We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sol Marina Palace
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Evridika(Nessebar)
US$33
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$32
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$120
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$94
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$79
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Italia(Nessebar)
US$46
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Festa Panorama(Nessebar)
US$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Marieta Palace(Nessebar)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (367)
Filter reviews
367 results
Traveller rating
140
127
61
27
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
140
127
61
27
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssky barrooftop poolinclusive barold townall inclusive optionsunny beachsun deckbed and breakfast basisall inclusive guestsoverlooking the seatop floorcouple of nightspool was coldthe rooms were cleaned dailybulgarian nightmodern hotelkept spotlessly clean
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
172 - 177 of 367 reviews
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Located just a few minutes walk from both the old town & the beach, fantastic views from the roof top bar & pool. Went B&B only as there's a choice of restaurants/bars elsewhere. Seems all inclusive doesn't include rooftop bar, just the so called Irish Pub near reception. Food & beer is cheap outside so pointless to be so confined to hotel. Good choice of cold food for breakfast, tho hot food may not be to our Irish taste. Staff do tend to whip your plate away, possibly to stop people going back for more. Staff are efficient but it seems the Bulgarian people aren't overly chatty, friendly or charismatic - they float around expressionless, avoiding contact. Quiet hotel, day & night, not for kids, not much entertainment etc but perfect for couples looking for peace & quiet at away from the resorts. Rooftop pool is just fab. Bedrooms are big & bright, basic décor but clean & comfortable with a large moderm bathroom & big shower. All good at this hotel really, B&B!

Room Tip: Rooms with even numbers facing north look onto another building with sea view to one side
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PioKildare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolMarinaPalace, General Manager at Sol Marina Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Dear PioKildare,

Thank you for posting your comments on Tripadvisor! We sincerely appreciate your comments and we constantly work to improve our services. We regret to hear that you find our staff to be not "chatty, friendly or charismatic". We usually receive very good comments about staff as Bulgarians are very friendly nation. We are sorry that you were left with such feelings.

We hope to see you next summer in Sol Marina Palace!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Had a lovely 10 days in Nessebar and couldn't believe how cheap it was compared to spain.
The hotel was ok, but as other people have said, it wasnt a four star by UK standards.
The rooms were fairly big and spotless, as was the rest of the hotel.
We paid for a sea view on the 4th floor and it was a pleasure to wake up to each morning.
This hotel wouldn't need an awful lot of money spent on it, to bring it up to standard.e.g
The pool area didn't have one parasol,the decking was very loose which was dangerous,a few plants here and there would of made it look so much better, as it was really bare.
The food was basic, with not much selection, but ok,ish.
We were on a half board basis, and wondered why there wasn't many people in the restaurant at night,It is because it is so cheap to eat out. Most people went B&B which I would do next time.
The first night,we ordered a bottle of wine with our meal,and wondered why the waiter asked us if we were going to pay for it,(we thought he meant pay by cash, or pay it to the room) so we paid cash, then found out the subsequent nights that it was free,you could have a couple of glasses of wine or a beer,if you went up to the bar,in the restaurant.
Old Nessebar was lovely.
The beach was really busy and very expensive 30 levs for 2 beds and a parasol.
Niko's restaurant and the venice were excellent,and very cheap.
We walked into sunny beach a couple of times as we like walking, but it was definitely catered for the young, but fine all the same.
That said, we still had a lovely holiday and would return to nessebar, but maybe try somewhere else

Room Tip: pay for sea view, you wont be disappointed the higher the floor the better.we were in 413 and it was perfect.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liverpoolou_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolMarinaPalace, General Manager at Sol Marina Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Dear Liverpoolou_10,

Thank you for taking your time to write your comment about your stay at Sol Marina Palace. We always appreciate feedback and we are very sorry that your impressions have not been as you expected for a 4 star hotel. Regarding the parasols round the pool we do not have as it is very windy and it is dangerous if we put parasols. But as we have 2 sides of the Sun terrace all the day you can enjoy a shadow place.
It will be a pleasure for us to see you again in Nessebar and Sol Marina Palace.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

This was my second choice hotel, however, it turned out to be the better hotel of the two we looked at. We wanted a rest and eace and quiet and that just what we had - the roof top sunbathing area was never full and some days we had the place to ourselves - for me I could have done with a bit shade in the form of a brolly, but being the roof and windy, not always practicable. BUT there was always shade if I moved. The pool was freezing, so it took a bit of effort to get in, but once in well worth it. Did walk down to the tiny beach out front a couple of times as the main beach was far too busy. Hotel was bright, clean, rooms good ( could have done with a kettle and cups). On B and B basis, breakfasts were good, and lunch snacks at the Skybar excellent. Hotel was handy for small supermarkets and for Old Nessy Bar - and from the roof there was always something going on in the harbours and bays to keep me interested. We had a room overlooking the harbour which was a bonus.
Waited off for the seafood evening in the dining room and was very disappointed with the selection, and also by the lack of response by the Manager to my E mail.
Not sure why there is an "Irish Pub" in the building, but both that bar and the Foyer Bar always seemed to be quiet. We did enjoy the Skybar at night after dark for a well presented drink and a spot of stargazing.
Quiet week for us as we discovered that hardly any of the other guests spoke any English - so it was back to the books/ Kindle ( a must as there were few English books in the book exchange).
The staff were all very nice and cheerful.
Did plan on using the Spa for a massage, however, I did not really strike up a rapport with the staff so missed out on my bit of papmering.
We did venture into Sunny Beach - very, very, briefly, not my cup of tea.

If you want an exciting night life - you need to pay for a taxi into Sunny Beach.

Room Tip: High floors overllooking the Marina
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank StuartBlaikie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolMarinaPalace, General Manager at Sol Marina Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Dear StuartBlaikie,

We are glad to see that you were happy with your stay in Sol Marina Palace.
Sorry to hear that you were disappointed with our seafood evening. I was not able to send you a response to your mail and I apologise for this.

We will be happy to see you next summer again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We had a very relaxed holiday in Bulgaria. The hotel (and our room) was always clean and the staff very polite and friendly. We booked B&B, so can't comment on lunches or dinner, but there was always a good selection of both hot and cold breakfast options, served buffet style. The restaurant was kept clean and free of dirty dishes and had a relaxed feel. One point which may be important to some people was the lack of tea/coffee making facilities in the room. It wasn't something we missed, but realise that it might be expected by some. The bedroom and some or the lobby areas could do with a little updating, the finishings are a bit tired looking. I visited the spa one afternoon for a pedicure and found the staff very friendly and the lady did a great job!

The hotel is in an excellent location for visiting the UNESCO heritage site of Old Nessebar, where you can find a huge variety of excellent restaurants. I think we made the best choice by booking B&B, over half board or all inclusive.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachelx1983x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolMarinaPalace, General Manager at Sol Marina Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Dear Rachelx1983x,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor.. We appreciate your comments and regret that you are not completely satisfied with your stay.
We constantly work to improve our services and products.

Hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

As much as I loved Bulgaria I would NOT go back to this hotel.
Pro's:
We had a lovely room looking out over the black sea. It is well positioned for old & new Nessebar, the walk to old Nessebar is about 13 minutes but beware if you come back in the dark as the footpath is uneven & there are no lights, its very dark.
The two young chaps in the Irish bar are wonderful very good service here.
The bed was brilliant extremely large & we slept very well indeed.
The sky bar at night was a great place to go for a cocktail, the views were fab.
Finding it hard to list more pros.
Cons:
The floor in the room was filthy, black filthy it had not had a mop over it in ages & there was sand everywhere when we arrived. It was never mopped while we were there neither. The floor was also on a slant & it had lino over it which could have been to hide cracks in the floor?
The air-conditioning was extremely noisy & didn't work properly, we had to ask for a fan which also was noisy.
No black-out curtains, I advise you take ear plugs & something to put over your eyes.
We were AI but on the first night it was seafood night which I thought was a pittance but I did eat some very small mussels & I ended up with food poisoning & was violently ill all night & had to be very careful with food for 48 hours afterwards.
The restaurant was lovely but the choice of food was very limited to other Melia hotels & in fact any other hotel I have stayed in. I am not a choosy person & I love my food but really this was not good at all. The Russians were always first in the queue & did they pile they plates ? Yes they did.If you don't go early there isn't much left!
Also the Russians etc were extremely rude & even when my husband held doors & lifts for them they acted as is we were invisible & never ever said thank you. We hardly spotted an English person all week, it was as is we were freaks.
The pool was a real disappointment, it was very small, six people in & it was full & very cold.
There were two decks for sunbathing which were awkward to walk over as the floor was uneven.
They were supposed to provide beer & water for AI customers, but often the beer was empty or there were no cups & no one ever came to fix this.
The girls from the spa were always sat on the steps smoking & drinking coffee & you had to struggle to get past.
We made a big mistake going AI as Bulgaria is so cheap & the food outside the hotel much better.
I can't wait to go back to Bulgaria, but not this hotel

Room Tip: Don't go AI if you feel the need to book this hotel
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cathy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolMarinaPalace, General Manager at Sol Marina Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Dear Cathy D,

Thank you for your feedback about your stay in Sol Marina Palace.
We're sorry that not all of our services and facilities met with your expectations. We do clean
the rooms every day and usually the chambermaids receive good appraisement for their job.
The bahaiviour of the Russian tourist is different from other nationalities but we try to do our best so all our customers feel welcomed.
We are happy that you enjoyed the service in Sky bar and our Pub bar.
Once again thank you for spending time to share your experience as it will help us to improve our service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews