We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sol Marina Palace
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Hotel Evridika(Nessebar)
US$33
US$32
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$120
US$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$85
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Italia(Nessebar)
US$84
US$46
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Kamenec(Nessebar)
US$31
US$27
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$43
US$42
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$40
US$39
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Reviews (367)
Filter reviews
367 results
Traveller rating
140
127
61
27
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
140
127
61
27
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssky barrooftop poolinclusive barold townall inclusive optionsunny beachsun deckbed and breakfast basisall inclusive guestsoverlooking the seatop floorcouple of nightspool was coldthe rooms were cleaned dailybulgarian nightmodern hotelkept spotlessly clean
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
169 - 174 of 367 reviews
Reviewed 6 September 2013

I have just come back from my holidays in Bulgaria and I am very happy about my choice to stay in Sol Marina Palace hotel.
Sol Marina Palace is situated in the good location - just around 15 min walk from historical Nessebar old town and very close to the sea. Nessebar old town is included in UNESCO heritage list. It is full of narrow ancient streets and contains many churches-museums as old as from XIII century so if you like ancient architecture and museums, you will definitely love Nessebar.
Also, if it becomes a bit too quiet for you in Nessebar, you can visit Sunny Beach resort that is relatively close. The bus goes from Nessebar to Sunny Beach very often and costs only 1 lev.
There is a beach just in front of the hotel and some further beaches that are also very easy to reach. We used to go to the beach in front of the hotel. I should note that this beach is very small and crowded but for me it wasn't a big problem. Since the beach was crowded, it was very easy to make new friends here!
I think one of the main advantages of Sol Marina Palace is its staff. The hotel staff was lovely, chatty and acted like friends. I really liked this because previously I stayed in some hotels where staff was very formal and I found that a bit boring.
Regarding food, the choice was sufficient and the quality of food was good.
The swimming pool is on the roof. I think the pool itself is too small but you can enjoy amazing views of Nessebar old town and the sea here. However, we didn't try the pool as we preferred to swim in the sea.
So in general, I consider Sol Marina Palace as a very good hotel and I have spent the great holiday here.

Room Tip: I would recommend to choose the room on higher floor and with the view to Nessebar old town.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TravellerG26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolMarinaPalace, General Manager at Sol Marina Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Dear TravellerG26,

Thank you very much for your nice review and your rate of 5 points.
We are very glad that you enjoyed your holiday and we appreciate your very nice comment about our staff.
Welcome back next summer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Just got back from a week long stay in this hotel, what can I say, Friendly very helpful staff, good clean hotel, very comfortable beds, and good all round meals, nice position overlooking nessebar town and ideally situated as a base to explore the local area

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank simon e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolMarinaPalace, General Manager at Sol Marina Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Dear simon e,

Thank you for the nice review and for high score!
We hope to see you many more timesin Sol Marina Palace hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We've just had our first Bulgarian holiday ever and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. The Sol Marina was very comfortable and, whilst it might not have had quite the standards of a 4-star UK hotel, it was very comfortable and relaxing. The roof-top bar and pool were great, although the water temperature seemed to be about the same as the free chilled soft drinks and beer that were on tap - first time I have ever come across free self-service beer. The only slight down-side to the rooftop bar was the rather persistent 'modern' music that played all day long but after our second evening, when we were the only people there and I asked them to turn the music down, things seemed to improve. Perhaps it's just an age thing! The rooms were clean and the maids came in daily to do their work. The only minor comment was that the fridge mini bar was not always re-stocked on a daily basis. The sea-views and view of Old Nessebar were stunning. We took the B&B option, and found the breakfasts excellent. Old Nessebar is just a five minute walk away, across a busy and lively causeway, and there was an enormous number of restaurants to choose a meal from. We found the average spend was around 80-90 levs, which for the three of us equated to around £12-£14 per person. Excellent value. Old Nessebar is fascinating and we never got tired of walking around its myriad of cobbled streets with countless shops. Nessebar beach was just a five minute walk from the hotel where two sunbeds and an umbrella cost around 24 levs - or around £11 for the day - again excellent value.
In conclusion, I could certainly visit Nessebar again, and if I did, I would definitely choose the Sol Marina as being a good quality hotel, ideally placed - just a five minute walk in either direction - between Old Nessebar and Nessebar beach.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Greychristian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolMarinaPalace, General Manager at Sol Marina Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Dear Greychristian,

Thank you for sharing your feedback in Trip Advisor. It is true that we have the chance to be located on a very good position overlooking the see and we are delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us.
We are looking forward to welcome you back soon at Sol Marina Palace!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Located just a few minutes walk from both the old town & the beach, fantastic views from the roof top bar & pool. Went B&B only as there's a choice of restaurants/bars elsewhere. Seems all inclusive doesn't include rooftop bar, just the so called Irish Pub near reception. Food & beer is cheap outside so pointless to be so confined to hotel. Good choice of cold food for breakfast, tho hot food may not be to our Irish taste. Staff do tend to whip your plate away, possibly to stop people going back for more. Staff are efficient but it seems the Bulgarian people aren't overly chatty, friendly or charismatic - they float around expressionless, avoiding contact. Quiet hotel, day & night, not for kids, not much entertainment etc but perfect for couples looking for peace & quiet at away from the resorts. Rooftop pool is just fab. Bedrooms are big & bright, basic décor but clean & comfortable with a large moderm bathroom & big shower. All good at this hotel really, B&B!

Room Tip: Rooms with even numbers facing north look onto another building with sea view to one side
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PioKildare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolMarinaPalace, General Manager at Sol Marina Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Dear PioKildare,

Thank you for posting your comments on Tripadvisor! We sincerely appreciate your comments and we constantly work to improve our services. We regret to hear that you find our staff to be not "chatty, friendly or charismatic". We usually receive very good comments about staff as Bulgarians are very friendly nation. We are sorry that you were left with such feelings.

We hope to see you next summer in Sol Marina Palace!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Had a lovely 10 days in Nessebar and couldn't believe how cheap it was compared to spain.
The hotel was ok, but as other people have said, it wasnt a four star by UK standards.
The rooms were fairly big and spotless, as was the rest of the hotel.
We paid for a sea view on the 4th floor and it was a pleasure to wake up to each morning.
This hotel wouldn't need an awful lot of money spent on it, to bring it up to standard.e.g
The pool area didn't have one parasol,the decking was very loose which was dangerous,a few plants here and there would of made it look so much better, as it was really bare.
The food was basic, with not much selection, but ok,ish.
We were on a half board basis, and wondered why there wasn't many people in the restaurant at night,It is because it is so cheap to eat out. Most people went B&B which I would do next time.
The first night,we ordered a bottle of wine with our meal,and wondered why the waiter asked us if we were going to pay for it,(we thought he meant pay by cash, or pay it to the room) so we paid cash, then found out the subsequent nights that it was free,you could have a couple of glasses of wine or a beer,if you went up to the bar,in the restaurant.
Old Nessebar was lovely.
The beach was really busy and very expensive 30 levs for 2 beds and a parasol.
Niko's restaurant and the venice were excellent,and very cheap.
We walked into sunny beach a couple of times as we like walking, but it was definitely catered for the young, but fine all the same.
That said, we still had a lovely holiday and would return to nessebar, but maybe try somewhere else

Room Tip: pay for sea view, you wont be disappointed the higher the floor the better.we were in 413 and it was perfect.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liverpoolou_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolMarinaPalace, General Manager at Sol Marina Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Dear Liverpoolou_10,

Thank you for taking your time to write your comment about your stay at Sol Marina Palace. We always appreciate feedback and we are very sorry that your impressions have not been as you expected for a 4 star hotel. Regarding the parasols round the pool we do not have as it is very windy and it is dangerous if we put parasols. But as we have 2 sides of the Sun terrace all the day you can enjoy a shadow place.
It will be a pleasure for us to see you again in Nessebar and Sol Marina Palace.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews