved.
These apartments were decrepid - in need of a complete refurbishment.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank gedmagkath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    16
    5
    8
    9
See reviews for
4
24
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London UK
Level Contributor
250 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2010

We arrived at The Victoria Hotel after being told by Balkan Holidays that our planned hotel had closed early for the season. We were given a delightful large room on the 2nd floor with panoramic views of the bay and harbour. The hotel was well maintained and the room cleaned every day. The owners and staff were so friendly and made us feel welcome and wanted. The breakfast was what you would expect in a Bulgarian village - fruit, plenty of local breads and preserves as well as cheeses and sausages. This area is at the top of the old town and restaurants and bars are easily accessible and very low-priced compared to UK standards. As a second choice we considered that we had made a lucky decision with this hotel and had a thoroughly enjoyable time there.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2010

I arrived in the early hours of the morning. The hotel was locked up and my driver had to bang loudly before a sleepy woman arrived at the door. They left me standing whilst they spoke in Bulgarian. I was then beckoned by the receptionist who said I need your passport and told me I was on floor 2 . There was no lift but a spiral staircase with nobody to help with my luggage. On entering the dinning room in the morning, I was told this is for you. It was a square plate with a boiled egg, 3 slices of salami, 3 slices of white cheese, 3 of yellow cheese, 3 slices of tomato and 3 slices of cucumber. There were a few slices of bread and a few teabags. The following days consisted a few plates containing what looked to be leftovers ready for the bin, cucumber, tomato, cheese, cucumber and a few olives.
the wooden fencing around my balcony had rotted and had I lent on it would have gone crashing over the side.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Holidaygirl53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Nessebar hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Aberdeen
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2009

My mother, husband and I got back from a 2 week holiday in the Victoria only yesterday 12th September and I have just finished reading some of the reviews. I noticed a lot of changes must have been made since the reviews in 2008. We had a lovely stay there and found the staff to be very friendly both in the hotel and in the little bar & restaurant across the road, although one of the staff in the bar had more than a little liking for the drink. We found the room to be clean and the bedding changed at regular intervals, although I have to agree with one of the earlier comments regarding the size of the balcony which was only approx. 9-10 inches wide. Although my mother did get a balcony, there was only views of roofs and another building in very close proximity, however, since we were out most of the time, she did not use the balcony much anyway. It was a little noisier than we thought as we did not realise that we would be situated right next to the road, but this was really the only drawback. On the whole this was a good holiday and I would recommend the hotel, but not for someone with walking difficulties as it is situated near the top of the Old Town and my mother did experience some problems walking up and down the streets every day This was our 1st time at this hotel but our 4th in Bulgaria and hope to go back again, but if my mother does want to come with us, it will unfortunately have to be elsewhere, perhaps in the New town on the flat.

  • Stayed September 2009
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BadgerAberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2009

Add room 14 to the list of bad rooms. Great view, but the balcony was about 10 inches wide. Extremely noisy road inches away, & the noise from a disco from sunny beach (honestly from all that distance away ) was vibrating the windows until 5:30 am. i actually tried to swap to the dreaded room 15, ( at the back of the hotel but with balcony), but to no avail. Plus the usual moans & groans....no clean linen/towels for the 11 night duration....crap breakfast........Don`t go here.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lizardking1p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2008

Having travelled far and wide we thought the description and location of this hotel sounded lovely.
On our late night arrival we were given our room key....yes, to the dreaded room 25 (see other reviews), so we new straight away this was a crampt room on the back of the hotel and not a room with sea views as sold to us by Balkan holidays brochure!
The room was as described by other trip advisor entries, crampt with no view and very dirty. We asked for a room change and were told the hotel was full and we would have to speak to the manager in the morning.
After quite a bit of negotiation we were told a room on the front with sea views would be available by 2pm.
We changed rooms to find a lovely room with fantastic sea views, but, unfortunately this room was filthy. It had not been cleaned from the previous occupants, the ash tray was full, the towels dirty the floor filthy etc etc.
We were told by reception that they had a problem with the house keeper., and that she would be up again to clean.... without boring you, in the week we stayed at this hotel we had to complain to the reception, manager and balkan rep on numerous occassions and quite frankly it made no difference at all to this well located but dirty hotel.
Please visit Old Nessebar, the old church ruins and buildings are lovely, the small pebble beaches lovely and meals were generally fine, but be carefull with the main street restuarants as they know a tourist and you do get treated like one !
I was told by a restuarant owner that they all hate the tourist tatt that is sold on the stalls on the main street and that as from 2009 these stalls will no longer be there which I think will please both tourists and locals alike.
I do advise that you do not book this hotel as no one wants to spend a weeks holiday complaining !
Ps Balkans post holiday reply to my letter sent with a copy of the in resort reps comments ..........RUBBISH ! Useless after sales approach to their customers.

  • Liked — The View from the hotel room on the front of the building
  • Disliked — The Filth!
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Hampster2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2008

We have just returned from a fortnight in Hotel Victoria in Old Nessebar. (June 2008) We were delighted to be there and not in Sunny Beach, which looks like Blackpool : concrete jungle with hotel on hotel down to the beach.


This hotel is situated in a lovely position overlooking the bay, and a couple of ancient ruins! However be warned that while there are some lovely rooms with fabulous sea views you might be unlucky and get..room 25 or 15 which is at the back of the hotel and faces another house. We had room 25 for the first week which we felt was a single room with another bed crammed in, hardly room to open the door, the wardrobe or to get round into the bathroom. However, we were moved into wonderful room 23 for our second week which had a lovely view of the bay. We saw dolphins and a couple of pelicans from our window! It was also wonderful watching the swallows who had nested in the old castle opposite.


Bed and breakfast was adequate..the usual continental breakfast, cheese meat cucumber tomatoes etc..could have done with some proper `squeezed (thick) yoghurt every morning for breakfast which is lovely, and fresh juice would have been nice. They produced a toaster the second week which was very welcome. Some decent coffee would have been great ..it was thick wih coffee grounds and rather insipid. However..good tip..take your travel kettle and some tea bags..then you can make yourself a cuppa in your room! There are 2 little supermarkets round the corner which sell absolutely everthing and stay open until 11 at night.


We had a decent shower, loo was fine, and there is a little fridge in every room with a mini bar so you can stash your milk in there. We avoided the mini bar and bought our treats from the supermarket..much cheaper!


They have a lovely little outdoor restaurant where you can order food and drink and sit and watch the sun go down, or just go back for coffee and brandy at the end of the day. Very pleasant people who run the hotel..all very welcoming.


Loved staying in Nessebar, fascinating strolling round any time day or night, lots and lots of little restaurants to try..stick to Bulgarian Lager , lovely salads..fresh fish...kavarma their special pork or chicken stews...good food and never any tummy problems!


2 little beaches on Old Nessebar..shell beaches so take beach shoes. Otherwise we jumped on the local bus , or walked over to New Nessebar beach at the end where it was quieter near the sand dunes..lovely sand, cheaper wooden sunshades if you need them. Take a picnic or get a drink from the little beach bars. Right at the end is a section for nudists if you are so inclined.


We discovered which restaurants were good to watch the sunset. The weather changes depending on which side you are on, so if its windy one side wander round to the other!


Sunny beach is easily accesible by boat, little train or bus.


We enjoyed taking the local bus from Old Nessebar to Bourgas then on to Sozopol...you can also go to Varna on the Express bus..times by the bustop by the harbour! About 2 hours on the bus.


1 lev was worth about 43p when we went. Fantastic value for money we could have a good 3 course meal for 2 of us plus beer and a Pliska brandy and coffee for 50 levs : about £21!


Be warned..do not bargain...haggling is NOT appreciated..forget the mediteranean traditions...everything is a set price and it is not appreciated if you try to haggle.in fact they are very offended! Food is sold by the gram..meat and fish is priced up in restaurants in term of 250 grams...they even weigh your ice-creams on little scales! Have a look at the little antique stalls and shops that proliferate in Old Nessebar. They are fascinating..full of russion, nazi, memorabilia, as well as an amazing number of old muscial intruments..lutes, tubas trumpets, flutes ...watches..all sorts of things for the avid browser! Many local girls drawing and paitning selling their wares. Lots of ladies crocheting on the street, and lace making..as well as wood workers. Also look out for the wavy bulgarian pottery..earthenware that they serve their Kavarma in... nd of course..and ancient churches..buy a little tourist book about Old Nessbar and go exploring. You cant get lost but we seemed to find a new street every time we went out.


You have to develop a tactic of getting past the `greeters` for every restaurant who are stationed on every corner trying to get you into their restaurant. We tried lots of restaurants and went back to a few we really liked.


Got to have a look at Tangra...up near The Neptune..always full of Bulgarians with Big black BMWs and their molls ..we were told this was a favourite haunt of the mafiosi! Fascinating!


Interesting mixture of ancient and modern ..lots of boat trips to choose from..but book them on the day..the sea can change..and we did hear of a few queasy voyages!


Loved it! Certainly a hint of the russian influence rather than the laid back mediteranean..everyone seems to work very hard..and there is no siesta time..everything stays open in the afternoon.

  • Liked — the views and the location
  • Disliked — breakfast
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank strawberrywhip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nessebar hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Saint Nikola
Hotel Saint Nikola
#9 of 35 in Nessebar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sea House Afrodita
Sea House Afrodita
#22 of 35 in Nessebar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
1.1 mi away
Marieta Palace
Marieta Palace
#12 of 35 in Nessebar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Vigo
Hotel Vigo
#31 of 35 in Nessebar
3.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
1.3 mi away
Elizabeth Dy
Elizabeth Dy
#14 of 35 in Nessebar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ianis Paradise
Hotel Ianis Paradise
#17 of 84 in Nessebar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Hotel

Property: Victoria Hotel
Address: Kraibrejna Str 22, Nessebar 8230, Bulgaria
Region: Bulgaria > Burgas Province > Nessebar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 35 Hotels in Nessebar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Victoria Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing