We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Leaves a lot to be desired”
Review of Hotel Vigo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Vigo
Ranked #31 of 35 Hotels in Nessebar
Reviewed 26 August 2012

We spent a couple of days in the hotel. Our stay started with finding out that we have to pay to park our car in front of the hotel (we left the car in a paid parking near by and not only had our car away from the street but also paid less) and that although we have booked our room with breakfast included, we were not to get one. The explanation given was that we wouldn't get breakfast because we had booked on line and if we wanted to eat in the morning we'd have to pay additionally. I was surprised to find old and torn bed sheets and smeary carpet and furniture which I wasn't expecting in a 4 star hotel. The view was gorgeous though and the location quite good as well. Both mornings we were woken up by the maids who literally entered the room at 9 am. I wouldn't highly recommend it anyway.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Elen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (122)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

27 - 33 of 122 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2012

Our 9 night stay started with a very unpleasant experience - they tried a very cheap scam with us. We have booked an apartment in Vigo 4 star hotel through a travel agency from Romania.
At arrival, they gave us an apartment in another building named Panorama Beach Complex, next to the hotel. It was not a 4 star apartment (AC only in one of the 2 rooms, dirty, obsolete furniture, no shower cabin or bath tab in the bathroom etc)
We went to the reception to complain but, surprise ! , the staff was not able to speak English or French and my Bulgarian skills were not good enough to make them understand my problem. We went to see the manager and she gave us an apartment in the hotel saying that it was the agency mistake. She couldn't do the same thing for our friends who were in the same situation but she promised she will give them an apartment in 3 days. We are working with the same travelling agency for few years and the owner is a relative of mine so I am sure that it was not her fault (on the travelling voucher was clearly stated "apartment Vigo 4 star Hotel").
The apartment in the hotel was big enough, nice furnished, AC working properly, nice bathroom.In general, everything was almost new and in good condition.
Wi-Fi free of charge is available only in the lobby area but it was working only from time to time.
The restaurant is not properly sized for the crowd using the hotel and the other building so it was almost impossible to get any food there, or cutlery or cups, or coffee for breakfast. We had to stay in line for almost everything so we spent a lot of time in order to eat breakfast. Food was terrible and we had the same things every day. i don't want to think how the things were going there for lunch and dinner ! we were lucky to have booked B&B. Few times we went to have breakfast somewhere else.
One day, the maid turned on (by mistake, I guess) the electrical stove we had in our kitchinette and when we got back from the beach, we found a lot of smoke in the room because she also put a towel and glasses on the stove (I didn't understand why - we have never used the stove and the kids couldn't reach the buttons).
From time to time the forgot to clean the toilet ...

Room Tip: Beware of scams and go and see the manager if you think something is not OK
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Isa2febr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

If you are fond of quietness, hospitality and cleanliness - go somewhere else. I really don't know where to start... I didn't believe the other bad reviews before going, but this 4 star bulgarian hotel equals a really crappy no star hostel, I once stayed in here in Denmark, just with more space and nicer furnishing.

Staff: inpolite and not able to even count in english. VERY loud techno music from nearby bar in the evening. The hotel itself is beatifully build with nice materials. But very badly maintained. The hanger in the bathroom and the lamps where not tightened to the wall. Stained carpet, old spots of blood (!) on the frayed towels. On the first morning I accidently looked down between my bed and the bed side table, only to see piles of other peoples dandroff, toe clippings etc. The pool was extremely dirty, the blue water with a tone of brown. One of the pools was refilled in our stay, but we didn't go in. Breakfast: poor, eadible if it hadn't been for the chipped and dirty tableware. If you came to breakfast at nine, the few coffee cups was in use - only to turn up next to the small coffee machine. Just held under the running tap, still with other peoples fingerprints on them. Yummy!

There is one good thing to say about Hotel Vigo: it's location. From we left our room, until we entered the most fantastic beach, it took about five minutes down the hill.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank TrineToft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

The room was nice, the pools were nice but the breakfast was not. We ended up eating breakfast other places. The staff was helpful, but couldn't speak English too well. We had a room facing the Black Sea, which had a great view but you could hear some of the discos going on. The location of the hotel is good, five minutes walk from the beach and Old Nessebar, restaurants in both directions.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Elgentrude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2012

We booked a room in Vigo in the early May. We arrived on July 7, and as it turned out the hotel had no rooms available. We were offered to stay in another hotel, away from the sea. We have not agreed. After that, the girl at the reception (name Nina) told us: “You can stay in another hotel or go home”. She was disgraceful and hysterical. At the request of the manager's call, she said that she understands neither Russian nor English. Dozen tourists from the Eastern Europe ( seems Moscow and Minsk) were in the same situation.
Their tour operator has settled the issue and we were promised to offset the costs of another hotel. We stayed at the Marina Palace (by the way, it is very nice, clean place.)
But 2 days later we returned to Vigo. It would be better, we did not do it! Rooms are dirty! Stained curtains and stained carpets. Our friends were offered to stay in the room where there was a spot of vomit in the carpet.
Breakfasts were served in a dirty dish,with traces of lipstick on glasses, so we have not ate at the hotel.
Advantages of the hotel: two good pools, free parking and a skillful girl masseur in the spa (her name is Mariana, if I remember correctly).

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Alona A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2011

Hotel Vigo is very nice and clean hotel.The hotel is near the sandy beach with the possibility of buying sunbeds with parasols 4 euro.On the other side of hotel is a beautiful old part of town where are many souvenirs and enjoy local specialties

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Renousek C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2011

Although i stayed at VIGO Hotel only 3 days, i can say i had an amazing holiday! The food was excellent, the staff was nice (even though it did not know very well english-that was a minus) and the service was good! I enjoyed the time spent at the pool which was clean and comfortable, i adored the bar next to the pool and the double chaise longue. Another plus for this hotel is its position (it is very close to the Old City Of Nessebar - almost 15 min walking) and its facilities (club, spa etc). I loved it!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Deliarux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nessebar hotels
0.2 mi away
Italia
Italia
#7 of 35 in Nessebar
83 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mirage of Nessebar
Mirage of Nessebar
#13 of 35 in Nessebar
95 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Mill Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Aphrodite Beach Hotel
Aphrodite Beach Hotel
#9 of 35 in Nessebar
66 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Saint Nikola
Hotel Saint Nikola
#12 of 35 in Nessebar
36 reviews
0.5 mi away
Elizabeth Dy
Elizabeth Dy
#11 of 35 in Nessebar
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vigo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vigo

Address: Ivan Vazov St. 9, Nessebar 8230, Bulgaria
Region: Bulgaria > Burgas Province > Nessebar
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 35 Hotels in Nessebar
Price Range: £25 - £61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Vigo 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Cancelon, LoveHolidays and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Vigo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing